Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Reload this Page >

Can I travel from Canada to USA without passport?

Can I travel from Canada to USA without passport?

Reply

Old Mar 18, 19, 8:38 am
  #1  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Programs: Bachelor
Posts: 2
Can I travel from Canada to USA without passport?

please help
harrisdocks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 8:40 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ottawa
Programs: Altitude E35K
Posts: 525
Welcome to FT. You may want to put more details in your question.

However, please refer to this : https://travel.gc.ca/destinations/united-states
dr_torch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 8:40 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: I dunno
Programs: Too Many
Posts: 1,869
Originally Posted by harrisdocks View Post
please help
if you have a NEXUS card yes AC will accept.

skybluesea is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 8:46 am
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 81,571
Generally not, but there can be exceptions for certain types of emergency/alternate travel documents.

How do you plan to travel? Fly on AC?

Some (land) border crossings are unstaffed, so the answer to your literal "CAN I" question could be yes, even though the crosssing without required travel documents would be illegal and you would surely be told to go back as soon as you called to do the required self report.

In some circumstances, you could be able to travel on a NEXUS card, but you cannot get a NEXUS card if you don't have a passport.
acse17 likes this.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 8:50 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Programs: SE100k, AA Exec Plat, Bonvoy Ambassador
Posts: 15
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Generally not, but there can be exceptions for certain types of emergency/alternate travel documents.

How do you plan to travel? Fly on AC?

Some (land) border crossings are unstaffed, so the answer to your literal "CAN I" question could be yes, even though the crosssing without required travel documents would be illegal and you would surely be told to go back as soon as you called to do the required self report.

In some circumstances, you could be able to travel on a NEXUS card, but you cannot get a NEXUS card if you don't have a passport.
You're required to have your passport with you while crossing by air, so while technically you can skate by if all goes well, if you're flagged for secondary, you'll be at the mercy of the officer whether or not they kick you out of NEXUS.
acse17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 8:50 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: UA1K, Marriott/SPG Platinum
Posts: 685
Originally Posted by skybluesea View Post


if you have a NEXUS card yes AC will accept.

​​​​​​I believe you still need to scan your passport at Global Entry kiosk?
gokeeper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 8:55 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Programs: AMEX Centurion, UA Gold, Stariott Plat., HH Gold, National EE, Hertz PC
Posts: 211
Originally Posted by gokeeper View Post
​​​​​​I believe you still need to scan your passport at Global Entry kiosk?
for whatever reason, GE kiosks in Canada actually accept nexus, I had not known this for years until pointed out by an airport staff.

However, I would highly not recommend traveling without a passport. Nexus rules actually stipulate youíre still obligated to carry a passport on you.

In addition, if thereís any reason you need to seek consular assistance, passport will be your proof of citizenship, not nexus.

Carrying both also ensures you donít have to argue with some airline agent or TSA agent that insists the Nexus card is not a valid travel document *rolls eyes*
secretalcoholic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 8:55 am
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend and Moderator: Air Canada Aeroplan & Manufactured Spending
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: YEG
Posts: 48,574
Exclamation

As this is a topic beyond Air Canada it's been relocated to the FT Canada destination forum.

tcook052
Air Canada foru moderator
tcook052 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 8:59 am
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 41,902
Rather than speculating on the unlikely scenarios, it would be more helpful if OP simply provided the details of the travel he proposes and what he has for identification as well as whether he has Nexus. With that information, there will be good & solid advice.
Often1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 9:05 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ottawa
Programs: Altitude E35K
Posts: 525
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Some (land) border crossings are unstaffed
I had no idea this was the case. I find this really neat. Thanks for the info.
dr_torch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 9:06 am
  #11  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Programs: Bachelor
Posts: 2
thanks for the response
harrisdocks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 9:14 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 870
Originally Posted by harrisdocks View Post
please help
Regardless of government requirements, no airline is going to let you board a flight to another country (excluding things like intra-Schengen) without verifying you have a legitimate passport.
JimInOhio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 9:21 am
  #13  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 81,571
Originally Posted by acse17 View Post
You're required to have your passport with you while crossing by air, so while technically you can skate by if all goes well, if you're flagged for secondary, you'll be at the mercy of the officer whether or not they kick you out of NEXUS.
Of course one shouldn't do this, but in an emergency being able to make the trip might be more important than staying in NEXUS.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 9:44 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: UA1K, Marriott/SPG Platinum
Posts: 685
Originally Posted by secretalcoholic View Post

for whatever reason, GE kiosks in Canada actually accept nexus, I had not known this for years until pointed out by an airport staff.
Wow, thanks for sharing this, I might try to scan my nexus to see how it works next time, with passport on me of course
gokeeper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 19, 12:41 pm
  #15  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 88,060
Originally Posted by dr_torch View Post
I had no idea this was the case. I find this really neat. Thanks for the info.
Technically, most of these now have a timely self-reporting/call-in requirement.
GUWonder is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread