Converting One-Way to Round-Trip

Old Apr 20, 12, 5:57 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Programs: Many
Posts: 330
Converting One-Way to Round-Trip

I have an one-way international award ticket booked, but I'm wondering if I can convert it to a round-trip ticket (same endpoints), thus enabling a stopover on the return legs? Obviously I know could book a separate one-way home without a stopover.

If it is possible to do this, is there a fee? Can it be done online?

Thanks for any advice on this!
srdshelly is offline  
Old Apr 20, 12, 6:35 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,204
Almost certainly not possible online. I've heard reports of success with this via an agent and I'm hoping it still works as I will need to do it soon.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Apr 25, 12, 9:21 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: UA 2P
Posts: 52
I've got the same question - anyone have first-hand reports of success or failure?
flyBernoulli is offline  
Old Apr 25, 12, 9:33 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Programs: UA Plat 2MM; AS MVP Gold 75K
Posts: 34,994
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
Almost certainly not possible online. I've heard reports of success with this via an agent and I'm hoping it still works as I will need to do it soon.
You can absolutely do this with an agent.

You can change any award to anything else, and the system will reprice it and charge (or credit) the difference in miles and taxes.
channa is offline  
Old Apr 25, 12, 6:41 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: UA 2P
Posts: 52
Originally Posted by channa View Post
You can absolutely do this with an agent.

You can change any award to anything else, and the system will reprice it and charge (or credit) the difference in miles and taxes.
What about for those of us who aren't 1K/Platinum? Do they charge a fee? For example, they charge a fee to change an award reservation from economy to business, in addition to the miles. Thanks!
flyBernoulli is offline  
Old May 23, 12, 10:53 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: UA 2P
Posts: 52
Well, to follow-up, this is indeed possible and standard "change fee" applies - so for those of us who aren't platinum/1k, we pay $75/$50/$25 for gm/silver/gold, respectively.

The first agent I talked to said this conversion wasn't possible and the whole thing would have to be completely canceled and rebooked, so I called back...so it may require some persistence to get a knowledgeable agent.
flyBernoulli is offline  
Old May 24, 12, 5:17 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Programs: Many
Posts: 330
Originally Posted by flyBernoulli View Post
Well, to follow-up, this is indeed possible and standard "change fee" applies - so for those of us who aren't platinum/1k, we pay $75/$50/$25 for gm/silver/gold, respectively.

The first agent I talked to said this conversion wasn't possible and the whole thing would have to be completely canceled and rebooked, so I called back...so it may require some persistence to get a knowledgeable agent.
OK, thanks for the follow up. Too bad this is considered a "change", since no actual flights are changed.
srdshelly is offline  
Old May 24, 12, 3:55 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 24,279
Originally Posted by srdshelly View Post
OK, thanks for the follow up. Too bad this is considered a "change", since no actual flights are changed.
But the award type is changed and it needs to be re-priced and re-ticketed.
ijgordon is offline  
Old Jun 19, 12, 8:39 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Programs: UA, bmi, AA, CO, DL, B6, AMEX, Hertz, Most Hotels
Posts: 2,955
iirc, there's no way to combine two previously booked award 1 ways PNRs together to form a single roundtrip?

If that's true, what's the best way to take a previously booked award oneway & covert it to a round trip?

Assuming an agent is willing to assist, do you have to find newly available segments and have the agent add them to the existing one way award ressie?
bk3day is offline  
Old Jun 19, 12, 8:45 pm
  #10  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,204
Originally Posted by bk3day View Post
iirc, there's no way to combine two previously booked award 1 ways PNRs together to form a single roundtrip?

If that's true, what's the best way to take a previously booked award oneway & covert it to a round trip?

Assuming an agent is willing to assist, do you have to find newly available segments and have the agent add them to the existing one way award ressie?
Most recently when I did it I just called in to "make some changes to an existing award" and added on the new segments. Even with the open-jaw/stopover they priced it just right.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Jun 19, 12, 9:02 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,330
Originally Posted by bk3day View Post
iirc, there's no way to combine two previously booked award 1 ways PNRs together to form a single roundtrip?

If that's true, what's the best way to take a previously booked award oneway & covert it to a round trip?

Assuming an agent is willing to assist, do you have to find newly available segments and have the agent add them to the existing one way award ressie?
Correct. Combining PNR's is impossible. Sometimes however, its worthwhile to place segments on hold with a new pnr, in hope that cancelling it will release it back. Best to do that with an agent in one shot, since she'll have the best odd of grabbing it back.
HumbleBee is offline  
Old Feb 17, 14, 2:58 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DEN
Programs: UA Platinum
Posts: 142
I have booked award travel for three separate one-ways AAA-->BBB, BBB-->CCC, and CCC--> AAA and would like to convert this to a roundtrip (stopover at BBB) to save the miles difference between the one-ways and R/T. I know I did this last year on the same trip but was just told it was "impossible to combine records." All three one ways are domestic saver with no more saver availability. I'm platinum so no fee to make a change to award travel if it's possible.

Did I just ask the wrong way or is it no longer possible?
3card is offline  
Old Feb 17, 14, 4:24 pm
  #13  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,204
Originally Posted by 3card View Post

Did I just ask the wrong way or is it no longer possible?
It never was.

If you took the first one and changed it to be the circle trip then it is possible. If you book them all separate and then try to combine it is not.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Feb 17, 14, 4:36 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: variously: PVG, LHR, SEA
Programs: AA ExPlat, UA 1MM Gold, Marriott Prem Plat, IHG Plat, HH Gold
Posts: 1,677
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
It never was.

If you took the first one and changed it to be the circle trip then it is possible. If you book them all separate and then try to combine it is not.
It is possible to covert a one-way into a round-trip reward, but what the poster wants shouldn't be possible for several reasons:

1. Would have to book the stopover leg after the first one way is booked.
2. No stopovers are permitted on domestic itineraries
3. Cannot combine two one-ways in the same direction into one ticket
andrewwm is offline  
Old Feb 17, 14, 7:11 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC
Programs: UA Gold
Posts: 145
Originally Posted by 3card View Post
I have booked award travel for three separate one-ways AAA-->BBB, BBB-->CCC, and CCC--> AAA and would like to convert this to a roundtrip (stopover at BBB) to save the miles difference between the one-ways and R/T. I know I did this last year on the same trip but was just told it was "impossible to combine records." All three one ways are domestic saver with no more saver availability. I'm platinum so no fee to make a change to award travel if it's possible.

Did I just ask the wrong way or is it no longer possible?
I've had an agent do this for me on international awards (e.g. preserving availability), but as andrewwm says, stopovers are not permitted on domestic RT awards.
choatie88 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: