Community
Wiki Posts
Search

US Airways flights - seat selection ripoff?

Search this Thread

Old Feb 14, 2014, 12:28 pm
Original Poster

US Airways flights - seat selection ripoff?

Hi guys,

I was looking at JAX - CLT - SFO return flights 3/18 - 3/25 and around 11am I saw a flight SFO - MIA - JAX from noon - 7PM, which wasn't available after I went home to get my US Airways credit card. I understand award flights get booked quick sometimes so no grudge here. However, earlier I know for a fact that JAX - CLT flight's seat 6c was available, but now they are charging $18 for it and a lot of seats available previously are no longer available? This is somewhat ridiculous and I'm trying to call customer service, but they are saying they are busy and to call back.

Instead of doing SFO - MIA - JAX, now I have to do SFO - DFW - CLT - JAX and it's 4 hours longer travel time

Is this normal practice or what? This is my first time booking US Airways flights.
Old Feb 14, 2014, 12:58 pm

Originally Posted by cronin85
Hi guys,

I was looking at JAX - CLT - SFO return flights 3/18 - 3/25 and around 11am I saw a flight SFO - MIA - JAX from noon - 7PM, which wasn't available after I went home to get my US Airways credit card. I understand award flights get booked quick sometimes so no grudge here. However, earlier I know for a fact that JAX - CLT flight's seat 6c was available, but now they are charging $18 for it and a lot of seats available previously are no longer available? This is somewhat ridiculous and I'm trying to call customer service, but they are saying they are busy and to call back.

Instead of doing SFO - MIA - JAX, now I have to do SFO - DFW - CLT - JAX and it's 4 hours longer travel time

Is this normal practice or what? This is my first time booking US Airways flights.