Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Old Timer's Airline Quiz and Discussion.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Old Timer's Airline Quiz and Discussion.

Search this Thread

Old Oct 27, 2015, 5:52 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Plat, lots of AA, AS, DL, UA miles, former top level CO Elite (sigh...)
Originally Posted by WHBM

As the overseas carriers came out in the same database lookup, and as all (except JAL probably) ran their first 747 service to JFK, here are theirs as well.

LH 10-Mar-70
AF 20-Mar-70
JL 22-Apr-70
BA 22-Apr-70
AZ 13-May-70
IB 02-Oct-70
SN 19-Nov-70
EI 15-Dec-70
If memory serves me correctly, I believe KLM Royal Dutch was the first 747 operator at Houston Intercontinental which occurred the year I graduated from high school down near the NASA space center: 1971.

KLM was operating its service from IAH to AMS via an intermediate stop in Montreal at the time and the 747 replaced a DC-8 on the route. Curious if your database reflects a 1971 first delivery timeline to KL with regard to the 747......
Old Oct 27, 2015, 9:47 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: Alaska Million Miler, United Million Miler, Wyndham Rewards Diamond, Choice Hotels Diamond
Originally Posted by jlemon
21. If you wanted to fly out of New York JFK aboard this airline’s “Sunjet” in January of 1970, it could have been one of two different types of aircraft. Identify the airline and the two aircraft types.

"Sunjet" was the name BWIA used to describe their B727-100 aircraft. I believe that around this time "Bee-Wee" was transitioning their jet fleet from the 727 to the 707 (and I seem to recall these 707 aircraft came from Braniff International). So perhaps there was a transition phase during which BWIA operated both the 707 and 727, and both were referred to as "Sunjets" in 1970.

Ya, Mon! BWIA traded its (3?) 727s to Braniff for that carrier's four 707-227s. BWIA later acquired some 707-138Bs - also from Braniff(?)