Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Southwest Airlines | Rapid Rewards
Reload this Page >

Does a full size cello fit in the overhead bin?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 13, 2014, 9:53 pm
Original Poster

Would rather not have to check the instrument, nor do I want to purchase an extra ticket. Has anyone had any experience with a cello fitting in the overhead bin for both older and newer aircrafts on WN?
Old Dec 13, 2014, 10:07 pm

I have no experience, but would be very doubtful. I have a friend who is a cellist and he always buys his instrument a seat.
Old Dec 13, 2014, 10:53 pm

Would rather not check my carry on luggage just so some selfish person can take up an entire overhead bin.
Old Dec 14, 2014, 5:39 am

Programs: WN Nothing and spending the half million points from too many flights, Hilton Diamond
This is specifically covered in the CoC:

Purchase of Additional Seat.
The purchase of more than one seat for use by a single Passenger is required when necessary to transport large musical instruments or electronic audio/video, medical, or otherwise sensitive equipment unsuitable for Carriage as Checked Baggage, as specified in Article 7
And then there is this from the web site with cellos specifically mentioned:

Musical Instruments

If your instrument does not meet the sizing requirements for carryon items (10"x16"x24"), it will be handled as checked baggage provided you do not wish to purchase a seat for the instrument.
In the event you are traveling with a musical instrument that is larger than our sizing requirements for carryon luggage and is fragile in nature, you may purchase a seat for the instrument and carry it in the cabin under the following conditions:
The instrument must fit in the seat without blocking aircraft signage and be secured with a seatbelt.
The instrument must be placed in the first row and in a seat closer to the window than any other Customer in that row.