one-click internet access

 
Old May 10, 18, 10:25 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BWI, PHL, IAD
Programs: Marriott LT Titanium, Mileage Plus Plat, Global Entry
Posts: 1,470
one-click internet access

Was not able to find a thread discussing this.

Some time recently I apparently had this box checked when I logged my phone into a Marriott network. Unfortunately, this was at a room rented under my wife's account. So, now my phone is 'registered' for this, but associated with my wife's account. Not sure how this is going to affect things when I am registered under my account. Anyone know how to unregister a device from one-click?

Also, please feel free to share your experiences with one-click.

Last edited by Michilander; May 10, 18 at 10:26 am Reason: after thought
Michilander is offline  
Old May 10, 18, 10:29 am
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MCI
Programs: AA Gold 1MM, AS MVP, UA Silver, WN A-List, Marriott LT Titanium, HH Diamond
Posts: 49,337
Hopefully at your next stay in your own name, there will be some sort of "I'm not Mrs. Michilander" button you can click. Then you'd re-do whatever you did the first time you enabled one-click Internet access.

I have not been to a hotel with this yet. Seems like I always have to put my name and room number in. If this is what it sounds like - Marriott and my devices remembering each other if I allow that to happen - then I think I will like it.
Dublin_rfk likes this.
pinniped is offline  
Old May 10, 18, 11:39 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,018
Wouldn't this sort of function use cookies? Try clearing your cookies for whatever internet browser you typically use.
writerguyfl is offline  
Old May 10, 18, 5:53 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Programs: MR LT Titanium, IHG Plat., SWA A-List,UA Premier Silver, & PA/OH Turnpike Million Miler
Posts: 1,719
Originally Posted by writerguyfl View Post
Wouldn't this sort of function use cookies? Try clearing your cookies for whatever internet browser you typically use.
Perhaps or it might be installing a certificate on your device.

--Jon
Jon Maiman is offline  
Old May 10, 18, 7:13 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SNA
Programs: Bonvoy LTTE/AMB, AmEx Plat, National EE, WN CP, CLEAR, AS MVPG75K, Covid-19
Posts: 4,300
Originally Posted by Michilander View Post
Unfortunately, this was at a room rented under my wife's account.
If your wife is <whatever MR level is required for Premium HSIA, I forget if that's Gold or Plat>, then don't sweat it.

FWIW, one-click is great. I've got a small travel router I take with me that I have all my devices connect to instead, so the MAC address of that router is registered and my access to the other devices is automatic now.
Dublin_rfk and obunewbie17 like this.
kennycrudup is offline  
Old May 10, 18, 8:17 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BWI, PHL, IAD
Programs: Marriott LT Titanium, Mileage Plus Plat, Global Entry
Posts: 1,470
Originally Posted by writerguyfl View Post
Wouldn't this sort of function use cookies? Try clearing your cookies for whatever internet browser you typically use.
Yeah, I thought about this, but I was looking for a way to unregister because wiping out cookies can affect a bunch of other websites. Will probably try that as a last ditch effort if I do run into a problem in the future.
Michilander is offline  
Old May 10, 18, 8:21 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BWI, PHL, IAD
Programs: Marriott LT Titanium, Mileage Plus Plat, Global Entry
Posts: 1,470
Originally Posted by kennycrudup View Post
If your wife is <whatever MR level is required for Premium HSIA, I forget if that's Gold or Plat>, then don't sweat it.

FWIW, one-click is great. I've got a small travel router I take with me that I have all my devices connect to instead, so the MAC address of that router is registered and my access to the other devices is automatic now.
Yes, I am LTP and my wife is currently P, LTG (trying to get her to LTP by end of the year). Anyway, what I am worried about is booking a room under my account and having one-click tell me "Hey, Michlander-wife, you do not have a room booked at this hotel" when I try connecting to the network.
Michilander is offline  
Old May 10, 18, 8:23 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SNA
Programs: Bonvoy LTTE/AMB, AmEx Plat, National EE, WN CP, CLEAR, AS MVPG75K, Covid-19
Posts: 4,300
I hate to say it, but perhaps you need to be the guinea pig for this ... "Each one, teach one!" (... or "Pioneers get the arrows", maybe? )
kennycrudup is offline  
Old May 11, 18, 3:35 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: DAY
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; Marriott LT Plat Premier (+AMB); Amex MR; Chase UR; Hertz PC; Global Entry
Posts: 7,854
Originally Posted by kennycrudup View Post
I hate to say it, but perhaps you need to be the guinea pig for this ... "Each one, teach one!" (... or "Pioneers get the arrows", maybe? )
I have seen this one-click at a couple of the properties I stay out regularly. Was waiting for someone to report on it before trying it myself...

goodeats21 is offline  
Old May 11, 18, 5:58 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Programs: MR LT Titanium, IHG Plat., SWA A-List,UA Premier Silver, & PA/OH Turnpike Million Miler
Posts: 1,719
I have seen it at a few properties in the Philadelphia Metro area. Very convenient. I hope they roll out to all properties.

--Jon
Jon Maiman is offline  
Old May 11, 18, 7:18 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: DFW/PHL
Programs: US CP, UA *G; SPG Plat, Hilton Gold; Natl Exec, Hertz PC
Posts: 612
It worked initially for me, but slowly stopped working on all of my devices. Every time I get an error like "You're signed up for one click access but this device is not associated with a Marriott account" and it tells me to log in. I've tried logging in afterwards, but that just returns a permission denied error page. I've also unchecked the one click access box, but still end up with the same problem. Whacking some cookies is probably the way to go, but the cookie isn't assigned to "marriott.com" and I never remember the domain of the sign on page.

It also does not work across properties, so needs to be set up for each property.

Nice idea, but seems to have some issues for now.
flightrisk is offline  
Old May 11, 18, 8:59 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Philadephia, PA
Programs: AA Platinum, Marriott Titanium/Lifetime Titanium, Hyatt Globalist, UA Silver, Hilton Gold, Hertz 5*
Posts: 476
Originally Posted by writerguyfl View Post
Wouldn't this sort of function use cookies? Try clearing your cookies for whatever internet browser you typically use.
It's probably using the MAC address of the wifi interface of the device which is significantly harder to change than simply clearing cookies.
fordan is offline  
Old May 11, 18, 9:11 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Programs: UA Silver, Marriott LTP, Hertz President's Club
Posts: 957
Originally Posted by fordan View Post
It's probably using the MAC address of the wifi interface of the device which is significantly harder to change than simply clearing cookies.
MAC would be the most consistent thing and easiest to measure, so I'm sure the fingerprinting is based on MAC address. It's not hard to change your MAC address on Windows with Intel adapters. Maybe not as easy as clearing cookies, but not crazy hard either.

Marriott should provide an option to deregister devices. Some people sell their devices or have them lost/stolen, and I'm not crazy that if these things happened to me, that someone could perform Internet activity at a Marriott on a device/connection that would be tied to my name.

(Marriott should also push their hotels to start switching to Hotspot 2.0/Passpoint so the logins are automatic as part of the connection process & all connections to access point are individually WPA2 Enterprise encrypted instead of being in the clear, but progress takes time...)
phltraveler is offline  
Old May 11, 18, 9:21 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Programs: American Airlines, Marriott, Hertz, Avis
Posts: 105
Originally Posted by kennycrudup View Post
If your wife is <whatever MR level is required for Premium HSIA, I forget if that's Gold or Plat>, then don't sweat it.

FWIW, one-click is great. I've got a small travel router I take with me that I have all my devices connect to instead, so the MAC address of that router is registered and my access to the other devices is automatic now.
ooh I'm intrigued - what router, how big is it, how much of a pain to set up - do you just hardwire it? I love the idea, it's fantastic! I've tethered through my phone when I've been horribly lazy but it doesn't work particularly well.
FlyerStef is offline  
Old May 11, 18, 9:40 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Programs: UA Silver, Marriott LTP, Hertz President's Club
Posts: 957
Originally Posted by FlyerStef View Post
ooh I'm intrigued - what router, how big is it, how much of a pain to set up - do you just hardwire it? I love the idea, it's fantastic! I've tethered through my phone when I've been horribly lazy but it doesn't work particularly well.
I use a
Hootoo Nano Hootoo Nano
myself, configure once at home and then you just plug in the power (microUSB, you bring the USB power adapter yourself) and the ethernet cord to the router and then connect on device. It's tiny (2.02*2.21*0.70 inches).

When properties have wired internet it's really nice as it's more secure (encrypted between device and router, no eavesdropping by other wireless radios - of course, without VPN hotel/internet provider can still see what you're doing) and the performance is usually way better than the wifi routers in the hall.

Unfortunately, while the hotels I stayed at more often in 2014/2015 had wired ethernet in the rooms, 2016/2017 was an off year. With everyone having wifi enabled devices a lot of newer properties (built 2010 onwards) don't put internet in the rooms, and older properties (early 2000s or older) tended to just add them in the halls, not rooms. The sweet spot is hotels constructed in mid-to-late 2000s, but even then I've stayed at many hotels where there's a wired ethernet plug in the room but it's no longer active (looking at you, Delta Toronto East).

It's still light/small enough where I pack it in my bag every time, just in case the hotel still has wired internet and it's still active.
phltraveler is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: