Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Qantas | Frequent Flyer
Reload this Page >

Best Business Class Seat for US-->OZ travel? A380 vs. 789

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 12, 2023, 8:16 pm
Used to be 'g_leyser'
Original Poster

Location: Brandon Johnson International Airport (expect delays)
Programs: AA PlatPro, HH Gold, Bonvoy Gold, IHG Plat, Reno Air MEGA Platinum

Qantas noob here, so apologies if this is a basic question:

Is there a strong preference here for A380-800 vs. 787-900 for business class between US and Australia?
I have read about some major reliability issues with the A380 - is that still a problem? Are the seats otherwise comparable for two people traveling together?

Exact routing is SEA-HBA, so trying to decide between LAX-MEL or LAX-SYD for the long flight. Not really considering DFW at this point, nor LAX-BNE on the 332 as do not want to fly BNE-HBA on an Embraer vs. a mainline QF option from MEL/SYD. Transiting in MEL vs. SYD seems comparable, unless I'm missing something. Please enlighten me if I am!
Old Oct 12, 2023, 9:50 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by aisleorwindow
Qantas noob here, so apologies if this is a basic question:

Is there a strong preference here for A380-800 vs. 787-900 for business class between US and Australia?
I have read about some major reliability issues with the A380 - is that still a problem? Are the seats otherwise comparable for two people traveling together?

Exact routing is SEA-HBA, so trying to decide between LAX-MEL or LAX-SYD for the long flight. Not really considering DFW at this point, nor LAX-BNE on the 332 as do not want to fly BNE-HBA on an Embraer vs. a mainline QF option from MEL/SYD. Transiting in MEL vs. SYD seems comparable, unless I'm missing something. Please enlighten me if I am!
Definitely missing something on SYD MEL transits.