Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Support&Services > Technical Support and Feedback
Reload this Page >

Wikipost features: adding tables to Wikiposts

Wikipost features: adding tables to Wikiposts

    Hide Wikipost
Old Aug 12, 19, 12:14 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: JDiver
Wiki Link

Tables are not currently supported in vBulletin due to a previous update. However, there is a team working on restoring this compatibility/functionality.




Trying to create a table here fails:

{ border="1" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="3"
+ Caption
! Header 1 !! Header 2
-
Cell 1 Cell 2
}

See https://www.flyertalk.com/wiki/index.php/Wiki_markup

The regular post format also fails:

[table]
[tr]
[th]Route[/th]
[th]Class [/th]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]LON - NYC[/td]
[td]A - B[/td]
[/tr]
[/table]
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old Apr 14, 18, 7:14 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South East England
Programs: BA Exec Club; U2 Flight Club; Hilton Honors; IHG
Posts: 508
Question Wikipost features: adding tables to Wikiposts

Hi

I've tried adding a table to a wiki using the format

[table]
[tr]
[th]Route[/th]
[th]Class [/th]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]LON - NYC[/td]
[td]A - B[/td]
[/tr]
[/table]

but no table is created. How do I add a table to a wikipost?
memesweeper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 18, 12:39 pm
  #2  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,837
Originally Posted by memesweeper View Post
Hi

I've tried adding a table to a wiki using the format

[table]
[tr]
[th]Route[/th]
[th]Class [/th]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]LON - NYC[/td]
[td]A - B[/td]
[/tr]
[/table]

but no table is created. How do I add a table to a wikipost?
Wikis use wiki markup, not Forum markup.

Try here:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Help:Basic_table_markup
memesweeper likes this.
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 18, 4:51 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South East England
Programs: BA Exec Club; U2 Flight Club; Hilton Honors; IHG
Posts: 508
I cannot seem to create a table in a wiki as whenever I use the pipe character, it is stripped off ... any suggestions of how to tackle this? is this a bug?
memesweeper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 18, 4:54 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South East England
Programs: BA Exec Club; U2 Flight Club; Hilton Honors; IHG
Posts: 508
Originally Posted by memesweeper View Post
I cannot seem to create a table in a wiki as whenever I use the pipe character, it is stripped off ... any suggestions of how to tackle this? is this a bug?
Looks like there is some javascript to strip off pipe characters if you hit 'submit' or 'preview'. Can anyone help?

Last edited by memesweeper; Apr 29, 18 at 4:55 pm Reason: make less abrubt
memesweeper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 18, 3:30 pm
  #5  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,837
Originally Posted by memesweeper View Post
I cannot seem to create a table in a wiki as whenever I use the pipe character, it is stripped off ... any suggestions of how to tackle this? is this a bug?
The wikiposts use wiki markup, not bb code, FYI.
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 18, 4:39 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South East England
Programs: BA Exec Club; U2 Flight Club; Hilton Honors; IHG
Posts: 508
Thanks, but the wiki markup described here:

https://www.flyertalk.com/wiki/index.php/Wiki_markup

suggests using the 'pipe' character for tables, but I have found it impossible to make a post using that character? what am I doing wrong? Is this a browser specific thing?
memesweeper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 18, 10:47 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South East England
Programs: BA Exec Club; U2 Flight Club; Hilton Honors; IHG
Posts: 508
Originally Posted by memesweeper View Post
Is this a browser specific thing?
should have made it clear I used Chrome on Windows PC when I was trying this.
memesweeper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 18, 12:30 pm
  #8  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,837
Originally Posted by memesweeper View Post
Thanks, but the wiki markup described here:

https://www.flyertalk.com/wiki/index.php/Wiki_markup

suggests using the 'pipe' character for tables, but I have found it impossible to make a post using that character? what am I doing wrong? Is this a browser specific thing?
Probably avoiding esoteric characters is better, since they may not always be supported.
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 19, 9:07 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Programs: UA GS, Marriott/SPG Amb, Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 770
Originally Posted by IBobi View Post
Probably avoiding esoteric characters is better, since they may not always be supported.
But the Wiki Markup documentation linked here specifically says to use the pipe character

I even tried copying the exact example from the docs, which looks similar to this:


Code:
{ border="1" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="3"
+ Caption
! Header 1 !! Header 2
-
Cell 1 Cell 2
}
However both in this post (when I try to paste the sample code) and when I try to actually make a table in a wikipost, the pipe characters get stripped out. I tried both Safari and Chrome.
getagb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 19, 8:50 am
  #10  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,627
Originally Posted by getagb View Post
But the Wiki Markup documentation linked here specifically says to use the pipe character

I even tried copying the exact example from the docs, which looks similar to this:


Code:
{ border="1" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="3"
+ Caption
! Header 1 !! Header 2
-
Cell 1 Cell 2
}
However both in this post (when I try to paste the sample code) and when I try to actually make a table in a wikipost, the pipe characters get stripped out. I tried both Safari and Chrome.
Tables are not currently supported in vBulletin due to a previous update. However, there is a team working on restoring this compatibility/functionality.
IBJoel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 19, 6:01 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Programs: UA GS, Marriott/SPG Amb, Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 770
Originally Posted by IBJoel View Post
Tables are not currently supported in vBulletin due to a previous update. However, there is a team working on restoring this compatibility/functionality.
Thanks. Possible to update the docs saying this? I spent a lot of pointless time trying to get it to work as the docs described.
JDiver likes this.
getagb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 19, 11:50 am
  #12  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,837
Originally Posted by getagb View Post


Thanks. Possible to update the docs saying this? I spent a lot of pointless time trying to get it to work as the docs described.
Great idea, @IBJoel
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 19, 12:01 pm
  #13  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,627
I have added a note that tables are not currently functioning for wikiposts.
IBJoel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 19, 1:03 pm
  #14  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 1,627
Originally Posted by getagb View Post


Thanks. Possible to update the docs saying this? I spent a lot of pointless time trying to get it to work as the docs described.
We discovered a workaround: by going to "Source" at the top of the text editor, and typing/pasting & # 1 2 4 ; (without spaces), you can create a pipe character. |||
EDIT: I'll include this in the documentation.
JDiver likes this.

Last edited by IBJoel; Aug 13, 19 at 1:10 pm
IBJoel is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread