Wiki Posts
Search

US or UA for SFO-PHL in F

Search this Thread

Old Apr 25, 2007, 8:59 pm
Original Poster

US or UA for SFO-PHL in F

Hello all, I'm a US newbie here.

For an upcoming trip in early May, I'm trying to decide between UA or US for SFO-PHL nonstop in F. The timing of US706 is a bit better than the two UA n/s flights. However, I did a search and read a post here about the turmoil surrounding the reconfiguration of - and removal of F seats on - US A320 (does that apply to A321 also, as US706 is showing to be operated by an A321?). Also, some other threads suggest that US catering and service in F is inferior (to UA?). On seatguru, all 3 aircrafts (UA's A319, A320, and US A321) show a pitch of 38", so I'm assuming seats are similarly cramped - any comparison based on actual experience?

Any comments on UA vs US for this route in F? I'm UA premier exec, so I should be entitled to the 100% mileage bonus on UA if flying US. I'm mostly interested in hearing about seat comfort, catering, service, punctuality and overall experience. Thanks.

Last edited by sfvoyage; Apr 25, 2007 at 9:03 pm Reason: typo
Old Apr 25, 2007, 9:03 pm

Programs: AA Platinum; US Gold; DL Silver
Long story short: fly United.

Long story slightly longer than short: United has better food, more comfortable seats, and better IFE.
Old Apr 25, 2007, 9:17 pm

Programs: Delta Gold, National EE, Hertz PC, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
If the timing is better take US. You take a bit of a hit on somethings but nothing major that would sway me getting where I wanted when I wanted to.

The food is fine, every SFO flight I have had I have had a good to wonderful crew, and as for the seat I think they are great on comfort at least for me. I had back surgery in January and flew to SFO in Feb. in row 1 in seat F. Think that is the best on the plane. The rows stagger and that side has extra leg room.
Old Apr 25, 2007, 10:17 pm