Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > oneworld
Reload this Page >

Can AA RTW desk book QR as BA codeshare?

Can AA RTW desk book QR as BA codeshare?

Old Oct 3, 17, 3:32 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: DCA, EGE, IAD
Programs: MR LTT, BA Gold, AA LTP, UA Silver
Posts: 5,925
Can AA RTW desk book QR as BA codeshare?

I follow the RTW discussion here very closely and have not seen this question asked, nor did my search yield the answer. If I missed it, my apologies.

Does anyone know if the AA RTW desk can book a QR flight (LHR-DOH) as a BA codeshare? Or can the ticketing airline only book other airlines' flights as their own codeshares?

Thanks - Bob
aaupgrade is offline  
Old Oct 3, 17, 5:05 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Programs: QFF
Posts: 5,297
Any oneworld member can book any oneworld flight (ie, both operated and marketed by a oneworld member), including codeshares, provided the code booked is available in the needed booking class (L, D or A in most cases).

My next DONE3, issued by QF, has QF codes on every sector where such a code was bookable in D and AA codes on both the transpac (operated by JL), transatl (operated by QR) and an intra asia (operated by CX).
Himeno is offline  
Old Oct 3, 17, 11:22 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Programs: A3 *G, AA exePlat, AS MVP 75k Gold, JL sapphire, UA silver
Posts: 3,428
Qr wont book qr metal with other codeshare. Persona
eerience.
pbd456 is offline  
Old Oct 3, 17, 2:20 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: JAX
Programs: Former BA/AA/CP/LY employee, BA Executive Club Blue, IHG Platinum, Samsung Platinum
Posts: 2,847
True, BA will also only book you on the BA code on its own flights, and prefers to use the BA code where it exists on other airline operated flights. Book a flight where there's no BA code though and BA won't mind which code is used.

AA booking a QR flight shouldn't mind booking the BA code if that's your preference. I'm not seeing AA codes on the QR operated flights LHR-DOH, only on the BA operated.
JAXBA is offline  
Old Oct 3, 17, 4:51 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SAN
Programs: Lots of faux metal
Posts: 5,274
Originally Posted by JAXBA View Post
True, BA will also only book you on the BA code on its own flights, and prefers to use the BA code where it exists on other airline operated flights. Book a flight where there's no BA code though and BA won't mind which code is used.

AA booking a QR flight shouldn't mind booking the BA code if that's your preference. I'm not seeing AA codes on the QR operated flights LHR-DOH, only on the BA operated.
There used to be. I assume those were casualities to the ME3 dispute in which AA dropped some codes from QR and EY flights.
skunker is offline  
Old Oct 3, 17, 7:26 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: country Western Australia
Programs: QF WP - AA GLD 1MM - CX Grn
Posts: 2,652
I had an AA code on PHL-DOH with a QR xONEx..... Alas the QF/AA joint venture tussle kept me from getting the QF code on AA SYD-LAX-ORD....

Happy wandering
Fred
wandering_fred is offline  
Old Oct 3, 17, 8:30 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Japan
Programs: NH Diamond, JL JGC Diamond, BA Gold Guest List, CX Diamond
Posts: 1,506
My XONEX contains

MIA-xLHR-DXB-LHR//CDG-DOH

I booked xLHR-DXB as AA coded (BA operated).
However, I couldn't book DXB-LHR as AA coded (BA operated).
(not AA RTW desk)
Wasabi Tofu is offline  
Old Oct 3, 17, 11:59 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Programs: QFF
Posts: 5,297
Originally Posted by pbd456 View Post
Qr wont book qr metal with other codeshare. Persona
eerience.
Originally Posted by JAXBA View Post
True, BA will also only book you on the BA code on its own flights, and prefers to use the BA code where it exists on other airline operated flights. Book a flight where there's no BA code though and BA won't mind which code is used.

AA booking a QR flight shouldn't mind booking the BA code if that's your preference. I'm not seeing AA codes on the QR operated flights LHR-DOH, only on the BA operated.
They can book any oneworld codeshare. This would be a case of the airline not wanting to, just as AA prefers at least 1 over ocean flight to be on an AA code if the AA RTW desk deals with the ticket.

The AA codeshares on QR still exist, they don't go away (due to the US3/ME3 'dispute') until March. I have the AA code on PHL-DOH in early November.

My next trip is full of codeshares...
DAS13: CBR-SYD-HND-ITM-HND-SIN-MEL-CBR. HND-ITM-HND JL (ITM-HND was booked as BA, system allowed it, but was changed to JL during ticket issue) The rest QF code (HND-SIN JL op).
DONE3: NRT-BOS-JFK-LAX-SEA-ORD-DTW-PHL-DOH-BUD-LHR-DXB-LHR-PEK-HKG-SIN-HND
Only 7 sectors are on the prime code (SEA-ORD, DTW-PHL, DOH-BUD, LHR-DXB-LHR, LHR-PEK-HKG) everything else is codeshare.
Himeno is offline  
Old Oct 4, 17, 8:57 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: JAX
Programs: Former BA/AA/CP/LY employee, BA Executive Club Blue, IHG Platinum, Samsung Platinum
Posts: 2,847
Originally Posted by Wasabi Tofu View Post
My XONEX contains

MIA-xLHR-DXB-LHR//CDG-DOH

I booked xLHR-DXB as AA coded (BA operated).
However, I couldn't book DXB-LHR as AA coded (BA operated).
(not AA RTW desk)
That would be because DXB-LHR isn't in conjunction with an onward AA flight out of LHR and AA don't have the rights for DXB-LHR by itself.

Code:
--- RLR ---
RP/JAXBA080F/
  1  AA6416 Y 04NOV 6 DXBLHR DK1  0225 0625  04NOV  E  0 744 M
     OPERATED BY BA  106
     OPERATED BY BRITISH AIRWAYS
     SEE RTSVC - TRAFFIC RESTRICTION EXISTS

>RTSVC
RP/DCAOM3100
 * AMADEUS FLIGHT INFO *
   AA6416  Y  DXBLHR    744 M         0
COMMERCIAL DUPLICATE - OPERATED BY
BRITISH AIRWAYS
AIRCRAFT OWNER BRITISH AIRWAYS
MEMBER OF ONEWORLD
D/ QUALIF INTL ONLINE CONNEX/STOPOVR TRAFFIC ONLY
OPERATIONAL LEG BA 0106
No, the stopover in DXB doesn't qualify.
JAXBA is offline  
Old Oct 6, 17, 9:51 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,745
Originally Posted by JAXBA View Post
True, BA will also only book you on the BA code on its own flights, and prefers to use the BA code where it exists on other airline operated flights.
I thought that was a rumour? Is it an actual policy?

I am regularly using the BA Gold line to book non-BA-numbered BA-metal flights. Usually AA or IB prefixes. Not had any problems yet ....
Calchas is offline  
Old Oct 6, 17, 11:04 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: JAX
Programs: Former BA/AA/CP/LY employee, BA Executive Club Blue, IHG Platinum, Samsung Platinum
Posts: 2,847
Originally Posted by Calchas View Post
I thought that was a rumour? Is it an actual policy?
Ah, 'twas what I understood from some posters who work(ed) in MAN/NCL. Even if it is policy, I'm not surprised that someone will do it anyway…
Calchas likes this.
JAXBA is offline  
Old Oct 6, 17, 6:03 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Programs: QFF
Posts: 5,297
Originally Posted by Calchas View Post
I thought that was a rumour? Is it an actual policy?

I am regularly using the BA Gold line to book non-BA-numbered BA-metal flights. Usually AA or IB prefixes. Not had any problems yet ....
Some years ago, I had FCO-LHR-SIN as part of an LONE4. When I asked to change the FCO-LHR flight, BA changed the QF32 over to the BA code.
Himeno is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread