Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Rules for Open Jaw & Stopover Award Flights (Consolidated)

Rules for Open Jaw & Stopover Award Flights (Consolidated)

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jan 4, 15, 10:06 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Wiki Link
Presented as Q&A format (Originally posted by Alex_B)

Q: What is a stopover?
A: A stopover on an international itinerary is any break in your air travel for more than 24 hours except at the destination.

Q: What is an open-jaw?
A: An open-jaw is where you travel by your own means (either land, sea or a separate air ticket) between two points in a journey.

Q: How many stopovers am I allowed on a roundtrip award?
A: One stopover, in addition to the destination, is permitted (an unlimited number of stops less than 24hours is allowable).

Q: How many open-jaws are allowed on a roundtrip award?
A: Two open-jaws are permitted. These must be at the stopover, destination or origin.

Q: Can I have a stopover or open-jaw on a one-way award?
A: No

Q: Can I have a open-jaw at both the stopover and destination?
A: Yes, plenty of posters have reported success in booking this

Q: Can I transit my destination multiple times (e.g. fly to JNB, fly to CPT and then return home via JNB)?
A: Yes, plenty of posters have reported success in booking this. You can only stop in your destination for > 24 hours once though.

Q: Can I cross both oceans?
A: Yes. The rule that prohibited crossing both oceans appears to have been removed from both MP and *A award rules. There are many many successful examples of people booking these itineraries.

Q: Is EWR-PVG transatlantic or transpacific?
A: US-East Asia/South East Asia is always transpacific no matter what geography might suggest.

Q: Do I pay more for a stopover or open-jaw?
A: Typically no additional mileage is required but additional taxes or fees are often payable (especially in UK with high Air Passenger Duty). Extra mileage will often be required if an open-jaw or stopover adds a higher cost region into the itinerary. Also awards wholly within CONUS, Canada and Alaska (formerly known as Series 0 awards) require additional mileage (10K miles) for a stopover of >4 hrs.

Q: What's this about a free one-way I can get on awards?
A: The concept of free one-ways is a misnomer and often confuses people, it is better to consider it a stopover in the city of origin. If you have a simple roundtrip award without a stopover, you can often create a stopover and open-jaw at your origin on the return leg to add an addition flight. E.g. I wish to book EWR-LHR (destination)-EWR which is a roundtrip US-Europe award. I could also book this as EWR-LHR (destination)-EWR (stopover)-SFO for the same mileage (and a few dollars of extra tax). The EWR segment would need to be within 330 days of booking and would be subject to the usual change fees.

Other notes:
  • The open-jaw portion must be smaller (in miles) than any other leg. -While technically true for revenue fare construction this is not strictly enforced on awards.
  • For awards between CONUS/Canada/Alaska and South Asia award regions the maximum number of segments is 5 segments each way on a round-trip and 4 segments on a one-way. (Note that many FTers report recently being read a memo that imposes an eight segment maximum on a roundtrip (4 each way). It is unclear whether this eight-segment maximum is limited to South Asia routings through Europe or North Asia, or has broader application.)
  • Stopovers and open-jaws are NOT additive. You do not get extra stops included in your itinerary simply by making an open-jaw out of it.

Seeing your fare construction on an already booked award ticket:
In order to see your award fare construction to see where your stopovers and destination are, follow these steps.

Go to http://www.saudiairlines.com/

Then hit "Manage My Bookings" and select "E-Ticket"
Enter your UA ticket number (hint: 016 will go in the first box, and then everything else in the second box). Then your last name and hit "Retrieve My Booking". On the next page you'll see a line like this under "Fare Calculation":

CHI LH X/FRA LH ROM0.00CSM/YB52 /- FLR LH X/FRA LH X/DUS LH CHI UA SEA

This example is:
ORD-FRA-FCO
Open Jaw at Destination
FLR-FRA-DUS-ORD
Stopover at origin
ORD-SEA
Print Wikipost

Old Jun 13, 13, 8:49 pm
  #1501  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Programs: US CP ; LH FTL ; *G
Posts: 1,630
Originally Posted by alex_b View Post
Why would it being a *A hub matter?
I know this is not a *A award, but I thought even for a pure UA award you need a hub for a stopover to get the chart roundtrip rate?
burlax is offline  
Old Jun 13, 13, 8:53 pm
  #1502  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Gold, UA Nobody, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,310
Originally Posted by burlax View Post
I know this is not a *A award, but I thought even for a pure UA award you need a hub for a stopover to get the chart roundtrip rate?
Not that I've heard; plenty of stopovers in non-hubs reported in the Rules for open jaw and stopover award flights consolidated thread, especially European airports (e.g. FCO, MAD).
alex_b is offline  
Old Jun 13, 13, 9:14 pm
  #1503  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SUX
Programs: BA Silver; HHonors Gold; SPG Gold; Points but dirt with everyone else
Posts: 8,050
Originally Posted by burlax View Post
I know this is not a *A award, but I thought even for a pure UA award you need a hub for a stopover to get the chart roundtrip rate?
The *A hub rule is a US thing. UA doesn't place restrictions like that on stopover locations.
mtkeller is offline  
Old Jun 14, 13, 2:09 am
  #1504  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 53
alex_b- thanks for the info.
raceroyce is offline  
Old Jun 14, 13, 11:40 pm
  #1505  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ATL/LAX
Posts: 4,867
2 agents say no to IAD-MUC-BCN(stop)-FRA-PEK-HKG(stop)-SFO-IAD. I follow the new segment rule with an RT. Even asked for IAD-MUC(stop,oj), BCN-FRA-.... but no go.
amolkold is offline  
Old Jun 15, 13, 1:49 am
  #1506  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
2020 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 48,902
Originally Posted by amolkold View Post
2 agents say no to IAD-MUC-BCN(stop)-FRA-PEK-HKG(stop)-SFO-IAD. ...
what was the reason given? Many will flag two ocean trips (although that limitation appears to have been dropped).
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Jun 15, 13, 1:51 am
  #1507  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ATL/LAX
Posts: 4,867
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
what was the reason given? Many will flag two ocean trips (although that limitation appears to have been dropped).
Neither would give a reason ... I mean, would they rather I redeem HKG-PEK-FRA-LHR-IAD rather than HKG-SFO-IAD? I don't get it. I'll try again in the morning with different/better agents.
amolkold is offline  
Old Jun 15, 13, 6:20 am
  #1508  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WAS
Programs: AA EXP (3MM), UA 1K, DL PM, BONVOY TITANIUM, HH DIAMOND, IHG SPIRE AMB, OTHERS
Posts: 3,798
I recently booked a roundtrip award from the U.S. to Europe with an open-jaw in Europe and a 6 month stopover at my origin airport upon my return. This is actually the first time I've booked both an open-jaw and stopover on a single award. Routing: IAD-AMS/CDG-IAD/IAD-STL.

Is it possible to change the last segment (IAD-STL) to a different domestic destination after the international portion of the trip has already been completed?

Thanks.

-FlyerBeek
FlyerBeek is offline  
Old Jun 15, 13, 10:19 am
  #1509  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: So Cal
Programs: UA scum/0.699MM, WN ALP/CP, Hyatt Diamond, MR/SPG Gold,Hertz PC, National EE, Carlson Silver
Posts: 5,180
Originally Posted by FlyerBeek View Post
I recently booked a roundtrip award from the U.S. to Europe with an open-jaw in Europe and a 6 month stopover at my origin airport upon my return. This is actually the first time I've booked both an open-jaw and stopover on a single award. Routing: IAD-AMS/CDG-IAD/IAD-STL.

Is it possible to change the last segment (IAD-STL) to a different domestic destination after the international portion of the trip has already been completed?

Thanks.

-FlyerBeek
Should be possible. And since you are 1K, it should be free.
jasonvr is offline  
Old Jun 15, 13, 2:29 pm
  #1510  
formerly known as Tad's Broiled Steaks
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: @BuildingMyBento
Programs: Metro-North Rubbish, Keisei Skinflint, KCR Headphones, Kopaja Platinum
Posts: 5,254
I'd like to book a one-way from CTS-SIN, but the only flight available on the website (from CTS) is with TG. I greatly dislike both TG and BKK, and am wondering if I could book (by phone) a one-way routing through TYO instead of BKK?

Thanks,
BmB
BuildingMyBento is offline  
Old Jun 15, 13, 3:49 pm
  #1511  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 389
Originally Posted by FlyerBeek View Post
I recently booked a roundtrip award from the U.S. to Europe with an open-jaw in Europe and a 6 month stopover at my origin airport upon my return. This is actually the first time I've booked both an open-jaw and stopover on a single award. Routing: IAD-AMS/CDG-IAD/IAD-STL.

Is it possible to change the last segment (IAD-STL) to a different domestic destination after the international portion of the trip has already been completed?

Thanks.

-FlyerBeek
I can confirm it's possible and you should be able to do it online.
nycvisitor is offline  
Old Jun 15, 13, 4:41 pm
  #1512  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Programs: Mileage Plus
Posts: 27
Originally Posted by amolkold View Post
Neither would give a reason ... I mean, would they rather I redeem HKG-PEK-FRA-LHR-IAD rather than HKG-SFO-IAD? I don't get it. I'll try again in the morning with different/better agents.
Maybe you can try booking return HKG-PEK-FRA-LHR-IAD then changing to HKG-SFO-IAD. I did RT EWR to PEK through Europe then switched outbound EWR-SFO-PEK without any trouble. I guess if you can do within 24h, you can cancel if you don't get what you want.
OP5545 is offline  
Old Jun 16, 13, 2:55 pm
  #1513  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: BAEC Blue, Priority Club Platinum, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,716
I am going to SXM and would need IAD-SXM on a nonstop flight and for the return SXM-EWR-IAD. I want to add a "free one way" ie a stopover which ideally would be in DC. When searching online for this itinerary, I can do a simple IAD-SXM-IAD//IAD-SFO which has the SXM-IAD connect in EWR with no problem which prices at 52500 (standard award needed for the outbound). If I try IAD-SXM-IAD-DUB (or any European city), the only option for the segment SXM-IAD involves a connection in PTY on Copa. I'd rather have that flight via EWR. Is there a reason why it may not show the SXM-EWR-IAD//IAD-DUB flight? As a side note, IAD-SXM-EWR//EWR-DUB works fine and prices at 62500.
terpfan101 is offline  
Old Jun 16, 13, 6:00 pm
  #1514  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ATL/LAX
Posts: 4,867
Originally Posted by OP5545 View Post
Maybe you can try booking return HKG-PEK-FRA-LHR-IAD then changing to HKG-SFO-IAD. I did RT EWR to PEK through Europe then switched outbound EWR-SFO-PEK without any trouble. I guess if you can do within 24h, you can cancel if you don't get what you want.
Agent roulette here. Trying to do IAD-LHR(stop)(open-jaw)BCN-FRA-PEK-HKG(dest)-SFO-IAD but it won't allow. Agent says, "Can't have open-jaw on the way to the destination." But they were fine with 2 oceans.

Last edited by amolkold; Jun 16, 13 at 6:22 pm
amolkold is offline  
Old Jun 16, 13, 6:53 pm
  #1515  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 20,905
Originally Posted by amolkold View Post
Agent roulette here. Trying to do IAD-LHR(stop)(open-jaw)BCN-FRA-PEK-HKG(dest)-SFO-IAD but it won't allow. Agent says, "Can't have open-jaw on the way to the destination." But they were fine with 2 oceans.
very typical. Most agents have trouble with a surface segment in the middle of the itinerary. Computer wont price it, so they dont bother.

Is it doable - this thread says yes, but good luck.
rankourabu is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: