Delay due to a needed software update

Old Aug 6, 19, 6:12 am
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NYC/BOS/MSY/AUH
Programs: AA EXP, 5MM; BA GLD
Posts: 15,552
Delay due to a needed software update

I’m on BA213 LHR-BOS. We’re sitting on the stand an hour after our scheduled departure because just before departure it was discovered that a software update is needed, and now they’re having difficulty loading it. Additional engineers have been called in. I have a feeling this won’t be resolved quickly.

How does this happen? Did the pilot fire up the engines only to have a dialog box pop up on his screen? Wouldn’t an airline have advance notice of needed software updates as opposed to having it discovered by surprise after passengers have boarded? Anyone know how these things work? Anyone out there know how to hack an A380?
Blumie is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 6:16 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 5 miles from EMA
Programs: BD, BAEC Pleb, VS Pleb, Accor Gold, HHonors Silver, Big White Season Pass
Posts: 5,375
Originally Posted by Blumie View Post
I’m on BA213 LHR-BOS. We’re sitting on the stand an hour after our scheduled departure because just before departure it was discovered that a software update is needed, and now they’re having difficulty loading it. Additional engineers have been called in. I have a feeling this won’t be resolved quickly.

How does this happen? Did the pilot fire up the engines only to have a dialog box pop up on his screen? Wouldn’t an airline have advance notice of needed software updates as opposed to having it discovered by surprise after passengers have boarded? Anyone know how these things work? Anyone out there know how to hack an A380?
Windows updates?
Tiger_lily is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 6:18 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NYC/BOS/MSY/AUH
Programs: AA EXP, 5MM; BA GLD
Posts: 15,552
Originally Posted by Tiger_lily View Post
Windows updates?
Windows 98?
wrp96 and HFHFFlyer like this.
Blumie is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 6:25 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: EDI
Programs: BA Gold (GGL/CCR)
Posts: 404
Given how reliable "software updates" can be, I'm glad I'm not flying today.
ratechaser likes this.
HighwayToHEL is online now  
Old Aug 6, 19, 6:27 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 6,012
I assume the 744s are more reliable... probably Nimbus or BBC Basic ?
mikeyfly is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 6:37 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Krakow
Programs: BAEC Silver, Miles and More(FTL), IHG(Platinum), Accor, HHonors(Diamond), SPG, Hertz Five Star
Posts: 2,599
Possibly some part has been replaced but the replacement part has a lower software level than other components on board, hence the requirement. This may be as a result of something being swapped out while on stand.
scottishpoet is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 6:44 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NYC/BOS/MSY/AUH
Programs: AA EXP, 5MM; BA GLD
Posts: 15,552
After 90 minutes of trying, we’re now being told that “a 3rd update disk” is being brought to the aircraft.
Blumie is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 6:47 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 141
I trust that the A380 doesn't give you 15 minutes notice before it reboots itself anyway (and you can't postpone it) - which Windows has a habit of doing, typically in the middle of a client presentation!
wrp96, pmarrsouth and r0gerthat like this.
xPositor is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 6:50 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: JAX
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 4,873
Can't find it now but wasn't there a BA flight that cancelled a couple of years ago because they forget to update the navigation system software? And then the airport didn't have an upgrade disk?
TomMM is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 6:56 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Programs: British Airways Exec Club
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by mikeyfly View Post
I assume the 744s are more reliable... probably Nimbus or BBC Basic ?
Wow ... I was the Product Manager at RM responsible for the Nimbus PC-186! Bet 99% of forum users won't get that reference!!! Nice one Mickeyfly ... made my day.
Zippo58 is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 6:57 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: West Sussex, UK
Programs: BAEC Gold (11/Dec/18)
Posts: 256
Originally Posted by mikeyfly View Post
I assume the 744s are more reliable... probably Nimbus or BBC Basic ?
Is it bad I remember using BBC Basic in primary school? 🤦🏻.♂️
althes and Geordie405 like this.
mtikky is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 7:05 am
  #12  
2020 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Roswell, GA
Programs: AA EXP 2.8m,Lifetime PLT, Hilton Diamond, IHG PlLT, SPG Gold
Posts: 2,254
didnt not know airplanes still ran on Windows 3.1
Rbt001 likes this.
fotographer is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 7:14 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: LON, ACK, BOS..... (Not necessarily in that order)
Programs: **Mucci Diamond Hairbrush** - compared to that nothing else matters (+BA Silver)
Posts: 12,694
Maybe a little paperclip popped up saying

"it looks like you're trying to taxi to take off. Would you like help with that?"

Jimmie76 is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 7:22 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: London
Programs: qantas | BAEC | Hilton Honors | Priority Pass
Posts: 529
Originally Posted by Jimmie76 View Post
Maybe a little paperclip popped up saying

"it looks like you're trying to taxi to take off. Would you like help with that?"

That would be more helpful than the HAL system,

'I'm sorry Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that...'
Jimmie76, bakera, wrp96 and 3 others like this.
peter h is offline  
Old Aug 6, 19, 7:25 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 6,012
Wow how grateful I am for your product! Glad I'm not alone!! It was so exciting getting your turn on the Nimbus
mikeyfly is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: