Community
Wiki Posts
Search

You can NOT beat Priceline.com

Search this Thread

Old Feb 21, 2003, 5:43 am
Original Poster

You can NOT beat Priceline.com

I am brand new to FT and I have spent a few hours reading through posts and I am shocked that more people are NOT bidding on Priceline. Even without the points etc ... the price is just too good.

These are my Hilton winning bids.

Hilton Metrotown (Burnaby, BC) ... $30
Hilton Cherry Hill, NJ ... $33
HGI Fairfax, VA ... $26
Hilton EWR ... $49
Old Feb 21, 2003, 6:24 am

Location: SAN and before that...EWR....AA EXP (3MM)..HH LIFETIME DIAMOND..AVIS PREFERRED PLUS
Well....most of us are traveling on business...Priceline requires pre-payment ...I don't know about others but my trips change quite often...leave early..stay longer....this means you lose your money if you check-out early...and what if you need to stay longer? Your corporate rate may not be available ...have to pay RACK rate or possibly even switch hotels.
Bottom line....Priceline is tough for a lot of us to use due to changes in plans....it's OK for leisure though where one would not change.
Old Feb 21, 2003, 6:34 am
Original Poster

You are completely right. I had to swallow my loss last weekend with the blizzard. I was supposed to visit Delaware.
Old Feb 21, 2003, 7:38 am

Yeah, priceline is not for me either. Personally, I'd rather pay double and earn status than get locked in to a rate that is not refundable and does not get me any status.

If I need a super hotel deal, I buy on Ebay all day long. I still amazes me that people even use Priceline. If one know how to look the right way, Ebay offers twice the value and over than Priceline.

Let's face it, most Priceline buyers aren't getting suites, just bottom of the barrel std rooms.

I just picked up a 50% off Starwood cooupon for $6. that saved me over $700 on a 3 day presidential suite at the Sheraton Yankee Trader.