Will/can BA issue an AA domestic boarding pass

Old Dec 19, 08, 5:54 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 1,209
Will/can BA issue an AA domestic boarding pass

Will/ can BA issue an AA domestic US boarding pass at LHR if the AA flight is not on the same intinerary/ticket number as the BA flight, and not a BA codeshare?
AGSF is offline  
Old Dec 19, 08, 7:36 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spain
Programs: BA GGL, HH Diamond, SPG Plat, Le Club Plat
Posts: 196
I asked that question at LHR yesterday and was told no, my later domestic flight out of ORD on AA was not showing in their system (even though I had put in my BAEC number) ... later ended up in an interminable queue to check-in for F at ORD (short staffed due to illness, they said) ... in fact, it was a day for queues for F as I was gently requested to go to another desk, the T5 F area in LHR being chockablock at 9am yesterday
doreenmc is offline  
Old Dec 19, 08, 7:56 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin
Posts: 4,610
I have a lot of data on this and the answer is usually yes, sometimes no.

Often when BA will not issue a BP the agent tells me confidently that it is never possible. I used to argue but don't anymore.

Its a similar story with QF.
millionmiler is offline  
Old Dec 19, 08, 8:06 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 508
If it's of any consolation, even if BA issues a boarding pass in this circumstance it will be on BA stock and AA will make you let them reissue it on AA stock before you board the AA flight anyway. So you'd still have to stop by an AA kiosk or desk between flights.

At least that has been my experience in all instances where I have had BA print my AA boarding pass.
Night Flyer is offline  
Old Dec 19, 08, 8:27 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 1,209
Thanks...

Do the lounges at T5 have printers? I've never had to print anything, so I don't recall. It just occurred to me that I can do OLCI from a lounge and print out the bp there. If there are printers, of course.

Last edited by AGSF; Dec 19, 08 at 8:34 pm
AGSF is offline  
Old Dec 19, 08, 8:33 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spain
Programs: BA GGL, HH Diamond, SPG Plat, Le Club Plat
Posts: 196
Originally Posted by AGSF View Post
Do the lounges at T5 have printers? I've never had to print anything, so I don't recall. It just occurred to me that I can just do OLCI from a lounge and print out the bp there. If there are printers, of course.
Yes, that's just what I did - from a printer in the "Boardroom" in F Lounge ... presume Galleries would have printers too

Still had to queue as had one bag (not the expected three) to check in ... and yes, new boarding passes issued

Last edited by doreenmc; Dec 19, 08 at 8:52 pm Reason: clarity
doreenmc is offline  
Old Dec 19, 08, 8:52 pm
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 40,090
Originally Posted by Night Flyer View Post
If it's of any consolation, even if BA issues a boarding pass in this circumstance it will be on BA stock and AA will make you let them reissue it on AA stock before you board the AA flight anyway. So you'd still have to stop by an AA kiosk or desk between flights.

At least that has been my experience in all instances where I have had BA print my AA boarding pass.
I have had no issues using a QF issued BP for domestic flights. for international flights, I have had to change BPs

Dave
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Dec 19, 08, 9:09 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 508
Originally Posted by Dave Noble View Post
I have had no issues using a QF issued BP for domestic flights. for international flights, I have had to change BPs

Dave
Any chance the AA flights were QF codeshares? If not, then I suppose our different experiences just further prove the fickle nature of air travel.
Night Flyer is offline  
Old Dec 19, 08, 9:43 pm
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 40,090
Originally Posted by Night Flyer View Post
Any chance the AA flights were QF codeshares? If not, then I suppose our different experiences just further prove the fickle nature of air travel.
Nope. Just AA domestic sectors checked in for from Sydney

Dave
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Dec 19, 08, 9:50 pm
  #10  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Portland OR Double Emerald (QF and AA), DL PM/MM, Starwood Plat
Posts: 19,362
Originally Posted by Dave Noble View Post
I have had no issues using a QF issued BP for domestic flights. for international flights, I have had to change BPs

Dave
That is correct -- all US airlines, not just AA, must issue their own BP for all pax on international flights to/from the US (this is a TSA requirement).

BA can always issue a BP for AA domestic flight, on the same or different PNR; but many agents are too lazy or don't know how, and just say that they cannot. So try a different agent, or print your own.
number_6 is offline  
Old Dec 20, 08, 5:00 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Programs: BAEC Bronze
Posts: 898
Originally Posted by number_6 View Post
BA can always issue a BP for AA domestic flight, on the same or different PNR; but many agents are too lazy or don't know how, and just say that they cannot. So try a different agent, or print your own.
I find that somewhat offensive. Generally the system will automatically attempt to check passengers in for any connecting flights, however, there can be numerous reasons why it doesn't happen. Provided the onward flight details is in the booking, it is all automatic. If the system doesn't do this automatically, we can and do try to do it manually. However, it could often depend on the status of the other airlines flight, the ticket status or even simply the link to the other airline not working at that time. It also has to be on the list of airlines that we have systems in place to do this with. When we do say that we can't get the onward boarding pass, it is because the system won't allow it and not because we don't want to or don't know how.

When QF starting introducing their new system, we had issues with issuing onward boarding passes. Sometimes it worked, other times it didn't. This now seems to be resolved.
SpeedbirdLHR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread