Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > Thailand
Reload this Page >

BKK Transit Counter airside (SIN-BKK-LHR)

BKK Transit Counter airside (SIN-BKK-LHR)

Old Dec 28, 2022, 12:00 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SEA
Programs: A3*G, AC, IHG Plat AMB
Posts: 1,604
BKK Transit Counter airside (SIN-BKK-LHR)

Before I go out and book something unreasonable, can anyone confirm if it is possible to do an airside, separate-ticket connection at BKK again?

I've got two pax on a single-PNR connecting through BKK on SQ708 + BR67, but I need a third pax on those flights and couldn't manage to ticket it directly. So what I'm hoping to do here is separate-ticket the return for the third pax and link all the PNRs. But then I started questioning if it's possible to do so yet. This site suggests that it's possible to connect (doesn't mention single PNR/ticket). I'm hoping that we can check in everyone at the SQ desk in SIN, considering they will be linked, we're getting visas for Thailand anyway, considering we will have just been there a week or so earlier, but juuuuuuuuust in case I want to make sure that this is possible. Otherwise I need to get creative with my own routing as well.
DJ Bitterbarn is offline  
Old Dec 30, 2022, 4:04 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: SQ TPPS/*G, Starlux Explorer, (Almost Lifetime) Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 1,406
Deleted - duplicate

Last edited by bpk6h; Dec 30, 2022 at 4:19 am
bpk6h is online now  
Old Dec 30, 2022, 4:18 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: SQ TPPS/*G, Starlux Explorer, (Almost Lifetime) Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 1,406
Originally Posted by DJ Bitterbarn
Before I go out and book something unreasonable, can anyone confirm if it is possible to do an airside, separate-ticket connection at BKK again?

I've got two pax on a single-PNR connecting through BKK on SQ708 + BR67, but I need a third pax on those flights and couldn't manage to ticket it directly. So what I'm hoping to do here is separate-ticket the return for the third pax and link all the PNRs. But then I started questioning if it's possible to do so yet. This site suggests that it's possible to connect (doesn't mention single PNR/ticket). I'm hoping that we can check in everyone at the SQ desk in SIN, considering they will be linked, we're getting visas for Thailand anyway, considering we will have just been there a week or so earlier, but juuuuuuuuust in case I want to make sure that this is possible. Otherwise I need to get creative with my own routing as well.
Yes, I did it in November... but I only had a carry on. I flew under two separate PNRs, Jetstar SIN-BKK and BR67 BKK-LHR. Disembarked from the Jetstar flight, very short walk to transfer security (only one in the queue) and upstairs into the BR lounge. I had checked in online for the BR flight but brought a print out of the boarding pass which the security agents seemed to be more comfortable with.

Last edited by bpk6h; Dec 30, 2022 at 7:16 am
bpk6h is online now  
Old Dec 30, 2022, 9:58 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SEA
Programs: A3*G, AC, IHG Plat AMB
Posts: 1,604
Thank you! This is a big weight off!

I actually broke down and called the BR counter at SIN yesterday who claimed it was completely possible to check in for the BKK-LHR segment at the SQ counter. They're all *A so it should be easy.
Then I called up SQ and they confirmed that they will not check in for any other airline because "the boarding passes won't be the same" which was almost so hilarious that I called him on it. Even when mentioning the second through-PNR, he confirmed that SQ will not check in for that flight either and we'd need to go to BR to do it. Not like I haven't done it multiple times, including with SQ. But oh well.

Either way, feeling a lot better about this now. Have a happy new year!
bpk6h likes this.
DJ Bitterbarn is offline  
Old Dec 31, 2022, 3:16 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: SQ TPPS/*G, Starlux Explorer, (Almost Lifetime) Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 1,406
Happy New Year to you as well. Had last flown BR pre-covid...they are still terrific.
bpk6h is online now  
Old Dec 31, 2022, 6:47 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BKK
Programs: TG ROP Platinum, M&M Senator, IHG Platinum, Accor Platinum
Posts: 8,319
Originally Posted by DJ Bitterbarn
TI actually broke down and called the BR counter at SIN yesterday who claimed it was completely possible to check in for the BKK-LHR segment at the SQ counter. They're all *A so it should be easy.
Then I called up SQ and they confirmed that they will not check in for any other airline because "the boarding passes won't be the same" which was almost so hilarious that I called him on it. Even when mentioning the second through-PNR, he confirmed that SQ will not check in for that flight either and we'd need to go to BR to do it. Not like I haven't done it multiple times, including with SQ. But oh well.
no surprise...SQ is very strict on this....staff is very creative with excuses...

Had same experience with SQ and other *A carriers....SQ refused to check through if on separate PNR, while the other *A carrier did with SQ as second leg
BinSabai is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.