Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Loyalty Programs > Starwood | Starwood Preferred Guest
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 28, 06, 8:49 pm   #31
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Calgary
Programs: AC, AA, SPG
Posts: 776
I think another thing to keep in mind when posting employer SET account numbers is that some employers specifically frown on this, might even be in writing in their travel policy. I know a former employer I had was very vigilent in enforcing this as they used SET account usage reports from Starwood to reconcile travel accounts. Just a heads up in case this could end anyone up in hot water.
danwhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 06, 10:02 pm   #32
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Programs: MR LT PLT, SPG PLT100/LT PLT, HH GLD, US LT SLV, AA GLD, UA SLV, A3 BLU, EK SLV, Hertz 5*, Avis 1st
Posts: 14,266
Two more things to keep in mind:

If you decide to use an SET code that you are not entitled to, and the property asks you for confirming documentation at check-in, you just might find yourself staying at the RACK rate for your stay.

If your employer decides to hunt down who violated the terms of their agreement with SPG, that the code is for exclusive use of persons affiliated with the company, they might soon be your ex-employer.
CPRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 06, 10:12 pm   #33
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Queens, NY
Programs: SPG Plat, HH Gold, Hyatt Diamond, UAL Premier Exec
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPRich View Post
Two more things to keep in mind:

If you decide to use an SET code that you are not entitled to, and the property asks you for confirming documentation at check-in, you just might find yourself staying at the RACK rate for your stay.

If your employer decides to hunt down who violated the terms of their agreement with SPG, that the code is for exclusive use of persons affiliated with the company, they might soon be your ex-employer.
Honestly I think you are preaching to the choir here. We've already gone over why it's not a good idea to post SET codes several times in this thread, a topic that has also probably been considered by the folks in the other hotel forums as well. If people want to post SET codes, then just LET THEM. It's up to Starwood to decide how they wish to enforce the usage of SET codes and in all honesty, having a four (to six?) digit code that is both visible AND changable during the booking process is NOT in the least a safeguard against preventing this.
vivrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 06, 7:03 am   #34
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Herndon VA
Programs: AA EXP 2M, MR & SPG Gold, Hyatt Plat Avis Pref
Posts: 31,965
yeah i'm sure that is each company's priority
you have got to be kidding me
its not like any of this caveat emptor stuff has never been posted before


Quote:
Originally Posted by CPRich View Post
Two more things to keep in mind:

If you decide to use an SET code that you are not entitled to, and the property asks you for confirming documentation at check-in, you just might find yourself staying at the RACK rate for your stay.

If your employer decides to hunt down who violated the terms of their agreement with SPG, that the code is for exclusive use of persons affiliated with the company, they might soon be your ex-employer.
__________________
Want a FT date, FWB, hook up - Post a personal ad in omni - its now allowed
TrojanHorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 06, 12:20 pm   #35
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: PHX
Programs: A few
Posts: 243
If you want to waste some time, what is preventing anybody from entering in random numbers? I entered in my birthdate because I was bored and it showed up as a Corporate Rate.

Cheers,

Adrian

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrojanHorse View Post
yeah i'm sure that is each company's priority
you have got to be kidding me
its not like any of this caveat emptor stuff has never been posted before
AdrianVanzulli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 06, 1:02 pm   #36
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: YYZ
Posts: 1,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianVanzulli View Post
If you want to waste some time, what is preventing anybody from entering in random numbers? I entered in my birthdate because I was bored and it showed up as a Corporate Rate.
Next to google earth, that could be perhaps the second biggest time waster of 2006!

But sure, random numbers (4to6 digits) are possible to generate a SET code.
todd-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 06, 7:29 pm   #37
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: PHX
Programs: A few
Posts: 243
Actually, SET codes go up to 7-digits. Friend has a valid one from his old employer that is in fact 7.

Cheers,

Adrian

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd-r View Post
Next to google earth, that could be perhaps the second biggest time waster of 2006!

But sure, random numbers (4to6 digits) are possible to generate a SET code.
AdrianVanzulli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 07, 7:29 pm   #38
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: montreal canada
Programs: AA lifetime gold, BA, AC, CX, AS, DL, AF(gold), IHG(plt), SPG(gold), HHONORS, .
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianVanzulli View Post
If you want to waste some time, what is preventing anybody from entering in random numbers? I entered in my birthdate because I was bored and it showed up as a Corporate Rate.

Cheers,

Adrian
What is your birthdate ?

michael
yulmichael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 07, 10:39 pm   #39
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: PHX
Programs: A few
Posts: 243
It has a 1, a 2, and 3 7's. I'll let you play with them and figure out the order, maybe you'll stumble across something else. Remember, I said it listed it as a Corporate Rate...never said anything about the rate actually being good.

Adrian

Quote:
Originally Posted by yulmichael View Post
What is your birthdate ?

michael
AdrianVanzulli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 07, 11:55 pm   #40
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: YYZ/YVR/LHR
Programs: AC*SE100K 1MM; Ambassador Lifetime SPG*Platinum CEM; Hertz*PC; VIA*Premier
Posts: 10,727
Different SET codes work for different properties... so if you use one with an agreement at one property or chain or country or whatever, you may get a great deal under "Company Name", but when you the same SET at another property you might get the generic Chain Wide Discount and no "Company Name" associated with it. There's no rhyme or reason that anyone here will ever be able to deduce. If you have a bunch of SET codes, try them out for the different properties and you'll get different results... sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse.

And yes, when using a SET code, your folio more often than not will show the corporation's name.
__________________
2012 EQM: 247,944; 2013 EQM: 424,566; 2014 EQM: 233,974; 1,359 SPG Nights
Kuujjuarapik Esquimal; GTAA = PATHETIC
yyznomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 07, 9:29 pm   #41
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: check foursquare
Programs: Delta Cubic Zirconia & MM, SPG Plat, Hyatt, AA, VX, :rolleyes: titanium, PWP!
Posts: 13,547
I think it's more a problem with Starwood's databases. I've changed my email address and had it revert back to the old one months later. Same with my credit card, I put my company AMEX in but it reverts to my personal and vice versa

My dream is for Starwood to allow multiple credit cards in a profile (like Marriott, AA & NW do) and to allow multiple SET's (ie: my corporate SET & my organization's SET) in a matrix with rates of the SET's, AAA, Rack, etc. One can dream right?
__________________
The unofficial SkyMiles slogan: what have you done for us lately?
itsaboutthejourney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 07, 7:31 am   #42
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: new york, ny, usa
Posts: 13,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by nroscoe View Post
My dream is for Starwood to allow multiple credit cards in a profile (like Marriott, AA & NW do) and to allow multiple SET's (ie: my corporate SET & my organization's SET) in a matrix with rates of the SET's, AAA, Rack, etc. One can dream right?
as william said, the hurculean task of accessing multiple databases (really difficult, right? ) won't be available for years.
fly co to see the yanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 07, 10:27 am   #43
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Programs: Darth Vader of AMEX, A ladys best friend of Hilton, Pt78 of SPG, *G ,*S, ANA VIP
Posts: 3,807
ibm rate

i found the IBM rate at 1***0 to be very helpful.

it brings down the rate sometimes. .. but sometimes its more expensive.

if i have a property which is cheaper with that ibm rate i ask my friends to book rooms for me and add me as a second guest.

never had problems in doing so.

dp
derpelikan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 07, 11:33 am   #44
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SFO
Programs: SPG Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by yyznomad View Post
Different SET codes work for different properties... so if you use one with an agreement at one property or chain or country or whatever, you may get a great deal under "Company Name", but when you the same SET at another property you might get the generic Chain Wide Discount and no "Company Name" associated with it. There's no rhyme or reason that anyone here will ever be able to deduce. If you have a bunch of SET codes, try them out for the different properties and you'll get different results... sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse.

And yes, when using a SET code, your folio more often than not will show the corporation's name.
Thats odd, cuz my folio always has:
My Name
Company Name + GP
My Addy
richiezc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 07, 11:58 am   #45
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Programs: Delta - Gold; Starwood - Platinum; HHonors - Diamond & Avis Preferred
Posts: 8,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by richiezc View Post
Thats odd, cuz my folio always has:
My Name
Company Name + GP
My Addy
Ditto for me, when I use the company code.
KENNECTED is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 6:02 pm.