Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Current best international SIM?

Current best international SIM?

Old May 22, 18, 7:59 am
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 12,503
Current best international SIM?

It seems the existing threads are kind of old, so I'm starting a new one. What's the current best international SIM?

I have a FreedomPop SIM that I've had forever (but never used) and don't really know if it works. Plus I'd like LTE and I think it only supports 3G. Is there a good roaming SIM out there these days, particularly for France? I'm mostly interested in data but the ability to call someone would possibly be useful.

Thanks for suggestions!
gfunkdave is offline  
Old May 24, 18, 9:36 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BWI,IAD,DCA
Programs: UA gold, Hyatt Plat Marriott silver,Hilton Gold, PC Plat., SPG Gold.,Hertz Gold, Global Entry
Posts: 621
Look up above at the prepaid sticky. Look for France, and it should give you some useful information. I have stopped using international sims many years ago. I have a UK sim that I use all over Europe. When I go to the Middle East I usually get a local sim. I have T-mobile but I rather not pay 20cents for a call when I can get incoming free. International sims have been less relevant since the EU has done away with roaming, and so much more expensive than a local sim card.
powerlifter is offline  
Old May 25, 18, 9:53 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 574
Very true - the use of international sims has declined significantly. I have a 3 UK sim that I use when I am in Europe. I have my Piranha sim still, but have not used it in a while. And they seem to be having some problems at the moment. So, they are providing replacement sims. As the current sims no longer work.
Silver Fox likes this.
mrcamp is offline  
Old May 25, 18, 10:51 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE100K MM
Posts: 575
I use GigSky since I get all of Europe on one top up. And it is great service.
Cozmo456 is offline  
Old May 25, 18, 1:31 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,905
Ah thanks for the head's up @mrcamp. We have two Piranha sims so will be sure to test them this weekend. I noticed their VOIP offering was not working for some time. Mine gets stuck attempting to register.
freecia is offline  
Old May 25, 18, 1:35 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 574
Yes, the VOIP stopped working a few months back. My understanding is that, that's the end of that feature.

Originally Posted by freecia View Post
Ah thanks for the head's up @mrcamp. We have two Piranha sims so will be sure to test them this weekend. I noticed their VOIP offering was not working for some time. Mine gets stuck attempting to register.
mrcamp is offline  
Old May 25, 18, 8:06 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: LAX, SAN, ORD, MAA & COK
Programs: AA EXP 6 MM, AC, DL (MM) & Lifetime SC; All Airlines 10+MM, Hilton Diamond;too many others;
Posts: 745
Since switching to Google's Project Fi plan a few years ago as my primary I've stopped getting foreign SIM cards. The cost is $20 per month unlimited local calling and text in the US and $10/GB of data in the US or while roaming internationally. The service is supported in over 120 countries which includes free text and overseas roaming calls cost $0.19/minute. If connected to Wi-Fi, then the calls go through Wi-Fi calling and calls back to the USA are then free and you don't get charged the roaming rates. It is very convenient to have high speed internet connection in most places around the world as soon as the plane touches down. The only exception is when I'm in India were local call rates and data rates are ridiculously cheap for local SIMs and so I use a local one as soon as I land.

Last edited by ROW2Aisle; May 26, 18 at 6:34 am Reason: Add comment about SIM in India
ROW2Aisle is offline  
Old May 27, 18, 12:58 am
  #8  
Moderator, Hertz; FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KRK / ORD
Programs: UA 1MM, BA GGL, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond and others
Posts: 12,497
I got my Tmobile USA and (still) the Toggle SIM.
Tmobile is great for worldwide roaming, and for me, the Toggle SIM works great.
jason8612 is offline  
Old May 29, 18, 7:51 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: I 35 south bound, finally stopped
Programs: AA EXP, LT Plt, 4mm, *A Silver, Free Agent
Posts: 1,247
T mo data sim at $35 a month for 6 gb, international at 2 g and we use it for email and low speed friendly surfing. Project Fi in a Moto X4 for high speed stuff when needed, and that is our travel phone that all our travel buddies have. Have given up the Toggle and Piranha sims. I just today tried my Fi sim in an unlocked iphone 6 and it worked great.
boerne is offline  
Old May 29, 18, 9:48 pm
  #10  
Moderator, Hertz; FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KRK / ORD
Programs: UA 1MM, BA GGL, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond and others
Posts: 12,497
Fi is tempting. I just wish they had a data only option. I don't need the $20/month calling on it.
jason8612 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: