Wiki Posts
Search

Earning United Miles in Canada?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 11, 2011, 7:02 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K

Hey folks - I'm an Ontario, Canada based business traveler. I'm self employed as a consultant, and sell primarily to Americans. My apologies for a query that won't affect many of you.

Anyway - being in Canada, my primary frequent flyer program is the accursed and evil Aeroplan. I'm a United Premier Executive member (or at least, will be as soon as my recent Turkish Airways miles credit - grrrr).

As a small business owner, I probably put $40k a year through my credit card. Until now, that's been earning Aeroplan miles. But the fuel surcharges are ridiculous and almost criminal - for example, Air Canada Toronto to London Heathrow is well over $600 in fees! I'd MUCH rather be earning United miles - not for status, I collect those already, but for reward redemptions.

Does anyone have any workarounds in mind? Is there a credit card available I can transfer points to Mileage Plus?

I figure, the fall back if my business keeps going well, is to look at incorporating in the USA and seeing if I can get a corporate card that would earn miles, but that's a lot of extra hassle just to get the occasional surcharge-free reward flight.
Old Nov 11, 2011, 9:12 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: CO 1K-MM
You can get united miles with a President Plus card (with no FX) .

I agree that Aeroplan is ridiculous. The only issue with abandoning aeroplan is the lack of upgrade-ability for non obnoxiously priced fares for non-elites. And you don't get the pearson priority line as a UA*G.

I'm now hanging out in Toronto a lot, I plan on keeping my United status...
Old Nov 11, 2011, 10:03 am

Programs: UA*1K & UA Club, National Ex. Elite, Hertz Pres. Circ., Amex Plat., CLEAR
Originally Posted by Boogie711