Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Aer Lingus | AerClub
Reload this Page >

basic questions about Avios / award ticket / Alaska

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 10, 2023, 8:57 am
Original Poster

Programs: hyatt

Hi there- I'm a relative newbie to all of this but hoping someone experienced can point me in the right direction.

I would like to book an award ticket from Boston to Dublin. I have no prior relationship with Aer Lingus or Avios.

I do have a ton of chase points that I understand I can move into Avios. However, when I try to book a ticket, it only shows me $ cost.
I then signed up for AerClub and tried again. It now has a button to pay with Avios but when I hit it it shows I have 0 balance; not enough to buy ticket. It still doesn't tell me how many I need.

I'm reluctant to move points from Chase to Avios without knowing how many I will need as I know it's a one-way street and not sure when/if I'd ever use them again. Any advice? I found a "BA Avios calculator" website and tried that.... it gave me a range of 22.5 - 35, and not even sure that applies to Aer Lingus.

I also have a bunch of Alaska Air miles, and googling has showed me I can use them to buy tickets, but I can't figure out how. I tried the alaska airlines website and if I try Bos-Dub, the only flight that shows up is changing in Seattle (ugh! - where's the non-stop). There is fine print on the website that says "You can now book Aer Lingus flights from select US cities to Dublin and beyond on our website. For others please use Aerlingus.com". I guess Boston isn't a select city so it's routing me through one. I also can't figure out how to use alaska airlines points on aerlingus website.

Lastly, in case it helps, I have lots of American Airlines miles.

Thanks for your patience and I appreciate any help!
Old Oct 10, 2023, 9:05 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold