AC to VIE : 1:05 connection

Old Aug 17, 19, 5:52 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 3,653
AC to VIE : 1:05 connection

Looking at options for an upcoming trip.

One routing is through Vienna with a 1:05 connection to an Austrian Airlines flight. It's the only flight that day taht would work for my destination/

Too risky? My other option is via FRA, 4 hour layover, longer 2nd flight with the connecting.
InTheAirGuy is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 6:37 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: YOW
Programs: TK*S, SPG Gold
Posts: 686
I haven't been through VIE but that sounds tight on the other side of what I'm assuming is a TATL flight.
jcamp028 is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 6:49 am
  #3  
TPJ
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Programs: TK*G (E+), AA OWE (EXP), IHG Plat
Posts: 6,351
Visit the M&M forum - there is a dedicated thread about VIE airport.

VIE is one of the most efficient airports in the world. As long as AC is more or less on time (I know, I know) you will make it.
TPJ is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 8:06 am
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 42,283
You have answered your own question. If AC sells the connection and is delayed, it will be responsible for rebooking you, presumably the next day. How much does a one day delay matter to you?

Balance the risk of an AC delay causing a misconnect against a 4-hour connection at FRA and then ask yourself which is better for you in your situation. This is a matter of risk tolerance not logistics.
Often1 is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 8:40 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: YYZ / IAH
Programs: AC SE MM, UA MP 1K, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Platinum, hhonors Diamond
Posts: 3,002
VIE is very efficient. I've done 20 minute connections that required immigration and a trip between terminals.
sokolov and D404 like this.
yyzgigi is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 9:01 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: YYC
Posts: 21,454
Better at VIE or ZRH than at FRA or LHR. In recent years I have made a one hour connection at LHR but missed a couple probably longer at FRA. Usually because YYC-FRA gets in late. Currently booked with a 75 minutes one at BRU; which is supposed to be OK, except the last 6 out of 10 AC flights into BRU were over an hour late... But that was the only routing I could get for my wife on a reward; giong through FRA would be nicer but just a one hour connection and no plan B getting us to destination on the same day. Through ZRH would work better, except we would need to leave earlier and anyway, no award space.
Stranger is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 3:34 pm
  #7  
SPG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ottawa, ON (YOW)
Programs: UA*1K, Marriott Plat, SPG Plat75, Hilton Gold, PP, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,602
Originally Posted by yyzgigi View Post
VIE is very efficient. I've done 20 minute connections that required immigration and a trip between terminals.
This... MCT is 20 mins for *A to *A. Although, if you care about priority boarding, carry on space, etc., That may not be ideal.

Although I did an LH to Austrian intra-Europe flight last July, and we landed at a remote gate for bussing to the terminal.
Absolute is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 7:08 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: YYZ
Programs: Fairmont Plat, 1865 Voyager, SPG Gold, AE, HH Gold,Hyatt, Hrtz Gold, Marriott Gold, NEXUS
Posts: 1,319
I did a transfer from LH to an Austrian flight to CPT last year. I think I only had 50 minutes and our incoming flight was 15 minutes.late. It took me about 10 minutes to get to the next gate and I was fine.
allbrosca is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 8:01 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: YYJ/YXY
Posts: 2,904
Assuming you arrive on time, this will work nicely.

If you're delayed a lot, by all means spend a day in Vienna. Take the S-Bahn (rather than the CAT) into town and enjoy yourself!
sokolov is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 9:04 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto - YYZ
Programs: Aeroplan/Hilton Gold/Marriott Bonvoy PE/Accor/Hyatt Gold Passport
Posts: 5,393
Have operated several VIE's. Very efficient operation. There is a whole bank of connections in the 1 hr time frame and thus far no issues. It's the permissable 35 minute connections which are doable albeit a bit tight. Tight connections are met by OS Airport staff and facilitated.
ACYYZ/SD is online now  
Old Aug 18, 19, 12:36 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: YVR
Posts: 1,383
If routing from AC at VIE, does that not also require immigration, as that will also be the first entry point into the EU? (If continuing onward outside the EU, that'd be different.) I wouldn't necessarily be concerned about it, VIE is not huge and is extremely efficient, just something to take into consideration. Remember, as long as you have an e-passport, you should be able to use the automated gates, which are usually pretty darn quick.
nomadic.relief is offline  
Old Aug 18, 19, 4:08 am
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 3,653
Originally Posted by nomadic.relief View Post
If routing from AC at VIE, does that not also require immigration, as that will also be the first entry point into the EU? (If continuing onward outside the EU, that'd be different.) I wouldn't necessarily be concerned about it, VIE is not huge and is extremely efficient, just something to take into consideration. Remember, as long as you have an e-passport, you should be able to use the automated gates, which are usually pretty darn quick.

Good point.Its not within the EU,....
InTheAirGuy is offline  
Old Aug 18, 19, 5:16 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto - YYZ
Programs: Aeroplan/Hilton Gold/Marriott Bonvoy PE/Accor/Hyatt Gold Passport
Posts: 5,393
Subject to operational changes, AC's designated gate at VIE is G36 if that helps.
ACYYZ/SD is online now  
Old Sep 4, 19, 6:48 pm
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 3,653
I bailed out on this idea, going via FRA which gives me a 3.5 hour connection to my ongoing flight. I leave a bit earlier, get there just around the same time. I just didn't feel comfortable looking at the OTP.
InTheAirGuy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread