Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Singapore Airlines | KrisFlyer
Reload this Page >

Should I pay extra just to obtain the PPS Status?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 26, 2024, 3:05 am
Original Poster

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to the FF programs as I am a casual traveller. I only travel internationally approx. 2-3 times a year in J Class so I typically don't pay much attention to miles/points for FF status.

After reviewing my bookings, I've noticed that I've accrued $18K in PPS value already, and I have another trip scheduled for late March valued at $5.7K. This leaves me $1.3K short of reaching the PPS Status. The PPS value is valid until August, but I don't anticipate traveling again until October or November.

I'm in a bit of a dilemma about whether it's worth spending the extra money to gain the PPS status, considering my travel frequency? (Ps. My plan was to upgrade from J Class to F Class to make up the difference.)

Any thoughts will be much appreciated. Thanks!
Old Feb 26, 2024, 3:56 am

Upgrade from J to F would probably cost you >1.3k but it could be worth it.

But if you are truly a casual traveler then you won't really benefit much regardless
fakecd likes this.
Old Feb 26, 2024, 5:41 am

Programs: QF Emerald. SQ Gold.
if you have financial standing and liberty to pay F just for sake of PPS i would say go for it. Whilst hard benefits is of little value (sounds you travel Revenue J casually) in times of IRROPS that status will save you more than those without.
Singapore_Air likes this.
Old Feb 26, 2024, 10:25 am

Programs: SQ:TPPS, Marriott: Titanium
Seriously it’s only worth it if SQ is REALLY your go to airlines (remember flights on other *A flights do not count toward PPS value). It tend to force you to stick to SQ even if you can find something better (in service and price) somewhere else.

Last edited by williamluk; Feb 26, 2024 at 10:42 am
Old Feb 26, 2024, 6:15 pm

Nope.