how to get rid of FT popup

Old Mar 7, 19, 1:32 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SEA
Programs: UA Prem Exec
Posts: 153
how to get rid of FT popup

how to get flyertalk popop off of right sidescreen so i can sign in to flyertalk
exymer is offline  
Old Mar 7, 19, 5:28 am
  #2  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 27,002
@exymer, I have moved your question to the Technical Support and Feedback forum.

NewbieRunner
Senior Moderator
NewbieRunner is online now  
Old Mar 7, 19, 9:00 am
  #3  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 61,509
Originally Posted by exymer View Post
how to get flyertalk popop off of right sidescreen so i can sign in to flyertalk
Can you share which device, operating system and browser, and versions you are using? That can be very useful to Admin and Tech staff, as can be a screen shot of the popup, so they can be helpful.

Thank you,

JDiver, Co-Moderator
JDiver is offline  
Old Mar 7, 19, 12:29 pm
  #4  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,936
Originally Posted by exymer View Post
how to get flyertalk popop off of right sidescreen so i can sign in to flyertalk
What popup? Can you take and post a screen shot please?

Also... you are signed on...
IBobi is offline  
Old Mar 8, 19, 11:19 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home
Programs: AA, Delta, UA & thanks to FTers for my PC Gold!
Posts: 7,635
I believe OP's referring to this FT "improvement" since September 2018:

"Ask a Question" widget -- report issues or questions here

Originally Posted by exymer View Post
how to get flyertalk popop off of right sidescreen so i can sign in to flyertalk
BTW, as a non-signin FTer, I have the same issue and always found/find that feature quite annoying as well.
lin821 is offline  
Old Mar 8, 19, 11:57 am
  #6  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,936
Is it in the way of logging in?
IBobi is offline  
Old Mar 8, 19, 1:11 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home
Programs: AA, Delta, UA & thanks to FTers for my PC Gold!
Posts: 7,635
Originally Posted by IBobi View Post
Is it in the way of logging in?
Yes, ever since Day One it was implemented. You guys didn't know?
lin821 is offline  
Old Mar 8, 19, 1:20 pm
  #8  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,936
That widget hasn't been on FT in months. Must be something else?
IBobi is offline  
Old Mar 8, 19, 2:40 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home
Programs: AA, Delta, UA & thanks to FTers for my PC Gold!
Posts: 7,635
Originally Posted by IBobi View Post
That widget hasn't been on FT in months. Must be something else?
My bad. I must be living in another universe.

I visit FT on a daily basis and I've been seeing the widget on every single visit without exception as long as I don't sign in. YMMV, as always.
lin821 is offline  
Old Mar 8, 19, 3:02 pm
  #10  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,936
Could you try to clear your cache and see if it still show up?
IBobi is offline  
Old Sep 4, 19, 2:10 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Programs: NW Plat (now they call it DL Diamond) 1MM, soon to be DL Plat, Hilton Diamond, SPG Gold, Dusit Gold
Posts: 2,698
What an annoying bundh of popups on the site. Top, and right "Walmart, Hyatt, Prime Now, Shopify" and many other. I cleared the cache and these are still there. Long, long time member who is just not used to this scattershot approach to advertising. Not good at all.


"Could you try to clear your cache and see if it still show up?"

I did and no change except for still more garbage.
opushomes is offline  
Old Sep 4, 19, 2:14 pm
  #12  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,782
Originally Posted by opushomes View Post
What an annoying bundh of popups on the site. Top, and right "Walmart, Hyatt, Prime Now, Shopify" and many other. I cleared the cache and these are still there. Long, long time member who is just not used to this scattershot approach to advertising. Not good at all.


"Could you try to clear your cache and see if it still show up?"

I did and no change except for still more garbage.
Can you please post a screenshot of what you're seeing?
IBJoel is offline  
Old Sep 4, 19, 2:24 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Programs: NW Plat (now they call it DL Diamond) 1MM, soon to be DL Plat, Hilton Diamond, SPG Gold, Dusit Gold
Posts: 2,698
Now Duracell, Fios, Xfinityxfi

Originally Posted by IBJoel View Post
Can you please post a screenshot of what you're seeing?
Page does not allow me to take a screenshot!
opushomes is offline  
Old Sep 4, 19, 2:27 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Programs: NW Plat (now they call it DL Diamond) 1MM, soon to be DL Plat, Hilton Diamond, SPG Gold, Dusit Gold
Posts: 2,698
Now Door dash, Best Buy When I dismiss them it says "Ad closed by Google"
opushomes is offline  
Old Sep 4, 19, 2:34 pm
  #15  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,782
Originally Posted by opushomes View Post
Page does not allow me to take a screenshot!
We need a screenshot to begin to address this. Are you on mobile or desktop?
IBJoel is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread