Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Reload this Page >

AC No Longer Allowing Nexus as Sole Basis to Enter Canada?

AC No Longer Allowing Nexus as Sole Basis to Enter Canada?

Old Dec 3, 20, 6:56 am
  #196  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: YYZ ✈ YYG
Programs: airlines and hotels and rental cars - oh my!
Posts: 2,478
Right from the beginning you've supposed to have carried your passport with you regardless, which is why the Nexus machines going to/from the US require you scan the passport in one direction and the card in the other.
Symmetre is offline  
Old Dec 3, 20, 8:27 am
  #197  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Hyatt Glob, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 35,118
Originally Posted by Symmetre View Post
Right from the beginning you've supposed to have carried your passport with you regardless, which is why the Nexus machines going to/from the US require you scan the passport in one direction and the card in the other.
... no they don't ???

The new NEXUS machines in Canada require a one-time passport scan, but there's a button fro "I don't have my passport with me".

Other than that, it's never technically required to make the machines work in either direction.

The really old GE machines don't accept it, but:
1. That's not a NEXUS machine
2. I've only seen them once in all my travel
pilot007, D582 and WannabeSE like this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Dec 4, 20, 10:36 am
  #198  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: YYZ ✈ YYG
Programs: airlines and hotels and rental cars - oh my!
Posts: 2,478
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
... no they don't ???

The new NEXUS machines in Canada require a one-time passport scan, but there's a button fro "I don't have my passport with me".

Other than that, it's never technically required to make the machines work in either direction.

The really old GE machines don't accept it, but:
1. That's not a NEXUS machine
2. I've only seen them once in all my travel
Right enough about the new machines, I was referring to the old ones that had been in use for years and years. Perhaps I should have been clearer about that, but the point was, passport typically inserted into the kiosk when heading into the US, card inserted on return.
Symmetre is offline  
Old Dec 4, 20, 11:20 am
  #199  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: YYZ/SFO
Programs: *G^2, Bonvoyed, NEXUS
Posts: 2,899
Originally Posted by Symmetre View Post
Right enough about the new machines, I was referring to the old ones that had been in use for years and years. Perhaps I should have been clearer about that, but the point was, passport typically inserted into the kiosk when heading into the US, card inserted on return.
Any of the GE machines (as shown below) which have been in use in Canadian airports for at least 6 or 7 yeas now accept NEXUS cards instead of passports. This is true only at Canadian pre-clearance airports. If you land directly in the US you must use your passport, even though the machines are the same.


SuperCargo and canadiancow like this.
D582 is offline  
Old Dec 4, 20, 12:27 pm
  #200  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Hyatt Glob, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 35,118
Originally Posted by Symmetre View Post
Right enough about the new machines, I was referring to the old ones that had been in use for years and years. Perhaps I should have been clearer about that, but the point was, passport typically inserted into the kiosk when heading into the US, card inserted on return.
Those aren't NEXUS machines. And they do accept NEXUS (and other) cards, as multiple people have said.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Dec 4, 20, 4:47 pm
  #201  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: YXE/SFO
Programs: AC, UA, HH, MR, and the other usual suspects
Posts: 359
It so varies. I've used my NEXUS to check in online and then to check a bag at the counter, only to be told at boarding that I'm required to show my passport. Agent at YYJ threatened to not let the SE ahead of me fly when he presented his NEXUS and argued that it was sufficient. I'd also planned to use my NEXUS, and my passport case had, of course, slipped to the bottom of my bag under my laptop, so it was a bit of a thing to dig it out.

Different airports, different days, different scenarios, different answers. Did have NEXUS accepted for check in and boarding at SFO recently, though. YMMV?
dibby is offline  
Old Dec 4, 20, 5:29 pm
  #202  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC SE MM, Bonvoy Tit, HH Diamond, Hyatt Glob, Accor Gold, UA Silver
Posts: 35,118
Originally Posted by dibby View Post
Agent at YYJ threatened to not let the SE ahead of me fly when he presented his NEXUS and argued that it was sufficient.
Was that in Oct/Nov 2019? If so, it may have been me.

When it happened to me, it was very concerning, as I had many YYJ-YVR-SFO flights where I actually didn't have my passport with me, but I luckily did that time.
canadiancow is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: