Upgrade waitlist question

Old Apr 24, 2022, 12:24 pm
Original Poster

Programs: DL PM, UA Plat, Lifetime Skyclub
Question Upgrade waitlist question

I typically fly Delta but I applied for and was granted a status match from United giving me Premier Platinum status. I am still learning the rules and quirks of United's rules and I have a question about an upgrade I am trying to do on an upcoming fright.

My wife and I are are flying LIS-EWR-MSP in Economy Plus, and were offered an upgrade to Polaris Business for a couple of hundred dollars. We took the offer and were wait listed for the upgrade. I now received an email telling me we have been upgraded on the domestic leg, EWR-MSP, but are still wait listed for LIS-EWR. I don't really care about the domestic upgrade and I mistakenly thought the upgrade would be "all or nothing" (an upgrade on both legs or none at all). If the LIS-EWR upgrade doesn't happen I don't want to pay for the domestic upgrade so I called the United help line to see what my options are.