Transfer at JED

Old Dec 9, 19, 2:23 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Taif, KSA
Programs: BA GGL, HH Diamond
Posts: 1,845
Transfer at JED

I'm flying back CAI-JED-TIF on Saturday. Iím due to arrive into the south terminal then depart from I terminal which Iím guessing is the new terminal. Is there a transit route/service from the south to the new terminal?
Jamier45 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 20, 6:22 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: AKL
Posts: 352
When you arrive at South Terminal, proceed up one level to the departure level and head to the drop off area. A bus stops a bit past the furthest door to your right as you exit. I don't think it's marked at all but it was an old, small (~25 seater) Japanese thing when I last did the transfer. There is usually someone who knows what's going on if you ask some of the guys hanging around looking like they're waiting for a bus.
ps107 is offline  
Old Jan 8, 20, 12:05 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: Flying Blue (plat), Miles&More, Best Western Rewards
Posts: 237
Originally Posted by ps107 View Post
When you arrive at South Terminal, proceed up one level to the departure level and head to the drop off area.
ps107, were you on an international to international transfer ? If so, does that mean you need a visa for such a connection ?
Nico40 is offline  
Old Jan 8, 20, 12:54 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: AKL
Posts: 352
Originally Posted by Nico40 View Post
ps107, were you on an international to international transfer ? If so, does that mean you need a visa for such a connection ?
It was international to domestic but I can't see any obvious way to transfer international to international between terminals without a visa. It was about 10-15 minutes by public highway between terminals. I had heard vague rumours it was possible to airside transfer between north and south terminals but it sounded like hard work and far from routine.

Even recent domestic to international transfer within the new terminal wasn't as straightforward as I would have hoped.

I highly recommend trying to transit in Riyadh rather than Jeddah if that's an option.

Last edited by ps107; Jan 8, 20 at 1:00 pm
ps107 is offline  
Old Jan 14, 20, 7:24 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: NBO,DXB,CMN,TXL,CDG
Programs: Flying Blue Platinum
Posts: 179
Piggy-backing on this thread as it seems to be the most recent one regarding transfers/transit at JED.

Does anyone have recent experience on sleeping arrangements that can be made at the terminal airside ? I have not been there for a while so I was wondering if the SV/Skyteam lounge now offers a sleeping area (if it was refurbished at all). Considering CDG-JED-NBO so unfortunately RUH not an option for me.

Thank you!
offvoice is offline  
Old Jan 15, 20, 12:45 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: AKL
Posts: 352
Originally Posted by offvoice View Post
Piggy-backing on this thread as it seems to be the most recent one regarding transfers/transit at JED.

Does anyone have recent experience on sleeping arrangements that can be made at the terminal airside ? I have not been there for a while so I was wondering if the SV/Skyteam lounge now offers a sleeping area (if it was refurbished at all). Considering CDG-JED-NBO so unfortunately RUH not an option for me.

Thank you!
For now it looks like you will arrive at South Terminal, and depart from T1 so I don't think you can stay airside (if that's a concern).

As far as I can tell there isn't an international lounge in T1 yet. There definitely wasn't when I was there in October last year. So your options for sleeping are likely floor or uncomfortable, hard seats with fixed armrests.



I would also suggest "going" on the plane


Last edited by ps107; Jan 15, 20 at 12:51 am
ps107 is offline  
Old Jan 15, 20, 1:19 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 88
Originally Posted by offvoice View Post
Piggy-backing on this thread as it seems to be the most recent one regarding transfers/transit at JED.

Does anyone have recent experience on sleeping arrangements that can be made at the terminal airside ? I have not been there for a while so I was wondering if the SV/Skyteam lounge now offers a sleeping area (if it was refurbished at all). Considering CDG-JED-NBO so unfortunately RUH not an option for me.

Thank you!
Can you do CDG-JED-NBO without a transit visa for Saudi Arabia because you are arriving at one terminal and departing from another one?
Topolino is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 2:37 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: OTP, CHQ, EIN and beyond
Programs: AF/KL platinum, Turkish gold, Aegean silver
Posts: 1,113
Originally Posted by Topolino View Post
Can you do CDG-JED-NBO without a transit visa for Saudi Arabia because you are arriving at one terminal and departing from another one?
Most nationalities can for layovers of up to 12 hours. There is an airside bus connection.
Romanianflyer is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: