Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > South
Reload this Page >

Cheap Business travel out of Charlotte???

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 15, 2002, 1:41 pm
Original Poster

Hello all!!!

I'm a board newbie and also a new business owner. In my past life my company always paid full fare out of Charlotte so cost was not a big beal to me. Now that I am paying the bill it's a different story!!!!

Is there any way to beat the USairway lock on Charlotte or am I doomed to drive to Atlanta or Greensboro to fly anywhere for less than $1,000 per trip??

Thanks for the help

Kyle
Old Apr 15, 2002, 1:56 pm

Location: Texas AA EXP 4.5 mm, United Gold, Marriott Plt, Hilton Diamond
everyone I know drives to Greensboro, because of the expense associated with CLT.......

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.....

------------------
AA member since 1981
Old Apr 15, 2002, 2:41 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Very recent conversation in US-Land:
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/Forum51/HTML/002497.html
Old Sep 19, 2002, 5:39 pm

Programs: UA, Marriott, Starwood, et al
Also consider Greenville-Spartanburg (about 60-70 miles SW on I-85). DL and US probably still have the most flights, but I think it is also served by UA, AA, CO, and NW. Thus, there is a higher level of competition than at CLT where US dominates. However, many of the carriers have substituted regional jets for full jets. And there are still a number of prop plane flights, so be aware if the equip. matters.

[This message has been edited by TRRed (edited 09-19-2002).]
Old Sep 19, 2002, 9:34 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: DL DM/2MM, UA MM, BV LT Titanium, HH Diamond
Search the Delta and Continental boards for Cigarman. He flies out of CLT more than anybody else on the boards and can likely give you more than a few pointers if you send him an e-mail. Just don't mention that I sent you.

[This message has been edited by monitor (edited 09-19-2002).]
Old Sep 21, 2002, 1:31 pm