Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Qantas | Frequent Flyer
Reload this Page >

Advice re ff booking. Any help would be great!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 24, 2009, 8:46 am
Original Poster

Hi there. I'm pretty new at this, and would really appreciate some of your advice please fellow flyers!

I've made an award booking for my mother in late Dec:
Melbourne - Hong Kong, Hong Kong - Vancouver using my Qantas FF points.

Dep Melb 8am arr HK 3pm,
Dep HK 1am arr Vanc 8pm. Thus a 10 hour wait in HK!

There is a connecting flight HK - Vanc 4.45pm which I really want to get her on!
No ff seats however. Being peak/holiday period, of course everything is heavily booked up.

After checking with Qantas a few times for a seat, I called Cathay to ask if there are any X class seats on the connecting 4.45pm flight, but none available as expected.

Is it worth calling qantas every couple of days to see if a seat has become available through a cancellation, or should I just give up and move on...?!

Any suggestions please?
Many thanks, and happy travels!
Old Nov 24, 2009, 9:07 am

Programs: DL Diamond, HH Diamond, Avis First
Doesn't hurt to try, but it is really late in the game to be trying to book a late dec award flight. So best plan that you won't get it.
Old Nov 24, 2009, 9:13 am

Programs: Alaska MVPG 100K, IHG Ambassador, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Titanium
Originally Posted by BLBG
Any suggestions please?
Many thanks, and happy travels!
IMO, it doesn't hurt to call every few days to find availability, though HKG-YVR is extremely difficult to come by. I live in the West Coast so YVR/SFO/LAX will all work for me with YVR being the most direct route, but I have yet scored an award ticket with YVR on CX.