Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > Star Alliance
Reload this Page >

UA unable to see Star Gold (AC) status this year

UA unable to see Star Gold (AC) status this year

Old Mar 10, 03, 12:35 am
  #1  
Original Member
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Canada
Programs: AC SE 2MM, HH Dd, SPG; IC Pl/A; AA; DL
Posts: 13,979
UA unable to see Star Gold (AC) status this year

I just was doing some upgrading and trying to get econo plus seats on UA flights and the agent could not get my Star Gold status on AC to show. He even phoned AC to check who confirmed it was correct in their system.

Anyone else have similar problems on AC or other carrier's not being able to see status?

------------------

Blonde Bomber's Star Lounge Guide
BlondeBomber's Star Alliance Gold Comparison Chart 2003
Dorian's Star Alliance RTW Price Chart
Hilton HHonors Rewards Hotel Levels

The FT Get Together Index
BlondeBomber is offline  
Old Mar 10, 03, 3:31 am
  #2  
Company Representative - Air Canada
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 24,215
They have to enter it correctly. If they can't see your Star Gold status - that usually means that your points won't post. Some nice agents will ask the supervisor to open up the E+ seat map and assign you a seat in there, but if the system doesn't recognize you as *G, it will sometimes put you back in E- or no seat assignment before departure date. All the above have happened to me before.

Have you tried calling a second agent?
Andrew Yiu is offline  
Old Mar 10, 03, 8:26 am
  #3  
Original Member
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Canada
Programs: AC SE 2MM, HH Dd, SPG; IC Pl/A; AA; DL
Posts: 13,979
I'll give that a shot but this agent checked it on two separate itineraries. How does a UA agent see Star Gold status when looking at his computer?

The agent did override the system for seat assignments and said that I would be put in priority for one of the segments I am upgrading.
BlondeBomber is offline  
Old Mar 10, 03, 8:27 am
  #4  
Original Member
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Canada
Programs: AC SE 2MM, HH Dd, SPG; IC Pl/A; AA; DL
Posts: 13,979
Even more disturbing was the SE desk said, "you can't see Star Gold status". I asked how the system can give you priority waitlisting and other star gold benefits then . . .

They will check into it.
BlondeBomber is offline  
Old Mar 10, 03, 9:39 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Programs: LH SEN, FB Plat, Hyatt Dia, HHonors Dia, PC Plat
Posts: 782
I`m having the same problems with my LH SEN status not being recognized in their system by United...
connex2me is offline  
Old Mar 10, 03, 4:03 pm
  #6  
Original Member
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Canada
Programs: AC SE 2MM, HH Dd, SPG; IC Pl/A; AA; DL
Posts: 13,979
Maybe UA hasn't been paying their computer bills and this is part of the service reduction
BlondeBomber is offline  
Old Mar 10, 03, 5:54 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,645
SAS at ARN did recognize my AC Elite status this last saturday when I was checking in for ARN-LIN.
kempis is offline  
Old Mar 10, 03, 6:43 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: HKG
Posts: 561
Check in at YVR (AC) said yesterday "oh, you are no longer Superelite!"

I suggested they better double-check - and a few minutes later I was again SE and on my way. ("Oh, it does happen you know")

Exciting for those few minutes though.

[This message has been edited by Eric the half a bee (edited 03-10-2003).]
Eric the half a bee is offline  
Old Mar 10, 03, 7:54 pm
  #9  
Original Member
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Canada
Programs: AC SE 2MM, HH Dd, SPG; IC Pl/A; AA; DL
Posts: 13,979
Good to see it worked out for you EHTB! (good to see you in HKG too).
BlondeBomber is offline  
Old Mar 13, 03, 1:50 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Oslo, NOR
Programs: SK*G
Posts: 92
UA had me as AC star gold before i had time to think about it when dealing with them in tokyo. ... (this was when my ac-status had had issues on earlier flights just prior to this)
jebediah is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: