Wiki Posts
Search

Regional jets...ugh

Search this Thread

Old Mar 21, 2004, 11:16 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Delta, HHonors
Regional jets...ugh

As an aspiring airline pilot, I'm not usually inclined to bash the airlines for any reason. But an experience last Saturday has brought a frustration to the surface. Apparently American Airlines feels that flying a regional jet between Cincinnati and Miami is reasonable. That was the most uncomfortable 2 1/2 hours of life (barring the wisdom teeth experience). I would rather have had to connect in Dallas or Chicago O'Hare even! I was trying to read the Cincinnati Enquirer and I couldn't turn the page without infringing on my neighbor's space. Unfortunately, this regional jet trend is becoming commonplace at many carriers. For instance, next weekend, I'm flying from Columbus, OH to Orlando on Delta, and once again, I'll be trying to fold my paper without bumping my neighbor's arm on the Embraer 135 RJ.

Now before anyone starts bashing me about how high airfares would be if regional jets didn't exist, I know, you're right, they would be. If there are American-lovers in here, I'm not bashing only your carrier. I'm a loyal Delta SkyMiles member and they use regional jets extensively as well. The point here is not to degrade the airlines, but to open up a forum, because to be honest, I'm interested in other regional jets routes that are WAY to long. So if you've flown any, post them, let me know. And in the meantime, I'm going to enjoy my trip BACK FROM Orlando, when I'll be on a 767 and a 757, respectively through Atlanta-thank goodness.
Dave
Old Mar 22, 2004, 12:08 am

Programs: UA 1K/*G
Solution: Book flights on an airline or routes not using regional jets.
Old Mar 22, 2004, 1:41 am
Moderator: UK and Ireland & Europe

Programs: SK*G, Lots of Blue Elsewhere
LGW-BUD in an F70 with huge seat recline. That's 2h30, and very uncomfortable.