Using Expertflyer

Old Sep 25, 09, 2:51 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto
Programs: AC SE100K, Emerald Exec, HHG
Posts: 631
Using Expertflyer

I joined expertflyer for a 5 day trial to see what its all about. I was looking for a Aeroplan reward from from MIA to YVR. I noticed that it only searches on a very limited number of airlines. Am i missing something here? Can you not search UA, US or CO availability?
sram is offline  
Old Sep 25, 09, 2:59 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC-SE MM,Fairmont Plat, Ritz Platinum , Hertz Platinum, Quintessentially
Posts: 1,247
Originally Posted by sram View Post
I joined expertflyer for a 5 day trial to see what its all about. I was looking for a Aeroplan reward from from MIA to YVR. I noticed that it only searches on a very limited number of airlines. Am i missing something here? Can you not search UA, US or CO availability?
I use it everyweek. You can search almost any airline around the world. Including the ones you mention here.
Silvercity is offline  
Old Sep 25, 09, 3:09 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto
Programs: AC SE100K, Emerald Exec, HHG
Posts: 631
Originally Posted by Silvercity View Post
I use it everyweek. You can search almost any airline around the world. Including the ones you mention here.
I saw those airlines for regular seat availability, but not for reward availability. perhaps its a limitation of my trial membership?
sram is offline  
Old Sep 25, 09, 3:38 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: LGA
Programs: DL Gold
Posts: 147
EF only shows award availability for select airlines of which US, UA and CO are not included. Full list is here http://www.expertflyer.com/airline-upgrades-awards

US, UA and CO availability for awards can be found at their websites (CO - no login / onepass acct required; US and UA you'll need to first get a dividend miles or mileageplus acct setup first).

Alternatively, both US and UA availability should be uploaded into the Aeroplan website. Sometimes the aeroplan website doesn't show all available options on *A partners (especially for flights with connections), so a quick call to them can give you the clearest idea.
LGAflyer is offline  
Old Sep 25, 09, 4:09 pm
  #5  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Canada
Programs: AC SE 2MM, HH Dd, SPG; IC Pl/A; AA; DL
Posts: 14,019
Not even Aeroplan always knows so it is best to do as much homework yourself before calling them.

For example, I couldn't book Calgary-Denver-Lincoln, Nebraska on Aeroplan.com even though Calgary-Denver showed no problem and Denver-Lincoln showed no problem as two separate trips on same dates on Aeroplan.com.

Initially Aeroplan didn't see it either but once we got started and I explained things, the agent was able to get my flights on one round trip reward ticket.

Others have noted issues with LX rewards (I had similar issues).

I don't know why there are so many IT problems with ac and Aeroplan but it is getting better. Let's hope it will be purr-fect one day
BlondeBomber is offline  
Old Sep 25, 09, 4:44 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE100K, HH G
Posts: 2,454
Originally Posted by LGAflyer View Post
EF only shows award availability for select airlines of which US, UA and CO are not included. Full list is here http://www.expertflyer.com/airline-upgrades-awards
The other alternative -- KVS Availability Tool -- does provide award availability for US, UA and CO (by using the ANA award travel engine).

Whether KVS or ExpertFlyer is the right tool of the OP is something that I can't answer, though.
tomh009 is offline  
Old Sep 25, 09, 4:52 pm
  #7  
KVS
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 12,914
Arrow

Originally Posted by sram
I joined expertflyer for a 5 day trial to see what its all about. I was looking for a Aeroplan reward from from MIA to YVR. I noticed that it only searches on a very limited number of airlines. Am i missing something here? Can you not search UA, US or CO availability?
Originally Posted by tomh009 View Post
The other alternative -- KVS Availability Tool -- does provide award availability for US, UA and CO (by using the ANA award travel engine).

Whether KVS or ExpertFlyer is the right tool of the OP is something that I can't answer, though.
That is correct -- award availability for virtually all *A members (LH/UA/US/OS/SK/TP/LO/JK/TK/SQ/NH/OZ/TG/SA/MS/JP/OU/KF & CO) is available exclusively via KVS Tool. This is in addition to awards for AC/BD/NZ/CA/FM (which are also supported).

Pls see http://Help.KVSTool.com/#Classes for details.
KVS is offline  
Old Sep 25, 09, 6:34 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ, but my heart is in Asia
Programs: AC-SE, CX-DM, DL-G, Hyatt-DM, Hilton-DM, Fairmont-Plt, Marriott-S, Accor-Plt, SPG-G, IHG-Plt
Posts: 4,395
That's why I have both
jarusoba is offline  
Old Sep 26, 09, 2:47 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: YFC
Programs: AP/SE; ACMM
Posts: 67
Originally Posted by tomh009 View Post
The other alternative -- KVS Availability Tool -- does provide award availability for US, UA and CO (by using the ANA award travel engine).

Whether KVS or ExpertFlyer is the right tool of the OP is something that I can't answer, though.
I would vote for KVS...hands-down. Great tool - simple and I have been using for 2+ years.
thomjeff is offline  
Old Sep 26, 09, 5:05 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: YYF/YLW
Programs: AS MVP/AC E50K/SPG-Marriott Titanium/Accor-FPC Gold/IHG Plat/HHDiamond/Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 4,881
Experflyer.com ^ ^
ANA Tool ^ ^ ^ ^ ^

As a couple mentioned above, I also use both. I am always fully prepared when I call the Aeroplan Centre because it makes the call go very smoothly usually. There are some agents that get suspicious when all of the requested segments are available...
PointWeasel is offline  
Old Sep 26, 09, 9:05 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7,121
Many cities are not listed at the Aeroplan site forcing you to call so that they could charge you a booking fee. For example, Bergen (BGO).
Clipper801 is offline  
Old Sep 26, 09, 9:09 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 242
Originally Posted by tomh009 View Post
The other alternative -- KVS Availability Tool -- does provide award availability for US, UA and CO (by using the ANA award travel engine).
If the info in KVS is just from the public ANA website which anyone can see, maybe use the ANA website directly and then subscribe to EF if you feel their features fit your needs.
lopinc1 is offline  
Old Sep 26, 09, 9:22 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ, but my heart is in Asia
Programs: AC-SE, CX-DM, DL-G, Hyatt-DM, Hilton-DM, Fairmont-Plt, Marriott-S, Accor-Plt, SPG-G, IHG-Plt
Posts: 4,395
Originally Posted by lopinc1 View Post
If the info in KVS is just from the public ANA website which anyone can see, maybe use the ANA website directly and then subscribe to EF if you feel their features fit your needs.
Yes, you can do so. But I wouldn't. KVS makes accessing the ANA tool so much easier. Time is money. So I would gladly pay KVS a few bucks to save me a few hours.
jarusoba is offline  
Old Sep 27, 09, 8:28 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: YYZ at this time
Programs: ACMM / Altitude S100K / HH Diamond
Posts: 6,285
Exactly why I use ExpertFlyer ... it saves me alot of time ... for instance by emailing me when a class becomes available so I do not have to keep checking ...
PreferBulkhead is offline  
Old Sep 27, 09, 10:45 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: YYF/YLW
Programs: AS MVP/AC E50K/SPG-Marriott Titanium/Accor-FPC Gold/IHG Plat/HHDiamond/Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 4,881
Originally Posted by PreferBulkhead View Post
Exactly why I use ExpertFlyer ... it saves me alot of time ... for instance by emailing me when a class becomes available so I do not have to keep checking ...
Shhh...next thing you know AC/AP will ask to be removed from Expertflyer, just like UA did last year. :x
PointWeasel is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: