Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Android Pie and public log in wifi issue

Android Pie and public log in wifi issue

Old Oct 13, 18, 2:00 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 74
Android Pie and public log in wifi issue

Hello everyone,

I got a phone with the new version of Android and struggle to use airports public wifi. When I select the network it connects to it without launching the sign in page.
The only workaround I had is to use an other device, get the log in url and manually put it on my android Pie device.

Anyone got the same issue ? Any advice to make it work?

Thanks in advance

​​​​​
Tom_D is offline  
Old Oct 13, 18, 4:31 am
  #2  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 13,871
Not sure, but try going to NeverSSL - helping you get online and see if this brings up the login page. This site is specifically for this purpose.

http://neverssl.com
smc333 likes this.
DYKWIA is offline  
Old Oct 14, 18, 9:13 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 74
Originally Posted by DYKWIA View Post
Not sure, but try going to NeverSSL - helping you get online and see if this brings up the login page. This site is specifically for this purpose.

NeverSSL - helping you get online
​​​​​​
It works perfectly, a big thanks
Tom_D is offline  
Old Oct 14, 18, 10:22 am
  #4  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: The shape-shifting urban sprawl that is El Lay. FT member #71.
Programs: UA Platinum & MM; AA dirt; Hilton Diamond; Marriott Fool's Gold; & some other useless titles
Posts: 4,439
Another method is entering the easy to remember IP address: 1.1.1.1

This works at least three-quarters of the time I run into problems finding a sign-in page at a hotspot.
Craig6z is offline  
Old Oct 14, 18, 9:06 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: San Diego, CA
Programs: GE, Marriott Gold
Posts: 13,316
Originally Posted by Craig6z View Post
Another method is entering the easy to remember IP address: 1.1.1.1

This works at least three-quarters of the time I run into problems finding a sign-in page at a hotspot.
A lot of HTTPS-default websites (1.1.1.1 included) send "Moved Permanently" redirects to the HTTPS version when you try to visit the HTTP version, so just putting "http://" in front doesn't necessarily mean a browser will attempt the latter first. Clearing cache should reset things so that the browser will actually try HTTP though.
tmiw is online now  
Old Oct 16, 18, 11:15 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 74
All of your solutions worked perfectly most of the time. It even sometimes allowed me to log without registering properly. Thanks again
Tom_D is offline  
Old Oct 17, 18, 2:36 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London & Sonoma CA
Programs: UA 1K MM, Hertz PC, BAEC Silver
Posts: 7,995
I have an iPhone and an Android, the latter for travel. This is a perfect example of why I dislike the Android - it's simply too complicated to do basic things with it.
lhrsfo is offline  
Old Oct 17, 18, 6:05 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 74
Originally Posted by lhrsfo View Post
I have an iPhone and an Android, the latter for travel. This is a perfect example of why I dislike the Android - it's simply too complicated to do basic things with it.
Actually I have a Sony. I am not sure if the overlay is not the main issue here
Tom_D is offline  
Old Oct 18, 18, 1:49 pm
  #9  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 13,871
Originally Posted by lhrsfo View Post
I have an iPhone and an Android, the latter for travel. This is a perfect example of why I dislike the Android - it's simply too complicated to do basic things with it.
The same thing happens sometimes on my Macbooks... and no doubt on iOS (although I don't have any iOS devices to confirm).
DYKWIA is offline  
Old Oct 19, 18, 3:12 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 701
Originally Posted by DYKWIA View Post
The same thing happens sometimes on my Macbooks... and no doubt on iOS (although I don't have any iOS devices to confirm).
It's worse on iOS, actually... once you do get it to connect, if you put the phone back in your pocket for 5-10 minutes it disconnects from the WiFi. When you start using it again, it'll re-connect, but depending on how the captive portal is set up it may make you re-authorize. Android devices (and 'real' computers whether Mac, Windows or Chrome OS) will just stay connected to the WiFi until it goes out of range or you disconnect.

Yes, this issue is really the network operator's fault for stupid configuration, but iOS stands alone in being unable to handle it.
der_saeufer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread