Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Car Rental Programs and Ride Services > Rental Car Discussion
Reload this Page >

Foreigner will rent from Avis LAX...no taxes & fees?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 11, 2019, 4:25 am
Original Poster

I will be in L.A. in June and have booked a minivan with Avis.com (I declared I am a resident of another country). My booking included the LDW and 3rd party liability which I am happy for. For taxes & fees (airport concession fees), it was zero.
Will Avis surprise me and charge me these taxes & fees when I pick up my car? Or they will honor whatever the total is on my booking confirmation?
Old Mar 11, 2019, 4:29 am
Suspended

Programs: UA 1K
Odd, since these fees have nothing to do with residency. I would not be surprised if these fees suddenly popped up when you collect the car. How did you book it?
Old Mar 11, 2019, 4:34 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by LondonElite
Odd, since these fees have nothing to do with residency. I would not be surprised if these fees suddenly popped up when you collect the car. How did you book it?
I went to Avis.com and it had a drop down box where it asks for your Residency. I picked my country. I continued on with the booking and 'taxes and fees' was zero.
They sent me a confirmation email and again the 'taxes and fees' was zero. I am a bit wary so I came here to ask if anybody has had a similar experience.
Old Mar 11, 2019, 4:37 am
Suspended

Maybe you'll get lucky!
Old Mar 11, 2019, 6:03 am
Company Representative - AutoSlash and HotelSlash