Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Upgrade on frequent flier ticket?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 10, 2009, 6:03 am
Original Poster

Thumbs up Upgrade on frequent flier ticket?

Hello everyone,

I am returning from study abroad in Europe in late December and I was wondering if I have a decent case for upgrading. I have never tried it before but I want to give it a shot. I know it might be one in a million because I have a frequent flier ticket. Here is what I think might help my chances:

I. Coach is booked, but economy plus is still available--what United told me. It costs nearly $90 to "upgrade" to EP.

II. My parent has premiere executive "status" and our frequent flier accounts are joined.

III. I got my flight over here through my parents frequent flier miles but flew on Air Canada. Long story short I had an awful experience--stuck between two clinically obese men.

IV. My layover is long enough to woo the ticket counter.

I am thinking if I dress in a suit and tie, be polite but firm I just may have a chance. No?

-Is there anything else I can do to improve my chances?
-Is there something that I should not do?

What does everyone think?

Last edited by gringo430; Nov 10, 2009 at 1:45 pm
Old Nov 10, 2009, 6:06 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA-EXP, AA-0.41MM, UA-Gold, Ex UA-1K (2006 thru 2015), PMUA-0.95MM, COUA-1.5MM-lite, AF-Silver
Welcome to FT.

Originally Posted by gringo430
I think unless you are willing to spend $90 to fly in E+ or $800 to upgrade to business class (assuming there are seats in either), you are are flying in E-.
Old Nov 10, 2009, 6:10 am
Original Poster

Thank you.

@mre5765 If coach is sold out (including E+), would you think they'd consider letting me purchase 'business class' for less than $800?
Old Nov 10, 2009, 6:16 am
Ari
FlyerTalk Evangelist

I am returning from study abroad in Europe in late December and I was wondering if I have a decent case for upgrading.
Virtually no chance, but stranger things have happened.