Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Qantas | Frequent Flyer
Reload this Page >

Earn Status with Qantas Whilst Using BA Benefits?

Earn Status with Qantas Whilst Using BA Benefits?

Old Feb 8, 11, 2:42 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Programs: BA Gold, SPG Platinum, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 3,810
Earn Status with Qantas Whilst Using BA Benefits?

I've recently moved over to Australia for work and have status with BA (Silver/ OW Sapphire/QF Gold). All of my recent flights have been with Qantas so I have looked at joining their FF program. However, as my BA Silver membership is the equal in Oneworld status to QF Gold I am reluctant to forego my benefits (lounge access etc) to build up my Qantas status. Therefore, is it possible in any way, shape or form to collect points on my QFF account but use my BA card to access the lounges at the same time?
matthandy is offline  
Old Feb 8, 11, 5:57 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: MEL
Programs: QF WP, VA, AA
Posts: 1,466
As in operate a QFF account and credit flights to it, but use your existing BA status/Silver Card to access QF lounges at the same time? Absolutely.

There are credit cards out there (I don't know which is best) that will accummulate to QFF also.
tuapekastar is offline  
Old Feb 8, 11, 4:07 pm
  #3  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Portland OR Double Emerald (QF and AA), DL PM/MM, Starwood Plat
Posts: 19,509
This has been covered in depth several times now on FT, QF allows entry of at least 4 different FF numbers into all QF bookings, which includes the 2 that you are interested in (BA for status, QF for accrual). Most Oneworld airlines also allow these 2 (however agents aren't so familiar with the process). Even without having BA number in the booking, you can easily get lounge access by showing the BAEC card.
number_6 is offline  
Old Feb 8, 11, 6:31 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Programs: AAdvantage EXP
Posts: 1,482
The reason to put two numbers into the booking would be mostly I think to avail yourself of better preallocated seating.

What I would suggest though is that if this becomes a problem or is overly complex then preallocate seating and at check in ask them to change the FF number.

All other benefits can be availed by flashing the card...
simongr is offline  
Old Feb 8, 11, 10:58 pm
  #5  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Portland OR Double Emerald (QF and AA), DL PM/MM, Starwood Plat
Posts: 19,509
Status has lots of other benefits: upgrades (paid) priority, op-up priority, irrop priority, status visible to cabin crew (sometimes worthwhile) ... and it is free, so why not do it? None of these benefits are available by flashing a card (or are too late).
number_6 is offline  
Old Feb 9, 11, 1:18 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Programs: BA Gold, SPG Platinum, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 3,810
Thanks for all of the helpful info. I'll try changing my FF number in the lounge on my next flight.
matthandy is offline  
Old Feb 9, 11, 11:37 pm
  #7  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Portland OR Double Emerald (QF and AA), DL PM/MM, Starwood Plat
Posts: 19,509
No, you don't change it, you add it, so both numbers are in the same PNR at the same time. This can be done by any agent at any time, so can be done on the phone after you book, for example, or at check-in. Silly to leave it until the lounge to add, and you definitely don't want to change it as that would affect accrual & status.
number_6 is offline  
Old Feb 10, 11, 6:50 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Sydney, Aus
Programs: QF WP, Starwood Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, Avis President's Club, Amex Platinum
Posts: 2,874
The point from this thread is that you should simply ask QF. Any of the phone agents can add both numbers.
ozzie is offline  
Old Feb 10, 11, 1:00 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Gold(OWE), QF LTG, MR Plat, IHG Spire, Hertz PC
Posts: 8,156
Originally Posted by number_6 View Post
This has been covered in depth several times now on FT, QF allows entry of at least 4 different FF numbers into all QF bookings, which includes the 2 that you are interested in (BA for status, QF for accrual). Most Oneworld airlines also allow these 2 (however agents aren't so familiar with the process). Even without having BA number in the booking, you can easily get lounge access by showing the BAEC card.
You really need to stop handing out misleading information.

Have you yet not noticed that the poster who made the statement has not even answered my challenge about the implementation part?

Whilst capturing 3 pieces of information and processing of this makes business sense (in respect to awards), considering QF's current setup, what value is it to process and utilise FQTS information? Why would QF want to reward someone crediting miles to another programme? The cost to report on this, nor even monitor this makes no sense. Just think how many pax actually put in different numbers against both FQTV and FQTS fields.

Just because a function exists in a system does not actually mean it has been implemented. SQ do have a reason to do this (PPS), but QF not. Many systems in place across various business often have functionality which is either not utilised at all or alternatively not properly implemented.

If the OP wants to get the benefits provided by their BA status, they broadly have two options:

1. Start using a QF number against all bookings and hand over their BA card to gain access to lounges

OR

2. Enter their BA numbers into their bookings when buying their fares, but change the flights to their QF numbers when either checking into their flights, doing so at the lounge, or finally at the gate.

If following this method it is strongly advised the OP seek a reprint of their boarding card showing the QF number against the flight. It should be noted that there are quite a number of reports of flights crediting to the original account accidentally, so option 2 should be used with caution.
Traveloguy is offline  
Old Feb 10, 11, 1:01 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Gold(OWE), QF LTG, MR Plat, IHG Spire, Hertz PC
Posts: 8,156
Originally Posted by number_6 View Post
This has been covered in depth several times now on FT, QF allows entry of at least 4 different FF numbers into all QF bookings, which includes the 2 that you are interested in (BA for status, QF for accrual). Most Oneworld airlines also allow these 2 (however agents aren't so familiar with the process). Even without having BA number in the booking, you can easily get lounge access by showing the BAEC card.
You really need to stop providing misleading posts like the above.

Have you yet not noticed that the poster who made the statement has not even answered my challenge about the implementation part?

Whilst capturing 3 pieces of information and processing of this makes business sense (in respect to awards), considering QF's current setup, what value is it to process and utilise FQTS information? Why would QF want to reward someone crediting miles to another programme? The cost to report on this, nor even monitor this makes no sense. Just think how many pax actually put in different numbers against both FQTV and FQTS fields.

Just because a function exists in a system does not actually mean it has been implemented. SQ do have a reason to do this (PPS), but QF not. Many systems in place across various business often have functionality which is either not utilised at all or alternatively not properly implemented.

If the OP wants to get the benefits provided by their BA status, they broadly have two options:

1. Start using a QF number against all bookings and hand over their BA card to gain access to lounges

OR

2. Enter their BA numbers into their bookings when buying their fares, but change the flights to their QF numbers when either checking into their flights, doing so at the lounge, or finally at the gate.

If following this method it is strongly advised the OP seek a reprint of their boarding card showing the QF number against the flight. It should be noted that there are quite a number of reports of flights crediting to the original account accidentally, so option 2 should be used with caution.
Traveloguy is offline  
Old Feb 10, 11, 1:46 pm
  #11  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Portland OR Double Emerald (QF and AA), DL PM/MM, Starwood Plat
Posts: 19,509
Originally Posted by Traveloguy View Post
You really need to stop handing out misleading information.
....
How is it misleading? I do this (2 FF numbers in same PNR), it works. Why do you insist that it does not? Some agents dont know how to enter it, mostly at LHR where it is usually a shambles, but otherwise it has worked flawlessly for the past few years now. Seems like a useful function and a good idea for QF to have implemented it. Now I use AA and not BAEC as the 2nd number, but that should not matter -- or are you saying that there is some BAEC problem that keeps it from working the same way as it does with AA?
number_6 is offline  
Old Feb 10, 11, 2:11 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Gold(OWE), QF LTG, MR Plat, IHG Spire, Hertz PC
Posts: 8,156
Originally Posted by number_6 View Post
How is it misleading? I do this (2 FF numbers in same PNR), it works. Why do you insist that it does not? Some agents dont know how to enter it, mostly at LHR where it is usually a shambles, but otherwise it has worked flawlessly for the past few years now. Seems like a useful function and a good idea for QF to have implemented it. Now I use AA and not BAEC as the 2nd number, but that should not matter -- or are you saying that there is some BAEC problem that keeps it from working the same way as it does with AA?
I suggest you re-read my post.
Traveloguy is offline  
Old Feb 10, 11, 2:41 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltonGold
Posts: 21,512
... Some agents dont know how to enter it ...
I think the problem is either:
  • They are are not trained to do this correctly (or remember how), or
  • There is a default 'easy' option in their systems and takes a lot more effort to enter numbers against the different codes.
serfty is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: