Transferring through DME

Reply

Old Dec 23, 13, 2:45 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco
Programs: United 1K, Marriott: Platinum, CC: Gold, PC: Gold
Posts: 220
Transferring through DME

Hi,
I have some upcoming flights on AirBerlin DUS > DME and then on S7 from DME > KBP.

From what I can see, in DME the flights arrive and leave from Terminal A. I am a US citizen with a US passport and am trying to confirm I will be able to transfer through DME without a Visa.

From what I can find, it seems I should be OK as I am only in DME for 3 hours (<24 hours). Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
timetosave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 13, 1:31 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: HKG/AMM/LED/LHR
Programs: RJ Emerald
Posts: 2,069
Yes,should not be a problem at all,just follow signs to "Transfer",reclear security and in 5 minutes you will be back airside.

PS As a AA EXP you are entitled to access S7 Airlines business lounge (its quite basic,but better than nothing),you are also entitled to choose the emergency exit row seats,and bulkhead row seats.
Rami Tamimi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 13, 1:21 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Internet
Programs: Alaska Mileage Plan
Posts: 674
I did this a few months ago when I visited Armenia. It works fine with a US passport and no visa. When you get off your flight, you'll come into a big room with transfer desks and a seldom operating currency exchange. The transfer area is on your left-hand side and behind you a bit as you come out of the hallway.

There is no possibility to buy any Russian rubles once you go into the transit area. Usually there is no possibility beforehand either, but you might want to see whether you can get some before you go through if you'll have a long transit. If you use a credit card in Russia, it can send up a lot of fraud alerts.

When airBerlin checks you in, they will print boarding times on your S7 boarding pass. These are NOT correct! You need to be at the gate much earlier! This is because S7 uses bus gates for many of their flights, and the boarding time is much longer. You do NOT want to be stranded in Moscow with no visa and no way out so be sure to get to the gate early and don't miss your flight.

Although my long layover was not much fun, I was pretty pleased with the service on both airBerlin and S7. Have a nice flight!
TProphet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 14, 7:58 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Programs: Mucci, BA Gold, PS, HHonors Lifetime Diamond
Posts: 5,870
If you're in the S7 business lounge the staff will usually advise you when to proceed to the gate. There is a separate car for business class/status pax.
Andriyko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 14, 11:17 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,597
Question Baggage Handling at DME

I recall reports some years ago about checked-in bags getting ransacked at DME. Is that still an issue? Would it be advisable to wrap the bags in plastic?
MaxVO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 14, 1:45 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: LAX
Programs: AA PLT / 2MM
Posts: 1,645
Anyone with current info: A BA-->S7 7 hr layover at DME shouldn't be a problem w/o transit visa?
LAX_Esq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 14, 7:04 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ATL/MOO (Many Others Often)
Programs: DL DM (MM), SPG/Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, IHG Plat, LH Never Ever Again!
Posts: 2,445
Originally Posted by LAX_Esq View Post
Anyone with current info: A BA-->S7 7 hr layover at DME shouldn't be a problem w/o transit visa?
As long as you are heading on from DME to a country you either have a visa for or don't need one for you should not have a problem with anything under 24 hours that you have an onward ticket for.
woody125 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 14, 7:11 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: LAX
Programs: AA PLT / 2MM
Posts: 1,645
Originally Posted by woody125 View Post
As long as you are heading on from DME to a country you either have a visa for or don't need one for you should not have a problem with anything under 24 hours that you have an onward ticket for.
Thanks. I'm going to ASB. I have a LOI from my tour agency which will allow me to get a visa on arrival at the airport. Will the DME authorities give me trouble, and is there additional paperwork I should get?
LAX_Esq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 14, 8:23 am
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 78,658
Originally Posted by LAX_Esq View Post
Anyone with current info: A BA-->S7 7 hr layover at DME shouldn't be a problem w/o transit visa?
Be careful and check if your destination was part of the Soviet Union. There are some parts of the FSU that require transit visas to change planes in Moscow, or at least this used to be the case for transit at SVO.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 14, 9:21 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: LAX
Programs: AA PLT / 2MM
Posts: 1,645
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Be careful and check if your destination was part of the Soviet Union. There are some parts of the FSU that require transit visas to change planes in Moscow, or at least this used to be the case for transit at SVO.
Hmm; interesting. Destination is ASB, which is part of the FSU. Any idea how to find accurate info on whether this applies?
LAX_Esq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 14, 11:25 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Moscow
Programs: Marriott Plat, IHG Plat Amb
Posts: 1,030
Originally Posted by LAX_Esq View Post
Hmm; interesting. Destination is ASB, which is part of the FSU. Any idea how to find accurate info on whether this applies?
Does not apply to ASB as Turkmenistan is not a member of the Customs Union or similar organizations.
Countries affected are Belarus (flights are considered domestic, Russian transit visa required at all times) and Kazakhstan (though some flights depart from international terminals, I'm almost sure that a visa will be also required).
Temedar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 14, 2:12 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: LAX
Programs: AA PLT / 2MM
Posts: 1,645
Originally Posted by Temedar View Post
Does not apply to ASB as Turkmenistan is not a member of the Customs Union or similar organizations.
Countries affected are Belarus (flights are considered domestic, Russian transit visa required at all times) and Kazakhstan (though some flights depart from international terminals, I'm almost sure that a visa will be also required).
Very helpful. So I take it that OSS (Osh, KG) is okay? (S7-->S7 connection OSS-DME-HEL). I'll be flying into ASB and out of OSS, both with layovers in DME.
LAX_Esq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 14, 4:40 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Moscow
Programs: Marriott Plat, IHG Plat Amb
Posts: 1,030
Right, flights to Kyrgyzstan are also arriving/departing to/from the international side of the airport and no visa is required for transit. However, this might change in the future IF the country joins the customs union (no date set as far as I know).
Temedar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 14, 4:35 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: LAX
Programs: AA PLT / 2MM
Posts: 1,645
Thanks for all the advice. So, I'm ticketed from DUS-DME-ASB. I want to make sure I don't get problems boarding a flight to DME and/or arriving in DME. I have the Turkmenistan Letter of Invitation (LOI) from the government, but the visa is on arrival at ASB. Would this be sufficient? Should I request anything else from the Turkmenistan travel company I'm working with?
LAX_Esq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 14, 5:22 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ATL/MOO (Many Others Often)
Programs: DL DM (MM), SPG/Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, IHG Plat, LH Never Ever Again!
Posts: 2,445
Originally Posted by LAX_Esq View Post
Thanks for all the advice. So, I'm ticketed from DUS-DME-ASB. I want to make sure I don't get problems boarding a flight to DME and/or arriving in DME. I have the Turkmenistan Letter of Invitation (LOI) from the government, but the visa is on arrival at ASB. Would this be sufficient? Should I request anything else from the Turkmenistan travel company I'm working with?
Is that LOI in Russian? That could matter once you get to DME and might even in DUS.
woody125 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread