Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > New York City
Reload this Page >

JFK Inter-Terminal Connections (consolidated)

JFK Inter-Terminal Connections (consolidated)

    Hide Wikipost
Old Aug 22, 16, 1:28 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Kufat
Wiki Link
Signed in members with 90 days / 90 posts can edit this Wikipost; wiki contents may be printed by using the (lower right wiki corner)

JFK / New York John F. Kennedy International Airport Interterminal Connections
(Consolidated thread)



JFK Airport Terminals Map


There is no reasonable way to travel between JFK terminals other than the AirTrain, which is landside (outside of security). The only airside inter-terminal service is the Delta shuttle bus between T2 (gate C60) and T4 (gates B18 and B54.)

The on-airport AirTrain is free, shows as a yellow line on maps and travels in a anti/counter-clockwise direction.

The clockwise Howard Beach and Jamaica Station trains arrive from outside the airport at Terminal 1 and depart the airport after stopping at Terminal 8. Whilst these trains are free while on-airport, they are not free if one goes past the airport.

See here for a map of the system and further information.

Link to PDF map and information about JFK AirTrain.

Link to online (moderately helpful) airport guide

There are two places to store your luggage at JFK Airport New York.
Terminal 4 at JFK (near the Arrivals area - call 718.751.2947 for information) offers a 24-hour luggage storage service in NY. Depending on the size of your bag, NYC luggage storage rates range between $4- $16 per day.
Terminal 1 at JFK also features a baggage storage service in NYC. (Call 718.751.2947 for information.) This service is also located near the Arrivals area, and is open from 7am- 11pm. NYC luggage storage rates at Terminal 1 also range between $4- $16 per day.
Print Wikipost

Old Dec 21, 11, 9:15 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,857
Originally Posted by BearX220 View Post
You know, that is perfectly true... to get people from T3 over to the DL departures from T4 of the sort littlesheep is catching.

Further, I shamefacedly report that I nearly missed my DL flight last week, hiking back to the far reaches of T3 in search of "B28" when my flight left from plain old 28, over in T2. Backtracked and made it just in time. That rat's nest drives me crazy.
I think gate 29 in T2 is also an inter-terminal shuttle gate. Anyway I usually enter in T2 and take it from there but the gate numbering can be confusing considering gate 1 is in T3 and gate 29 is in T2 and then you have all the B gates in T4.
Nugget_Oz is offline  
Old Feb 27, 12, 2:47 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Ams <--> jfk <--> rdu

I engineered myself a long layover in AMS on my way back from Russia this year, and now find myself trying to figure out what to do in order to get from NYC back to RDU.

My flight from AMS is scheduled to arrive at 7:55pm (DL/KLM) to Terminal 4, and the last DL flight from JFK back to RDU is at 9:00pm. On one hand, I can just recheck my bag after customs, but with only an hour... I don't think its a "legal" connection.

I do see a JetBlue flight at 10:05pm, which would mean a hop from T4 to T5, as the last flight out of the day (other than a $500 AA one). Am I crazy to try this? Looking at flight history the AMS / JFK flight seems to be early coming in.

Is 2 hours enough for customs, moving terminals and security? Or should I just spend another day in NYC and extend my trip?

Thoughts?
auromed is offline  
Old Feb 27, 12, 6:29 pm
  #18  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,210
It is quite unlikely that it will take the full 2 hours, less so if you are a US citizen. But there is a risk there. Also keep in mind that you don't really have 2 hours as you have to get your bags over to T5 and checked in with JetBlue 30 minutes prior to departure, I believe.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Apr 19, 12, 3:44 pm
  #19  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 13,129
How do I transfer from Terminal 4 to Terminal 5? Also, if bags are being checked through (LY/B6 interline,) arriving from TLV, flying to LAX, do I need to claim the bags, and if so, where do I re-drop them?
joshwex90 is offline  
Old Apr 19, 12, 4:25 pm
  #20  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 24,613
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by joshwex90
How do I transfer from Terminal 4 to Terminal 5? Also, if bags are being checked through (LY/B6 interline,) arriving from TLV, flying to LAX, do I need to claim the bags, and if so, where do I re-drop them?
You would take a "Jamaica" or "Howard Beach" AirTrain one stop to Terminal 5.

You will have to claim your checked bags and submit to customs inspection upon arrival from TLV. I believe there is a re-check desk for JetBlue just past Customs in Terminal 4, as some of JetBlue's own international flights arrive at Terminal 4.
guv1976 is offline  
Old Apr 21, 12, 2:38 pm
  #21  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 13,129
Originally Posted by guv1976 View Post
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)



You would take a "Jamaica" or "Howard Beach" AirTrain one stop to Terminal 5.

You will have to claim your checked bags and submit to customs inspection upon arrival from TLV. I believe there is a re-check desk for JetBlue just past Customs in Terminal 4, as some of JetBlue's own international flights arrive at Terminal 4.
I mean, the regular international arrival in the US I'm familiar with.

So I'd drop the bags off just after clearing customs, and then follow signs to AirTrain? Is there one AirTrain stop there, with both trains? (Sorry, but I'm very NOT familiar with JFK, as I avoid it usually, being from NJ)
joshwex90 is offline  
Old Apr 21, 12, 3:48 pm
  #22  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 24,613
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

There is only one AirTrain stop per terminal.

There are three AirTrain routes: Jamaica, Howard Beach, and All Terminals. Do not take the "All Terminals" AirTrain, as it runs in a clockwise direction and will take longer to get from T4 to T5. The Jamaica or Howard Beach routes will take you from T4 to T5 in two minutes.
guv1976 is offline  
Old Apr 21, 12, 6:11 pm
  #23  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 13,129
Originally Posted by guv1976 View Post
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

There is only one AirTrain stop per terminal.

There are three AirTrain routes: Jamaica, Howard Beach, and All Terminals. Do not take the "All Terminals" AirTrain, as it runs in a clockwise direction and will take longer to get from T4 to T5. The Jamaica or Howard Beach routes will take you from T4 to T5 in two minutes.
I assume, like in EWR, it's free. Correct?
joshwex90 is offline  
Old Apr 21, 12, 7:14 pm
  #24  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,594
Originally Posted by joshwex90 View Post
I assume, like in EWR, it's free. Correct?
For your purposes it is free. If you were using Jamaica or Howard Beach stations to the Subway or LIRR, it would cost you $5.
14940674 is offline  
Old Apr 22, 12, 9:59 am
  #25  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 13,129
Originally Posted by 14940674 View Post
For your purposes it is free. If you were using Jamaica or Howard Beach stations to the Subway or LIRR, it would cost you $5.
So then just like EWR (At least in practicality)
joshwex90 is offline  
Old Apr 22, 12, 11:49 am
  #26  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 24,613
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by joshwex90
Originally Posted by 14940674 View Post
For your purposes it is free. If you were using Jamaica or Howard Beach stations to the Subway or LIRR, it would cost you $5.
So then just like EWR (At least in practicality)
Correct. There is never a charge to ride the AirTrain, at either JFK or EWR. There is only a charge to pass through the fare gates -- in either direction -- at Howard Beach, Jamaica, or the EWR rail station.
guv1976 is offline  
Old May 3, 12, 10:19 am
  #27  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 292
Originally Posted by Analise View Post
Keep in mind that the Airtrain is outside security so time may be an issue depending upon if your flight arrives on time. Take the Airtrain that DOES NOT say Howard Beach or Jamaica. You want the one that just loops around the airport.

Here's a map: http://www.panynj.gov/airports/pdf/jfk-airtrain-map.pdf

Here's a terminal map too: http://www.airportterminalmaps.com/J...minal-map.html

Welcome to Flyertalk, ComputerX.
I, for the life of me, cannot understand designing and constructing an Airtrain system that forces in transit people, domestic to international, to exit one terminal to ride it and then to re-enter another terminal. I would imagine that entails going out of one terminal through security and re-entering another terminal again through security. What whiz kid thought this one up? Must have been the same people who engineered and who "run" CDG.

From Terminal 3 to terminal 4 is there the possibility of walking it? Is the walk inside or outside? Do you have to go through security to be able to walk from one terminal to another?

Totally flabbergasted.
floridastorm is offline  
Old May 3, 12, 12:16 pm
  #28  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 13,129
Same problem at EWR, at least regarding Terminal B. (You have the bus to connect airside between A and C. Though no connection between different piers at A.)

New EWR should have an airside connection between all 3 terminals, and new A should all be accessible past security
joshwex90 is offline  
Old May 3, 12, 1:31 pm
  #29  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Programs: AAdvantage PP
Posts: 13,913
Originally Posted by floridastorm View Post
I, for the life of me, cannot understand designing and constructing an Airtrain system that forces in transit people, domestic to international, to exit one terminal to ride it and then to re-enter another terminal. I would imagine that entails going out of one terminal through security and re-entering another terminal again through security. What whiz kid thought this one up? Must have been the same people who engineered and who "run" CDG.

From Terminal 3 to terminal 4 is there the possibility of walking it? Is the walk inside or outside? Do you have to go through security to be able to walk from one terminal to another?

Totally flabbergasted.
I get the feeling that costs were the factor. Likely putting a track on top of particularly older terminals would be more expensive than an outside track. Also, the number of people connecting between different airlines and therefore possibly terminals on domestic/domestic or domestic/International is likely fairly small. One of the issues with B6 and AA expanding their code share arrangement in the transfer between T5 and T8. But I agree for those that do its a hassle.
MiamiAirport Formerly NY George is offline  
Old May 3, 12, 4:43 pm
  #30  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 292
Cool

Originally Posted by newyorkgeorge View Post
I get the feeling that costs were the factor. Likely putting a track on top of particularly older terminals would be more expensive than an outside track. Also, the number of people connecting between different airlines and therefore possibly terminals on domestic/domestic or domestic/International is likely fairly small. One of the issues with B6 and AA expanding their code share arrangement in the transfer between T5 and T8. But I agree for those that do its a hassle.
Can one walk, without too much effort, from Terminal 3 to Terminal 4 and thus avoid the security overkill and the waste of time? If so, is the walk inside or outside? Are there any Travelators to move you along? All of us, although older, are in good shape.
floridastorm is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread