Does Sprint Have a "Minimum Stay" Requirement?

Old Sep 7, 03, 11:32 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Programs: UA, HH, SPG
Posts: 7,286
Does Sprint Have a "Minimum Stay" Requirement?

I thought I remembered reading somewhere that Sprint LD charges a fee if you switch away from them in less than 12 months. I did a search of the posts on Sprint but couldn't find it.

Since I am no longer getting any bonus miles, I would like to switch and put some bonus miles in another airline account, but I have only been with Sprint for about 8 months. Does anyone know if I will get hit with an extra fee? Thanks.
JerryFF is offline  
Old Sep 7, 03, 12:02 pm
  #2  
Moderator: Hilton Honors, Practical Travel Safety Issues & San Francisco
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Francisco CA
Programs: UA, Hilton, Starwood, Priceline
Posts: 10,555
since this is about Sprint...I am moving it to..you guessed it..SPRINT!


thanks for your cooperation

squeakr

Mod UAL
squeakr is offline  
Old Sep 9, 03, 9:49 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SAT, TX, USA
Posts: 103
I am currently earning UA miles with Sprint LD.

You have several choices (AS, HP, HA, YX, UA, US, & VA)
No matter who you choose, it's 6K miles.


http://shop.sprint.com/residential/voiceservices/airlines/airlines.jsp?bmUID=1063165 145343

[This message has been edited by relaxedPax (edited 09-09-2003).]
relaxedPax is offline  
Old Sep 10, 03, 11:31 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Programs: UA, HH, SPG
Posts: 7,286
Thanks, but I guess I didn't phrase my question clearly. I have already received my 6000 miles with UA and I am going to switch phone companies in order to get miles in another airline account, probably AT&T with AA.

I thought I remembered reading that if you switch away from Sprint to another LD phone company in less than 1 year, you have to pay a fee to Sprint for switching early. Is that correct?
JerryFF is offline  
Old Sep 13, 03, 1:05 pm
  #5  
Moderator: Credit Card Programs & Chase Ultimate Rewards
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Anywhere a good IPA is served!!
Programs: Too many to list
Posts: 10,137
I have switched from Sprint after 6 to 8 months and have never been charged a fee. Call them if you feel uncomfotable.

<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by JerryFF:
Thanks, but I guess I didn't phrase my question clearly. I have already received my 6000 miles with UA and I am going to switch phone companies in order to get miles in another airline account, probably AT&T with AA.

I thought I remembered reading that if you switch away from Sprint to another LD phone company in less than 1 year, you have to pay a fee to Sprint for switching early. Is that correct?
</font>
philemer is offline  
Old Sep 14, 03, 11:55 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Programs: UA, HH, SPG
Posts: 7,286
Thanks - I think I'll just go ahead and switch.
JerryFF is offline  
Old Sep 14, 03, 12:54 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 685
Sprint won't charge you a fee, but your telco (the one who provides you your local service) will. I switched from Sprint after less than a month because my local telco offered me a much better deal as part of a local package, Sprint charged me no fee, and my bonus miles posted 8 weeks later!
usoftie is offline  
Old Sep 15, 03, 9:33 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA, USA
Posts: 1,013
And when you switch, after hearing all the good things about your new plan from the salesrep, make sure to ask if they will cover the cost of the switch. They almost always give you something for that, but sometimes you need to ask in order to get it.
VolleyballFerd is offline  
Old Sep 15, 03, 6:30 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 7,903
To receive a $5 credit for switching, go to www.sprintbiz.com/redeem ,enter your customer # and Redemption Code EFA
Tenacious is offline  
Old Oct 12, 03, 8:42 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin
Programs: AA P4L, BA, DL, UA, HHonors, IHG
Posts: 3,379
When you switch away from Sprint, do you just call the new company and ask for service, or do you also need to call Sprint and tell them to cancel your account?

------------------
Middle_Seat
Middle_Seat is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread