Egyptair 787 or 777 Toronto

Old Jul 8, 20, 10:53 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE, WJ Gold, Bonvoy Titanium Ambassador
Posts: 117
Egyptair 787 or 777 Toronto

Hi,

Booking a flight from YYZ-CAI for next March, was wondering if anyone knows if Egpytair plans to move that flight from current 777 to 787 (believe was previously 787), if not is it worth going YYZ-IAD-CAI to avoid old 777 J seats ?

Thanks
NB_Falcon is offline  
Old Jul 9, 20, 7:30 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ORD
Programs: AA, UA, GE
Posts: 4,085
Originally Posted by NB_Falcon View Post
Hi,

Booking a flight from YYZ-CAI for next March, was wondering if anyone knows if Egpytair plans to move that flight from current 777 to 787 (believe was previously 787), if not is it worth going YYZ-IAD-CAI to avoid old 777 J seats ?

Thanks
I can't speak to the equipment that will be using from YYZ. But unless the airline only has one type of airframe used for long haul operations, there is always the chance of a last minute change. My wife and I flew MS last winter and we took the flights from/to JFK to get the 787 as opposed to the 777 out of YYZ. It was a pain as we did a co-terminal connection (ORD-LGA/JFK-CAI) to keep it on one UA award ticket. But we had a pleasant flight on the 787.
NB_Falcon likes this.
cheltzel is offline  
Old Jul 13, 20, 11:56 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Washington, D.C.
Programs: UA Premier 1K: PlAAtinum; DL SM, MM; Marriott Gold; CO Plat Emeritus; NW Plat Emeritus
Posts: 4,693
Originally Posted by cheltzel View Post
I can't speak to the equipment that will be using from YYZ. But unless the airline only has one type of airframe used for long haul operations, there is always the chance of a last minute change. My wife and I flew MS last winter and we took the flights from/to JFK to get the 787 as opposed to the 777 out of YYZ. It was a pain as we did a co-terminal connection (ORD-LGA/JFK-CAI) to keep it on one UA award ticket. But we had a pleasant flight on the 787.
Edited -- made a wrong statement because I spaced out that he's coming from a preclearance airport. My bad.

Last edited by Alpha Golf; Jul 14, 20 at 9:16 am
Alpha Golf is offline  
Old Jul 13, 20, 1:01 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ORD
Programs: AA, UA, GE
Posts: 4,085
Originally Posted by Alpha Golf View Post
There are no sterile international connections at Dulles, so you'd have to clear immigration/customs/security. To me not worth the hassle.
The OP is flying from YYZ, a CBP preclearance airport. Luggage should be checked through and no security clearance will be required. Flights form YYZ will arrive as if they arrive from a US domestic airport.
cheltzel is offline  
Old Jul 14, 20, 7:50 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NRT / HND
Programs: AA EXP, Former UA 1K
Posts: 4,476
Originally Posted by Alpha Golf View Post
There are no sterile international connections at Dulles, so you'd have to clear immigration/customs/security. To me not worth the hassle.
Originally Posted by cheltzel View Post
The OP is flying from YYZ, a CBP preclearance airport. Luggage should be checked through and no security clearance will be required. Flights form YYZ will arrive as if they arrive from a US domestic airport.
I'd assume too the OP would be coming back, so would still have to clear once in IAD and then again in YYZ and only their passport can determine how simple or less so that's likely to be. Canadian passport would be through in a few minutes, even better with NEXUS card, but if they are an Egyptian living in Canada then I'd probably avoid IAD it in that direction.

All that said, I think March is too early for widespread acceptance of flights from the US, while flights from Canada will likely be allowed fairly soon. At this point I'd worry about that a lot more than 777 vs 787.
dvs7310 is offline  
Old Jul 14, 20, 9:15 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Washington, D.C.
Programs: UA Premier 1K: PlAAtinum; DL SM, MM; Marriott Gold; CO Plat Emeritus; NW Plat Emeritus
Posts: 4,693
Originally Posted by cheltzel View Post
The OP is flying from YYZ, a CBP preclearance airport. Luggage should be checked through and no security clearance will be required. Flights form YYZ will arrive as if they arrive from a US domestic airport.
D'oh! My bad. It's been so long since I've seen a plane or an airport...
Alpha Golf is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: