Wiki Posts
Search

1 or 2 day trip from Auckland

Search this Thread

Old Sep 19, 2006, 3:04 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AC MM
1 or 2 day trip from Auckland

I will be doing a business trip this Nov/Dec/Jan to New Zealand, it's my first time to the South Pacific.
On my return I will probably have 3 - 4 days in Auckland and I am wondering if it's worth it flying to a more"countryside" place for a couple of days, one night, as I really love nature and peaceful places and didn't really want to stay in the city the whole time, rather take time to relax.
I am thinking to either fly or is there something reachable by car, even if it is 3 -4 hours drive.
Any recommendation? Really appreciate any experience or advice.
Old Sep 19, 2006, 3:37 pm

Portions of the post that previously appeared in this space have been deleted. I would provide you with a reason why, but doing so would likely be against the TOS.

Last edited by uncertaintraveler; Dec 22, 2008 at 10:33 am
Old Sep 19, 2006, 3:38 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA 1P 1MM, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Diamond Ambassador
You might want to consider Rotorua or the Tongariro/Taupo regions which are 3.5 and 4 hours respectively by car. The following LINK might give you an idea if interested. I've been to both and enjoyed greatly.
Old Sep 19, 2006, 3:42 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by uncertaintraveler
Bay of Islands might be perfect for you. Its a short bus ride away, relatively pretty (for the North Island, anyway), and--if you can avoid the tourists---relatively peaceful.

Its hard to tell from your post and title, but how long do you have to spare? If its 1 day, I'd do the Bay of Islands. If you have longer (say, 2 or 3 days), maybe you could look into Rotorua or Taupo (both on the North Island), or even Napier (far east coast of North Island). Pretty good bus service to all of these places.