Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > oneworld
Reload this Page >

xONEx question - through flight that transits country of origin

xONEx question - through flight that transits country of origin

Old Jan 30, 06, 9:36 pm
  #1  
Moderator, CoronaVirus and Hilton Honors
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: on a short leash
Programs: some
Posts: 71,263
xONEx question - through flight that transits country of origin

Hi

Can I do AKL-SYD-SCL-...-AKL? SYD-SCL is single flight number and will be ticketed single coupon. My TA says I cant do it due to the transit in AKL = more than one arrival and departure in country of origin.

Doesnt seem right to me - I certainly expected it to be allowed.

Can someone please confirm or point me to the relevant rule I can go back to TA on?

Thanks
Kiwi Flyer is offline  
Old Jan 30, 06, 10:19 pm
  #2  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: None any more
Posts: 11,015
I have certainly been allowed to do it in the past. I had a HKG originated DONE3 which ended LHR-MNL-HKG in the days when there was a BA flight LHR-MNL which stopped in Hong Kong. I would ask the TA to check with the issuing airline.
christep is offline  
Old Jan 30, 06, 10:58 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattExpl.►HiltonGold►ALL Silver
Posts: 21,724
With Kanebear's recent publishing of the rules there is nothing to indicate you can't do that. There is reference to single flight numbers between Australia AND Europe, but nothing between Auastralia and S/A.

There are references to the arrivals and departure limitation here:
Code:
113N . 4. 1 INTERNATIONAL DEPARTURE AND 1 INTERNATIONAL                         
114N .    ARRIVAL FROM/TO THE COUNTRY OF ORIGIN PERMITTED.                      
115N .    EXCEPTION - ORIGIN USA - 2 PERMITTED. 1 ARRIVAL-                      
116N .    DEPARTURE MUST BE A TRANSIT WITHOUT STOPOVER.                         
117N .    NOTE: TRAVEL BETWEEN THE U.S./CANADA IS NOT                           
118N .    COUNTED AS INTERNATIONAL ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE.
I would suggest getting a second opinion if possible. If not, perhaps you could start somewhere else?
serfty is offline  
Old Jan 31, 06, 12:06 am
  #4  
Moderator, CoronaVirus and Hilton Honors
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: on a short leash
Programs: some
Posts: 71,263
May not be all bad - while digging around the rules trying to find why this not allowed I came across an exception to 2 arrivals & departures to a continent for north america to/from south america. So I could instead route via US and get more SCs and points doing that (as long as I can make schedule to work).
Kiwi Flyer is offline  
Old Jan 31, 06, 12:50 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seat 1A
Programs: Non-status paid F/J (best value for $$$)
Posts: 4,090
I did YVR-JFK-HKG on CX (where the JFK-HKG flight was CX 889 and it stopped in YVR, but ticketed as JFK-HKG) and didn't have any problems.

I guess as long as the "stop" is not printed on the ticket then it would be ok.

(Note: YVR-JFK-YVR-HKG is not allowed)
daniellam is offline  
Old Jan 31, 06, 12:54 am
  #6  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: None any more
Posts: 11,015
{deleted}

Last edited by christep; Jan 31, 06 at 4:46 am
christep is offline  
Old Jan 31, 06, 1:00 am
  #7  
Moderator, CoronaVirus and Hilton Honors
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: on a short leash
Programs: some
Posts: 71,263
Isnt JFK-YVR a north america trans-continental? If so then cant do the round trip.
Kiwi Flyer is offline  
Old Jan 31, 06, 1:16 am
  #8  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: None any more
Posts: 11,015
Ah yes - OK - but I don't think that's the point that was being made.

To take another example, YVR-DFW-YVR-HKG would be perfectly OK as the start of an xONEn.
christep is offline  
Old Jan 31, 06, 3:48 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seat 1A
Programs: Non-status paid F/J (best value for $$$)
Posts: 4,090
Originally Posted by Kiwi Flyer
Isnt JFK-YVR a north america trans-continental? If so then cant do the round trip.
That is why you must either do YVR-JFK-HKG or HKG-JFK-YVR
daniellam is offline  
Old Jan 31, 06, 1:51 pm
  #10  
Moderator, CoronaVirus and Hilton Honors
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: on a short leash
Programs: some
Posts: 71,263
Qantas has relented and said I can do this now.

Thanks to every one who helped. Now I just need to decide if I stick with this (more convenient schedule) or use the north america transit en route to south america exception (a lot more SCs and points but much less convenient schedule).
Kiwi Flyer is offline  
Old Feb 1, 06, 9:18 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 25,224
Originally Posted by Kiwi Flyer
Isnt JFK-YVR a north america trans-continental? If so then cant do the round trip.
Yes, but routing YVR-JFK-(YVR)-HKG, on CX889 for the JFK-(YVR)-HKG leg is only one transcontinental flight. The fact that CX889 stops in YVR on the way from YVR to HKG is basically irrelevant; the ticket only shows YVR-JFK-HKG.
Similarly, one can do LAX-JFK-(LAX)-SYD flying QF108 on JFK-SYD.
ijgordon is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread