Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Google Fi: Anyone care to post their experience?

Google Fi: Anyone care to post their experience?

    Hide Wikipost
Old Dec 25, 18, 8:33 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Zorak
Wiki Link
Which countries are supported?

https://support.google.com/fi/answer...intl_countries

Note that in some locations Hangouts (and Gmail) are not available (e.g., China, Russia, Thailand, South Korea, Mexico, Argentina, and more: see link below for full list of excluded countries), so you will need a VPN to access them (or to make VOIP calls via Hangouts Dialer)

https://support.google.com/hangouts/answer/3205646

Exceptions:

Listed, but no/spotty service:
  • Ukraine (Aug 2018) - no service, all providers listed as "forbidden". Post #660
  • Alaska (Jul 2018) -- had voice service, but inconsistent/spotty data (try forcing Sprint)
  • Peru (Sep 2016) post 341, 360
  • Grand Cayman Island (Jan 2018) post 547

Not listed, *did* have service
  • Belize (Jan 2018) post 547 Belize now appears on the "supported" international list
If you are having trouble connecting, level 1 Fi reps recommend you try the following steps before they will escalate. Try each step in the order listed below to see if it fixes your issue - if not, move on to next step.

1- Reboot phone
2- Toggle "airplane mode" on/off. Wait five seconds after toggling off (it resets phone modem).
3- Try manually connecting to each available network (rather than using the auto select feature).
4- Toggle down from 4g to 3g (removing the recommended 4g option) and then try manually connecting to each available network.
5- Toggle down from 3g to 2g and then try manually connecting to each available network.
Print Wikipost

Old Jan 12, 19, 10:52 am
  #811  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,515
What is strange is Fi has two distinctly different users: (a) low volume users of data; and, (b) global travelers. I love Fi and even bought a Pixel 3 (as my second phone) to have coverage in remote areas and to take advantage of Three roaming in some countries. You can stick an unlimited tablet data SIM in slot 2 of a dual SIM phone in the US and come out where you need to be for $50 a month.
Dubai Stu is offline  
Old Jan 12, 19, 11:54 am
  #812  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Programs: UA, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
Posts: 6,549
Who offers a $30/mo unlimited data sim?

Originally Posted by Dubai Stu View Post
What is strange is Fi has two distinctly different users: (a) low volume users of data; and, (b) global travelers. I love Fi and even bought a Pixel 3 (as my second phone) to have coverage in remote areas and to take advantage of Three roaming in some countries. You can stick an unlimited tablet data SIM in slot 2 of a dual SIM phone in the US and come out where you need to be for $50 a month.
Yoshi212 is online now  
Old Jan 12, 19, 2:11 pm
  #813  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,515
https://teltik.com/

TMobile reseller. Look at the tablet plans. Tablet plans are often way cheaper than cell phone plans.
Dubai Stu is offline  
Old Jan 12, 19, 7:49 pm
  #814  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,904
Just got Fi on Black Friday and used it over the new year break at Europe flawlessly. I have Fi on my Pixel 3 and T-mobile One Plus on our other phones. T-mobile One Plus is very usable but Fi is as fast as here and faster at some countries. In Paris, I was getting close to 200mbps. I also put the free Data Sim into one of the iPhone to speed up the connection. At first it was not working, but then I found the APN setting on Google search and manually put those in and mobile data started working. I used 5Gb of data in 3 weeks on 2 phones.
adambadam likes this.
Need is offline  
Old Jan 20, 19, 6:59 pm
  #815  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: I 35 south bound, finally stopped
Programs: AA EXP, LT Plt, 4mm, Free Agent
Posts: 904
I suddenly found a new use for that iphone 6 that got a new battery. The Fi data sim makes that a great second device, especially with the mophie juice pack. Nice move by Google Fi. So yep thats what I am doing.
boerne is offline  
Old Jan 21, 19, 8:18 am
  #816  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 731
Does the billing month start on the 1st of the month or 30 days after you sign up ?

And same question for the data , when does your month start ?

​​​​​ thanks for the info
LAXlocal is offline  
Old Jan 21, 19, 8:29 am
  #817  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Programs: UA, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
Posts: 6,549
Mine started when I activated the line for a full 30 days.

Originally Posted by LAXlocal View Post
Does the billing month start on the 1st of the month or 30 days after you sign up ?

And same question for the data , when does your month start ?

​​​​​ thanks for the info
Yoshi212 is online now  
Old Jan 21, 19, 9:21 am
  #818  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: bay area, ca
Programs: UA plat, spg plat, aa plat, marriott plat
Posts: 3,203
Originally Posted by LAXlocal View Post
Does the billing month start on the 1st of the month or 30 days after you sign up ?

And same question for the data , when does your month start ?

​​​​​ thanks for the info
I got billed 1 day after I activated (but it was a zero charge) b/c apparently my "billing cycle" date was that. Although I have now been active more than 30 days my page showing the "special $200 credit" I should get after 30 days still indicates that has not been satisfied. When I get back to the US I'll try calling since the service hasn't worked for me in SE Asia.
estnet is offline  
Old Jan 21, 19, 11:18 am
  #819  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,904
Got the first bill about 1 day after activating the Pixel 3 XL. It charges for the monthly device payment, $20 Talk and Txt for the next month. That was on the 7th of Dec. On 7th of January, it charges me for the Device Payment, $20 T&T, and Data Usage... also got the -$20 referral credit from using a referral code. Still waiting for the $900 service credit.
LAXlocal likes this.
Need is offline  
Old Jan 21, 19, 4:08 pm
  #820  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 731
What is a good International LTE tablet to use with a Google Fi data sim ,

I would prefer a used one from eBay etc so I do not have to worry about it if it gets wet or "liberated"
Android is first choice ,

Thanks for your ideas
​​​​
LAXlocal is offline  
Old Jan 21, 19, 4:43 pm
  #821  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Programs: DL PM, Hilton Diamond, Starriott Platinum, Hyatt FreeBottleofWaterist
Posts: 8,040
I know I can call them and try to ask this, but I want to get a 2nd phone number attached to my Fi account as a work cell phone, but I can't for the life of me see where I can choose the new number. Does that happen after you order and receive the 2nd SIM card? I'm asking here because I trust you folks more than the CSRs at Google Fi
krazykanuck is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 3:19 am
  #822  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 702
Originally Posted by krazykanuck View Post
I know I can call them and try to ask this, but I want to get a 2nd phone number attached to my Fi account as a work cell phone, but I can't for the life of me see where I can choose the new number. Does that happen after you order and receive the 2nd SIM card? I'm asking here because I trust you folks more than the CSRs at Google Fi
Yep, it should happen when you activate the second "real" SIM (i.e. not a data SIM).
der_saeufer is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 11:24 am
  #823  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 731
Can you have 2 or more Google Fi data only Sims working at the same time on one account ?
LAXlocal is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 11:49 am
  #824  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,904
Originally Posted by LAXlocal View Post
Can you have 2 or more Google Fi data only Sims working at the same time on one account ?
According to Google, you could add up to 9 Data Sim per account:

https://support.google.com/fi/answer/6330195?hl=en
Need is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 1:15 pm
  #825  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 370
Originally Posted by LAXlocal View Post
Can you have 2 or more Google Fi data only Sims working at the same time on one account ?
I have several activated, and regularly use two. One did die recently, for some reason, and so I swapped it with another, and I'm back in business.
Michael Ad is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread