Community
Wiki Posts
Search

SPG Moments purchase went awry

Search this Thread

Old Apr 8, 2016, 4:05 pm
Original Poster

SPG Moments purchase went awry

To start off, I am a SPG100, have been a Platinum for 8 years now, and I'm under 30. I work in tech...so still tons of revenue to be made from me. I have literally spent hundreds of thousands of dollars with SPG (I rarely stay in hotels for less than 300/400 a night)

I rarely post stuff on FlyerTalk, but I feel like things like this must be shared. Maybe my view is completely off, and I'd love to hear about that as well!

In January 2016 I sent an email to my ambassador and the SPG Moments team whether it'd be possible to notify me when a very specific SPG Moment's package would go online, as I've had bad experiences with the "Notify me" feature on the "Coming Soon" page. I also asked whether there's any chance they would hold a package for me or "pre-sell" it to me, given I'm an elite. I didn't expect that, it was really a question more than anything else.

A day later, I received this response:
"I have spoken to the team; based on your membership level and loyalty to SPG, we would like to give you the opportunity to purchase one of our packages prior to them being launched on the site. Typically we have suite packages and box seat packages. I have not confirmed the pricing on each but I would imagine it would be similar to last year. The box seats went between 7,000 and 10,000 Starpoints and the Suite Packages between 12,000 and 25,000 Starpoints."

I was pumped, replied "Yes, thank you, Thanks so much for making this happen!" It's important to note, the same day I told one of my friend who had two tickets to the event, that I don't need one from him, and me and my other friend confirmed travel plans for going to the city of the event.