Wiki Posts
Search

Around the world in a single weekend?

Search this Thread

Old May 3, 2011, 9:46 am
Original Poster

Programs: United GS MM, Marriott PP Ambassador
Around the world in a single weekend?

Sorry if this has been asked before, but I've searched to know avail...

I'm *thinking* about booking a trip around the world that would occur as close as possible to a single weekend. SFO-SFO. Really it's just a silly thing to add to my life experience list. I'm a writer, and every few months I'll go to a hotel to hole-up for a weekend of non-stop writing. So I'm thinking maybe a future one could just be on a plane the whole time? The plan would be to not have hotels and to try to get the flights as close together as possible. (Although I haven't thought this through yet to make sure I can do it without 18 hour layovers.)

Has anyone tried this before?
Which direction did you fly?
What routing?

I'm assuming I'll buy economy and use an SWU (dunno if it would need 1 or 2) to C cabin.

Everything I've found when searching has led to the *A Round-the-world fares, but those don't seem like what I want.. I think I just need to book this traditionally? (Probably on the phone with some flexibility so I can confirm the SWUs.)

Thanks!
Brian
Old May 3, 2011, 10:08 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

A RTW fare won't work because it requires more time and actually stopping. You should be able to piece together something with a few one-way tickets but it isn't going to be cheap and using SWUs will be hard as you're not going to get UA metal the whole way. If you're willing to use LH metal you can probably do something like SFO-FRA-HKG-SFO but you haven't crossed the equator; dunno if that's important to you or not. That would be 3 SWUs and some good luck getting them to work, especially as FRA-HKG can only clear day of travel.
Old May 3, 2011, 10:13 am

Programs: *G, ow Saph
Last year I did HKG-DXB-BAH-DXB-IAD-SFO-HKG in a weekend. Did the reverse a couple of weekends later.