Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Cathay Pacific | Asia Miles
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 12, 03, 7:53 am   #1
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: YVR. Now@ YYZ
Programs: T.A.
Posts: 23,222
Those fake BOSE Noise Reduction headsets

Upon closer inspection, I realised that the BOSE look-a-like Noise Reduction headphones CX has in their new Biz and First class side armrests are in fact, NOT noise reduction at all.

They look like the BOSE headphones but the original has a side microphone on each earpiece ( as in all noise reduction headsets) to counter aircraft noise so that it will be muffed up. (Sorry I am not technical enough to give you the details). The CX ones look like they are made in China from some cheap plastic factory, and are definitely not Noise Cancelling.

Sure they cup over your ear so that you can hear the music better but they are not noise cancelling. Worse... the way the headphones are plugged into the seat, you can't even replace those with a decent set of your own!
Guy Betsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 03, 9:29 am   #2
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: BNE and GLA
Programs: AA Plat, QF Club
Posts: 83
I noticed the same thing on my last flights. I can't tell you how disappointed I was - especially when somebody else in the cabin started snoring loudly. I was forced to resort to those orange 3M earplugs!

Incidentally, what is the correct way in which to deal with a snoring passenger? Ask a crew member to suffocate them?!
whitters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 03, 12:05 pm   #3
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Grand Rapids, MI USA UA 1K, AA EXP 1MM, SQ PPS, BA GOLD, Hyatt D, Hertz Plat and AMEX Cent
Posts: 2,997
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by Guy Betsy:
Worse... the way the headphones are plugged into the seat, you can't even replace those with a decent set of your own! </font>
With the old built in CX headsets you could get to the plug if you were flexible enough and motivated enough - I always have been Is this something very new using a different design??
B Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 03, 1:40 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Silicon Valley
Programs: AA:PLT&3MM, HGP:DIA, SPG:GOLD
Posts: 1,895
I thought those built-in headphones were Sony NR headphones. I too dislike the fact that you can't use your own headphone. B Watson, can you elaborate on how you plug in your own headphone? If CX was afraid that people steal their headsets, the least they can do is provide some way for passengers to use their own headphone without disconnecting the built-in one.
bp888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 03, 7:39 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SEATTLE, WA USA
Programs: UAL, AA, AS, CX
Posts: 1,538
Well maybe this is dependent on which a/c you are flying but my recent YVR-HKG including return in F had the noise cancelling headsets on the A340-300. I thought they worked excellent. It was hard at first to tell if they were working since I am used to the Bose but after a short while of wearing the CX headsets I could certainly hear the difference.
__________________
AA:PLAT 1MM Mile Lifetime Gold
AS:MVP Gold
JHIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 03, 8:04 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: HKG
Programs: AA 3MM EXP, UA 1P UGS, SQ Solitaire, LH SEN, CX DM, GP Courtesy Card, SPG Plat
Posts: 2,663
I've never seen these headphones.. only the flimsy built in ones.... which routes are using these new headphones?
__________________

My Flight Memory
tfung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 03, 9:26 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: LAX, SIN
Posts: 473
the bose look alikes are only in the new business class. in first class, CX are still using the sony NR headphones. both headphones can be removed, but the plug has 3 holes, i'm not sure if the real bose headphones can fit in the holes
miki13331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 03, 9:30 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: CX DM, UA UGS, SQ PPS, AA EXP/1MM, SPG, Hyatt Diamond, Hilton HHonors Gold, Amex Centurion
Posts: 144
Just flew HKG-YYZ on a 340-300 in First a couple of days ago. They have replaced the old Sony headsets with the fake bose headsets identical to the ones in Business Class.
francisliang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 03, 10:49 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 222
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by whitters:

Incidentally, what is the correct way in which to deal with a snoring passenger? Ask a crew member to suffocate them?!
</font>
Hi there..

Just reminded me of something a friend said a while back.

He was in 1K on a BA flight, and couldn't get to sleep because the person in 1A was snoring SO loudly.

When he enquired about it, he learned the passenger was Jose Carreras.

Can you IMAGINE the noise?

But it was probably in tune AND had vibrato and rubato!

MinS
__________________
Happy in SIN
MikeinSIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 03, 10:01 am   #10
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: YVR. Now@ YYZ
Programs: T.A.
Posts: 23,222
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by B Watson:
With the old built in CX headsets you could get to the plug if you were flexible enough and motivated enough - I always have been Is this something very new using a different design??</font>
In the First Class seat, you could sort of get your hand into the headphone storage area and if you're selve enough, you could just unplug the headphone. However, the way the seats are built on the New Business Class, you cannot do this.

So what can we do? Write in and complain (again)?

Guy Betsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 03, 7:44 pm   #11
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Grand Rapids, MI USA UA 1K, AA EXP 1MM, SQ PPS, BA GOLD, Hyatt D, Hertz Plat and AMEX Cent
Posts: 2,997
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by Guy Betsy:
In the First Class seat, you could sort of get your hand into the headphone storage area and if you're selve enough, you could just unplug the headphone. However, the way the seats are built on the New Business Class, you cannot do this.

So what can we do? Write in and complain (again)?

</font>
GOT IT - I can only speak to the F seat - and that was hard enough to unplug!

Re letters, I am not convinced that CX bothers to read them - I am still waiting for any response to my letter about the palatial SFO F closet with the only food being Frito's Corn Chips!
B Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 03, 7:56 pm   #12
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: YVR. Now@ YYZ
Programs: T.A.
Posts: 23,222
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by B Watson:
GOT IT - I can only speak to the F seat - and that was hard enough to unplug!

Re letters, I am not convinced that CX bothers to read them - I am still waiting for any response to my letter about the palatial SFO F closet with the only food being Frito's Corn Chips!
</font>
CX do read the letters except that their turnarond time averages 4 months! Many times they send me letters for incidents I have no recollection of!

The SFO lounge is operated by JAL. CX unfortunately has no control over how JAL runs their lounge.

Guy Betsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 03, 9:12 pm   #13
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Grand Rapids, MI USA UA 1K, AA EXP 1MM, SQ PPS, BA GOLD, Hyatt D, Hertz Plat and AMEX Cent
Posts: 2,997
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by Guy Betsy:

The SFO lounge is operated by JAL. CX unfortunately has no control over how JAL runs their lounge.

</font>
Well, I really don't agree with that. CX pays for the lounge use making it at JAL customer. As a paying customer, they do have the right to assert themselves. Furthermore, if the lounge is so EMBARRASSINGLY BAD as it is, they may need to make other arrangements.
B Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 03, 11:02 am   #14
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Plantsville, CT USA; via West Hartford, CT; Stamford, CT; South Bend, IN; London, U.K. and Westchester County, NY
Programs: AA EXP 2 MM; Starwood PLT
Posts: 17,227
The SFO lounge arrangement is a shame and the first class setion is a joke. The biggest shame is that there is a BA Terraces Lounge (a lounge CX often uses when it doesn't have its own lounge) in the wing of the terminal from which CX operates, but it is used by China Airlines at the time the CX flight deaprts. Hopefully in the near future, CX can give China Air the boot and use its Oneworld partner's lounge.
__________________
Pioneering flight solutions that bring people home everywhere… every time
PresRDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 03, 11:19 am   #15
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Grand Rapids, MI USA UA 1K, AA EXP 1MM, SQ PPS, BA GOLD, Hyatt D, Hertz Plat and AMEX Cent
Posts: 2,997
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by PresRDC:
The SFO lounge arrangement is a shame and the first class setion is a joke. The biggest shame is that there is a BA Terraces Lounge (a lounge CX often uses when it doesn't have its own lounge) in the wing of the terminal from which CX operates, but it is used by China Airlines at the time the CX flight deaprts. Hopefully in the near future, CX can give China Air the boot and use its Oneworld partner's lounge.</font>
So what prevents us as Emeralds from using the BA lounge? I never do get OW lounge policies straight, but on *A you can pick and choose any lounge for which you qualify.
B Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:11 pm.