Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Question about holding 2 US passports

Search this Thread

Old Aug 7, 2016, 7:17 am
Original Poster

Question about holding 2 US passports

Hi I have 2 US passports (I travel for a living and both passports have controversial countries that can be a problem with some visas and some entrances).

Question: Im now overseas- I have been for several months- and want to mail one of my passports to a visa service in NYC so that when I arrive back in 2 weeks, I can have a visa waiting for me. The problem is that I forgot which passport i used when I left USA 7 months ago. Is this a problem? Can I enter my country on either passport?

THANKS

Nongfu
Old Aug 7, 2016, 7:23 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

USA does not have exit controls, so the US government does not know (or care??)

What passport did you use to enter the country you are now in? Many countries are concerned about entering & leaving on the same passport. If you use a different passport, you may have problems.
Old Aug 7, 2016, 7:27 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by Mwenenzi
What passport did you use to enter the country you are now in?
Thanks Mwenenzi! I entered Ireland on my main USA quadruple thick passport (I double checked and found the big entrance stamp) and Im now in Scotland. Ill do some of Scandinavia before returning to USA for a few days. I want to have a Russia visa waiting for me, thanks to you I believe Im good to go! Ill mail my secondary passport to TRAVISA next week.

Thanks again!
Old Aug 7, 2016, 7:50 am

Programs: Hilton Diamond, IHG Spire Ambassador, Radisson Gold, Hyatt Discoverist
I don't think it matters. I have 2 US passports and use them interchangeably and sometimes travel with both and pay no attention to whether I'm returning on the same passport I left on.
Old Aug 7, 2016, 9:23 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: United 1k, Marriott Lifetime PE, Former DL Gold, Former SQ Solitaire, HH Gold
Originally Posted by Mwenenzi