Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > oneworld
Reload this Page >

qatar flights disappearing from DONE 4

qatar flights disappearing from DONE 4

Old Oct 22, 18, 7:42 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Programs: qantas platinum (OWE), hyatt platinum, hertz gold
Posts: 201
qatar flights disappearing from DONE 4

Just checked my AA booked DONE 4 and all the Qatar flights have disappeared. Checked on AA website and Qatar website. On a very long wait to the AA RTW desk at the moment. Has this happened to anyone else?
dragonman is offline  
Old Oct 22, 18, 12:15 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SFOSJCOAK
Programs: AA-EXP & 1MM, AS MVPG 75K, MR-LT Titanium, HH Gold
Posts: 5,775
Originally Posted by dragonman View Post
Just checked my AA booked DONE 4 and all the Qatar flights have disappeared. Checked on AA website and Qatar website. On a very long wait to the AA RTW desk at the moment. Has this happened to anyone else?
I don't think you should be too concern. It could be a system glitch (or update on the source). Check back later you'd probably find everything ok. Hold on to your Record Locator (or confirmation booking code).
Last resort, still call the AA RTW desk.
allset2travel is offline  
Old Oct 22, 18, 2:26 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Programs: qantas platinum (OWE), hyatt platinum, hertz gold
Posts: 201
Originally Posted by allset2travel View Post
I don't think you should be too concern. It could be a system glitch (or update on the source). Check back later you'd probably find everything ok. Hold on to your Record Locator (or confirmation booking code).
Last resort, still call the AA RTW desk.
Well it turns out this was no system glitch. Qatar airlines simply canceled all my Qatar flights. They decided the done4 was not ticketed. It was, in July.

The flights were restored by the AA person. I could have turned up at LHR in January and It would have been a nightmare.
dragonman is offline  
Old Oct 22, 18, 3:48 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere
Programs: BA EC Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 3,000
Originally Posted by dragonman View Post
Well it turns out this was no system glitch. Qatar airlines simply canceled all my Qatar flights. They decided the done4 was not ticketed. It was, in July.

The flights were restored by the AA person. I could have turned up at LHR in January and It would have been a nightmare.
Interesting. After your OP, I checked our AA-ticketed DONE4 which has two remaining segments, in December, both on QR. Both appeared in the system, as per normal, nothing to see here folks ...

So, who knows what went wrong with your booking? but, thank luck, it's all fixed now.
henry999 is offline  
Old Oct 27, 18, 5:24 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Programs: qantas platinum (OWE), hyatt platinum, hertz gold
Posts: 201
Amazingly this is happened again. Only this time three of the four Qatar legs have disappeared instead of all four. I’m beginning to believe someone at Qatar Airlines does not like me.
dragonman is offline  
Old Oct 28, 18, 9:40 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Programs: A3 *G, AA exePlat, AS MVP 75k Gold, JL sapphire, UA silver
Posts: 3,430
Could it be due to married sector logic?
pbd456 is online now  
Old Oct 28, 18, 10:25 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ORD
Programs: AA ExPlat (2MM), SPG LT Plat, United 1k
Posts: 266
Originally Posted by dragonman View Post
Amazingly this is happened again. Only this time three of the four Qatar legs have disappeared instead of all four. Iím beginning to believe someone at Qatar Airlines does not like me.
This happened to me several times with QR flights in a AA ticketed DONEX, including one time 1-day before the QR flight where there were now no business class seats available. Thankfully, the AA team were able to work with QR and get my wife and I on our originally booked flights. I'm not sure how or why but I'd caution anyone/everyone to double check QR flights, especially with AA plated tickets. I don't have enough exerience to know whether the issue exists outside of the AA ticketed / QR flight combo, but it happened 3 of the last 3 DONEs.
cphurley is offline  
Old Oct 28, 18, 3:33 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Programs: qantas platinum (OWE), hyatt platinum, hertz gold
Posts: 201
Precisely what I feared. I guess there is some solace in knowing it’s not just me it’s happened to.
dragonman is offline  
Old Oct 28, 18, 4:24 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltonGold
Posts: 21,290
Originally Posted by pbd456 View Post
Could it be due to married sector logic?
Unlikely; "Married Segment" logic influences availability on booking, not once ticketed.
Calchas likes this.
serfty is offline  
Old Oct 28, 18, 10:14 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SFOSJCOAK
Programs: AA-EXP & 1MM, AS MVPG 75K, MR-LT Titanium, HH Gold
Posts: 5,775
Just a data point:
My currently in progress DONE3 was ticketed by CX. Among the remaining segments, of which 3 are QR flights. My record is still intact. All QR segments are showing in AA, CX, JL, QR, MH web sites.
allset2travel is offline  
Old Oct 29, 18, 8:36 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: BOS/UTH
Programs: AA EXP, LT PLT; QR PLT; Bonvoy LT TIT
Posts: 12,356
Just checked the remaining flights on my current itinerary as well as the two I haven't started yet. Nothing missing.
Dr. HFH is offline  
Old Oct 30, 18, 9:14 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: AA (EXP), Hilton (Diamond), SPG (lowly Gold)
Posts: 7,212
I don't think this is specific to QR, or that QR has anything against certain flyers. My guess is that it's a glitch stemming from an itinerary booked and ticketed in one GDS (such as Sabre, used by AA) not correctly propagating ticket numbers to a separate GDS (such as Amadeus, used by QR, QF, CX, BA, etc.) used by the airline operating the flights. I've had this happen on AA-issued xONEx with QF flights. In my experience, the most likely trigger is when a change is made, causing the tickets to be reissued, and the new ticket numbers don't get correctly transmitted to the operating airline's system.

If you want to be extra-safe, after an itinerary is ticketed or a change is made and the tickets are reissued, call any airlines with flights on the booking and ask them to verify that they see the itinerary as ticketed. If they do, you are fine. If they don't, call the issuing airline and have them resend the ticket numbers.
Calchas and moa999 like this.
anabolism is offline  
Old Oct 30, 18, 2:32 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Programs: qantas platinum (OWE), hyatt platinum, hertz gold
Posts: 201
That is great advice. Thanks.
dragonman is offline  
Old Oct 31, 18, 9:48 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SAN
Programs: Lots of faux metal
Posts: 5,277
Originally Posted by anabolism View Post
I don't think this is specific to QR, or that QR has anything against certain flyers. My guess is that it's a glitch stemming from an itinerary booked and ticketed in one GDS (such as Sabre, used by AA) not correctly propagating ticket numbers to a separate GDS (such as Amadeus, used by QR, QF, CX, BA, etc.) used by the airline operating the flights. I've had this happen on AA-issued xONEx with QF flights. In my experience, the most likely trigger is when a change is made, causing the tickets to be reissued, and the new ticket numbers don't get correctly transmitted to the operating airline's system.

If you want to be extra-safe, after an itinerary is ticketed or a change is made and the tickets are reissued, call any airlines with flights on the booking and ask them to verify that they see the itinerary as ticketed. If they do, you are fine. If they don't, call the issuing airline and have them resend the ticket numbers.
Yup, I had this happen on an AA award that included QR segments. I made a change in routing about a month out. Everything looked good until I showed up in MIA and they wouldn't let me board. The GA spent the next 20 minutes on the phone with AA getting them to re-issue and re-ticket the remaining segments of the trip. Ended up being the last person on the plane.
skunker is offline  
Old Nov 3, 18, 1:36 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,745
oneworld circle PNRs are supposed to have an OSI message in them suppressing the autocancellation

But it probably doesn’t work.

In any event check in would not be possible if the PNR no longer had a reference to a ticket coupon that was open for use
Calchas is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread