Wiki Posts
Search

Racial profiling by United premier rep

Search this Thread

Old Feb 10, 2018, 12:22 pm
Original Poster

Racial profiling by United premier rep

Hi All,

I've been traveling 75-100K miles a year for the past 6-7 years, most of my travel is with United. Last year was the first time I made it to 1K. I'm middle eastern, brown skinned, and often have beard. Every now and then I run into situations where I'm "randomly" selected to additional search, but that's about it. Yesterday, I've run into what I believe is ugly racial profiling by United 1K/Premier rep, in Boston Logan airport. You'd be the judge:

9:20am: Landed in BOS from YHZ and started running to make my short connection to UA525.
9:25am: Noticed my eTicket doesn't show up in the United app, and the hard copy I have is still showing Y.
9:30am: Arrived to the 1K/Premier desk in Logan airport, first in line.
- this is where things started to get ugly
9:32am: My turn comes, I walk towards the check-in counter and hear the United rep shouting towards me (I'm the only person there) "this line is for F and 1K passengers only, you need to go there" pointing at the Economy check-in, I kept walking towards the lady in the 1K check-in counter and the lady kept persisting that I belong in the economy check-in before even validating ID, ticket or class. I responded and asked her "how do you know I'm not F or 1K passenger?" and she mumbled something to herself. At this point I told her I'm flying F and 1K, and she printed my ticket, before cheerfully saying "you will not make it anyway" implying that I will miss my connecting flight. At this point I asked for her badge information as I wanted to file a complaint later but turned around and left.
9:35am: Rushing to clear security
9:40am: Made it in time to board my flight
Old Feb 10, 2018, 12:27 pm

Hard to say without being there, but its certainly possible. Filing a report doesn't seem like a bad idea.
Old Feb 10, 2018, 12:28 pm
Original Poster