Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > SkyTeam
Reload this Page >

elite plus on skyteam flight not allowed into KLM lounge (Wien / Vienna)

elite plus on skyteam flight not allowed into KLM lounge (Wien / Vienna)

Reply

Old Mar 15, 11, 3:53 pm
  #31  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Italy
Programs: AZ CFP (ST E+), BA Silver
Posts: 1,945
Originally Posted by GenevaFlyer View Post
That is the key difference ... your operating carrier has a contract with a lounge. Would you be flying on a different Skyteam airline, that contract would not apply.
Again not true in my experience. Many times AF or KL issued me a lounge invite to a contracted lounge on the base of my E+ card with AZ.

Not a published benefit but definitely worth a try
raistlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 11, 4:26 am
  #32  
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: UA Plat MM, Hilton Gold, Hyatt Explorist, IHG Plat, Marriott Titanium Elite
Posts: 5,012
Originally Posted by raistlin View Post
Again not true in my experience. Many times AF or KL issued me a lounge invite to a contracted lounge on the base of my E+ card with AZ.

Not a published benefit but definitely worth a try
Not true? The Skyteam rules still provide for no lounge access to a non-Skyteam lounge unless YOU have Elite Plus status with the OPERATING carrier and that carrier has a contract with the lounge. You were just lucky if you got an invite (unless you were flying in business or first).
DCBob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 11, 10:45 am
  #33  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Italy
Programs: AZ CFP (ST E+), BA Silver
Posts: 1,945
Originally Posted by DCBob View Post
Not true? The Skyteam rules still provide for no lounge access to a non-Skyteam lounge unless YOU have Elite Plus status with the OPERATING carrier and that carrier has a contract with the lounge. You were just lucky if you got an invite (unless you were flying in business or first).
I was lucky a number of times, then. As I said: not a published benefit, but definitely worth trying to ask.
raistlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 11, 3:52 am
  #34  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SUX
Programs: BA Silver; HHonors Gold; SPG Gold; Points but dirt with everyone else
Posts: 8,049
Originally Posted by DCBob View Post
Not true? The Skyteam rules still provide for no lounge access to a non-Skyteam lounge unless YOU have Elite Plus status with the OPERATING carrier and that carrier has a contract with the lounge. You were just lucky if you got an invite (unless you were flying in business or first).
Reference for this? DL's site pretty clearly says that if you're GM/PM/DM and flying a ST-operated international flight you have access to the full list of lounges they show, and the list includes a number of contract lounges. I wouldn't be surprised if DL is wrong on this, but it would be nice to see an official statement. (For instance, when flying AZ from TLV, would my DL card have worked at the DAN lounge? I used my PP card since I didn't have my GM card yet, but from what DL has posted, I should have been able to get in based on DL status.)
mtkeller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 11, 6:13 am
  #35  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DWC/DXB
Programs: FB Silver, MR Platinum (Life), EK Silver, DL, UA Premier, BA, HH Gold, A3 *Silver
Posts: 3,048
Originally Posted by mtkeller View Post
Reference for this? DL's site pretty clearly says that if you're GM/PM/DM and flying a ST-operated international flight you have access to the full list of lounges they show, and the list includes a number of contract lounges. I wouldn't be surprised if DL is wrong on this, but it would be nice to see an official statement. (For instance, when flying AZ from TLV, would my DL card have worked at the DAN lounge? I used my PP card since I didn't have my GM card yet, but from what DL has posted, I should have been able to get in based on DL status.)
DCBob is referring to flights marketed by Skyteam, but not operated by Skyteam, which very much matches your quote from the DL website.

AZ being a Skyteam member, and operating your flight, you would normally have lounge access. However, as per the statement on contract lounges, you could be excluded at a location where the Skyteam carrier does not have their own lounge. (For example, back when CO was part of Skyteam, they would not provide lounge access to Skyteam Elite+ in GVA as they were using a contract lounge)

Cheers,

GenevaFlyer
GenevaFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 13, 9:52 pm
  #36  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Programs: DL PM, IHG Gold
Posts: 150
So as ST E+ from DL, is there a lounge to use at VIE?
tony is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 13, 10:14 pm
  #37  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 77,915
Originally Posted by tony View Post
So as ST E+ from DL, is there a lounge to use at VIE?
Have you tried to check using the drop down menu on delta.dumb? Have you looked at the SkyTeam lounge list on their website, IIRC as a link to a pdf?
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread