Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Europe > Russia
Reload this Page >

Transit without visa but returning to the same country

Transit without visa but returning to the same country

Old Jan 30, 16, 12:21 pm
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: MMX (CPH)
Programs: AY+ Platinum, A3*G, Eurobonus silver (!), Nordic Choice Platinum, Liberokerho GOLD
Posts: 10,469
Transit without visa but returning to the same country

I'm looking to transit at LED, with a stop of less than 24 hours. Transit without visa should apply.

However, a transit usually is defined as arriving from one country and departing to another country. Would there be an issue at LED if onward ticket is to the same country as I arrived from?

Some countries (eg China) is extremely careful with the "departing to another country" for their TWOV.
intuition is offline  
Old Jan 30, 16, 12:28 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,599
Have you looked at the rules on TIMATIC?
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Jan 30, 16, 12:48 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: MMX (CPH)
Programs: AY+ Platinum, A3*G, Eurobonus silver (!), Nordic Choice Platinum, Liberokerho GOLD
Posts: 10,469
I don't have timatic access since staralliance.com updated their website and removed every useful tool...
iatatravelcentre.com lists only one rule for TWOV in my case and that is

"Passengers transiting only are exempt from holding a visa when: Holders of onward tickets for a max. transit time of 24 hours."

-- Added
So it still boils down to "are you in transit if you depart for the same country you arrived from"?

Last edited by intuition; Jan 30, 16 at 12:55 pm
intuition is offline  
Old Jan 30, 16, 9:44 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Asia/Europe
Programs: CX, OZ, MU (+AY, DL), Shangri-La, Hilton
Posts: 7,187
Just get a visa and be done with it. I would never, ever travel to Russia without a valid entry document. regardless of any "official exceptions"
mosburger is offline  
Old Jan 31, 16, 10:58 pm
  #5  
a7m
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York City
Programs: Alaska Gold. SU Silver.
Posts: 295
Originally Posted by intuition View Post
Would there be an issue at LED if onward ticket is to the same country as I arrived from?

Some countries (eg China) is extremely careful with the "departing to another country" for their TWOV.
What country would it be? And what airline? What can happen at LED is actually not as relevant as what the carrier will say when you are about to board the plane. You'll have to argue with the airline, which is not likely to let you fly to Russia. But that's what usually happens. Perhaps if you answer the questions above, you get better responses.
a7m is offline  
Old Jan 31, 16, 11:50 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PSP & ZQN
Programs: UA 1K (2MM),AS MVP Gold 75K, AA Exec Plat, BA Gold, DL Plat Medallion, MH Enrich Platinum
Posts: 1,554
Just had same on Dec 28 on United Airlines ticket.
IAH-MUC-LED-MUC - per Embassy rules and Timatic and United, no visa needed.

My United flight was late from IAH and had to abandon MUC-LED-MUC.
zebranz is offline  
Old Feb 1, 16, 12:05 am
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,599
Originally Posted by intuition View Post
I don't have timatic access since staralliance.com updated their website and removed every useful tool...
iatatravelcentre.com lists only one rule for TWOV in my case and that is

"Passengers transiting only are exempt from holding a visa when: Holders of onward tickets for a max. transit time of 24 hours."

-- Added
So it still boils down to "are you in transit if you depart for the same country you arrived from"?
There's a link to TIMATIC on the SkyTeam website, among other possibilities.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Feb 1, 16, 12:50 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: MMX (CPH)
Programs: AY+ Platinum, A3*G, Eurobonus silver (!), Nordic Choice Platinum, Liberokerho GOLD
Posts: 10,469
Originally Posted by a7m View Post
What country would it be? And what airline? What can happen at LED is actually not as relevant as what the carrier will say when you are about to board the plane. ...
Original idea for routing would be HEL-LED-HEL-xxx, all on AY. I also have the option of routing RIX-LED on BT (or ARN-LED on SK), then continue LED-HEL-xxx on AY. In all cases I will be holding an onward ticket, with departure within 24h.

What happens at LED is very relevant to me. If the airline refuses to board me, then so be it. No harm done. If Russian authorities refuses me onwards travel from LED, then harm done.



Originally Posted by zebranz View Post
Just had same on Dec 28 on United Airlines ticket.
IAH-MUC-LED-MUC - per Embassy rules and Timatic and United, no visa needed.

My United flight was late from IAH and had to abandon MUC-LED-MUC.
Exactly the kind of experience I was looking for. To bad you didn't get to fly the last part.

Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
There's a link to TIMATIC on the SkyTeam website, among other possibilities.
Thanks - by the look of the answer provided by that service, the one I used is also powered by timatic. Identical answer, and no mention of transit to third country.

Originally Posted by TIMATIC web
Russian Federation - Transit Visa

Visa required.

Transiting without a visa is possible for:

Holders of onward tickets for a max. transit time of 24 hours.

There are no transit facilities available at Khabarovsk (KHV), Krasnodar (KRR), Yuzhno Sakhalinsk (UUS) and Vladivostok (VVO). Passengers are required to clear Immigration and Customs.
In the old version of timatic that was available on staralliance, I remeber there used to be a footnote defining a transit as a travel to third country.
intuition is offline  
Old Feb 1, 16, 1:00 am
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,599
IIRC using the SkyTeam TIMATIC link, clicking on something like the word transit leads to a definition which is totally irrelevant (and confusing) for TWOV as it applies in mainland China.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Feb 1, 16, 1:35 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: MMX (CPH)
Programs: AY+ Platinum, A3*G, Eurobonus silver (!), Nordic Choice Platinum, Liberokerho GOLD
Posts: 10,469
That is exactly how I remembered it, but this version (timaticWeb2) is embedded in the site and has no footnotes or definition links.
intuition is offline  
Old Feb 1, 16, 3:45 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Moscow
Programs: Marriott Plat, IHG Plat Amb
Posts: 1,100
I don't think the Russian authorities would bother with checking that you're not "transiting" to the same country that you've just arrived from. However, the airline might.
Anyway, RIX-LED-HEL-xxx seems like a perfectly legal (and reasonable) transit route.
Temedar is offline  
Old Dec 19, 18, 9:05 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: ZRH
Programs: Miles&More Silver, Skyteam Gold
Posts: 31
Any updates or recent experiences on this topic?
RJ1H is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread