Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > Star Alliance
Reload this Page >

Strategy Help for 3RT biz class seats LAX>BKK. Points Levels Enclosed in post

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 7, 2017, 6:08 pm
Original Poster

Hello,

I'm looking for some advice on how to apply points for 3 RT biz class seats from LAX to BKK.

It appears the three most affordable options in this regard are from the following airlines (price for 3 seats): https://www.google.com/flights/?curr...17;sc=b;px=2,1
Air China: $7700
China Southern: $8200
Korean Air: $9200

Here are my current point levels:
Amex MR (my name): 61k
Amex MR (wifes name - she will be joining on trip): 129k
Ultimate rewards: 132k
Virgin America Elevate: 56k
Jet Blue: 40k
NZ airpoints (AUS$): 632 AUS$

Can someone please advise as to the optimal use of these points? I have never done anything this 'complicated' before and have only used points on same carrier in exchange for domestic flights.

We have the following cards: amex biz plat, amex plat, chase sapphire, chase biz ink, and virgin elevate silver.

If anything needs clarification please let me know.
Thanks.
Old Mar 8, 2017, 7:19 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Too many to list
I'd start by reading the Announcement thread at the top of this forum. Then come back with some ideas & suggestions. Good luck.
Old Mar 8, 2017, 7:29 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Originally Posted by nuknuk
Hello,

I'm looking for some advice on how to apply points for 3 RT biz class seats from LAX to BKK.

It appears the three most affordable options in this regard are from the following airlines (price for 3 seats): https://www.google.com/flights/?curr...17;sc=b;px=2,1
Air China: $7700
China Southern: $8200
Korean Air: $9200

Here are my current point levels:
Amex MR (my name): 61k
Amex MR (wifes name - she will be joining on trip): 129k
Ultimate rewards: 132k
Virgin America Elevate: 56k
Jet Blue: 40k